We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best you can get for a budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grage Ramayana Hotel
Ranked #82 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best you can get for a budget hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

To expect a lot from a budget hotel is nearly impossible, but you can for this one! I stayed there with friends and very delighted with the service since they upgraded our bookings from superior bedroom with extra bed to a family room. No extra bed for me and a spacious room, lovely!
The room is clean and more importantly the bathroom is also clean with basic amenities and clean towels. They served various menu on the breakfast buffet,can't say much about the taste though. Their location is really great, at night we can just stroll to the train station and drink the famous 'kopi joss'. Overall we're happy during our stay here

Room Tip: choose the third floor, since it could be noisy at night. Cheers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
13
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jitra, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked 2 rooms via Agoda, 1 room with queen size bed and 1 room twin sharing bed as displayed on website. Upon checked in we were informed that the queen size bed was not available instead we were offered by the receptionist a twin sharing bedroom which will be be put side by side to make it queen size bed. Reason given by recetionist that we did not specify in the reservation. Some more we were put seperate on different level with my kids. Really dissatisfied me. Shower of the room did not function well. But hotel is clean and near to shopping street Malioboro and mosque.

Room Tip: Request for rooms on new wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kama3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First time in Yogja, got to know this hotel from website and counter check with Tripadvisor. The result is very satisfying. Stayed for 4 nights, service was good, friendly environment. They upgraded my room to executive from standard room for free & included breakfast. It was clean & comfy and spacious. The hotel have two lifts, in front near the reception & the other at the back that link to parking. We have to change lift as our room was on the top floor (5th Flr) but facing front road with lots of shops. There are people selling in front of the hotel too. Happening area indeed with a short distance to busy Malioboro street. Travel light & shop there.
Since we reached the hotel quite late, we decided to have dinner at the hotel before survey the area. Thursday to Saturday night they have local band performance to entertain the dinner. Hotel food is ok but not the best. I ordered Gurami grilled but it was not really cook when they served. Breakfast was good too as they served special healthy juice of the day. Choices of breakfast are local, western, chinese, fruits & drinks.
Overall we feel good....!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 507 everything was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NishaKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in april 2013. The room was small, but pretty clean and comfortable enough with a nice bathroom. The location is really good: it takes less than 5 minutes to walk to Jalan Malioboro and you're right opposite of an area with nice small streets and lots of restaurants. Breakfast was good with various meal options. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall we are pretty happy with this hotel.
Some comments though: the breakfast area wasn't very clean. Dirty glasses and cutlery, dirt on the floor .. And the hotel was quite noisy, not from the street ( no noise coming from there) but from the hallway: other guests and esp. the band playing in the evening made a lot of noise throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the staircase as possible, to minimize the noise coming from below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed there for 4 nights on march 2013. The room was pretty clean and comfy with spacious bathroom. It takes less than 5 mnts walk to malioboro st. Breakfast was excellent with various meal options. Overall we are pretty happy with this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiantB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Well, spending 2 nights there, I was less than impressed with the room, no bar fridge, dodgy wifi, and less than accommodating staff. You would think that when you are paying $55 + you would get the basics....you would get the same standard for a room that you basically would pay $20 tops for in Bali, makes you think about value for money.

Would I come back to the Grage again ...NO!

Would I recommend the Grage...NO!

Joe

Room Tip: wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We asked for twin bed, and they gave us king size. And the receptionist was not polite and blame me that I was wrong. She said "it is twin bed room!I think you re wrong..bla bla bla.. We send a bell boy to see the room mam"
When the bell boy came,he saw it was a king bed room. Then we change room..to the twin bedroom.

But the air cond broke. Uugghhhh!!!

We tell the recept twice by phone that the AC broke..but no respons from them. Then we have to go to the recept down stair. Then,there s respons.

Than we change room again. But have to wait,because the room was not set yet!
Ugghhhh

Bad service

Very bad service

Actually this hotel clean, it s in good condition. Everything look great. The location is near malioboro.
But the person that work in here,the service..that's the problem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fatladydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Grage Jogja Hotel
Grage Jogja Hotel
#136 of 204 in Yogyakarta
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
#47 of 204 in Yogyakarta
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima In Hotel Malioboro
Prima In Hotel Malioboro
#87 of 204 in Yogyakarta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Summer Quest Malioboro Hotel
Summer Quest Malioboro Hotel
#161 of 204 in Yogyakarta
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro
Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro
#55 of 204 in Yogyakarta
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#20 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grage Ramayana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grage Ramayana Hotel

Property: Grage Ramayana Hotel
Address: Jl. Sosrowijayan no. 33 | Malioboro, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grage Ramayana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grage Ramayana is the newest hotel in Grage Group that was located in the center of Jogja with the simple cozy atmosphere, in harmony the rooms and the restaurant will make you comfortable home. Personal warm touch from the staff will make the Grage Ramayana as your second home. Located in the heart of Yogyakarta. Malioboro, the center of Yogyakarta culture is in waling distance, 10 minutes to Yogyakarta Sultanate Palace, 5 minutes to Tugu railway station and 20 minutes from Adisucipto International Airport. Grage Ramayana Hotel Yogyakarta featuring 71 modern minimalist rooms, consist of 20 superior rooms, 22 deluxe rooms, 21 executive rooms and 8 family rooms, each completed with individual controlled air conditioning, telephone, high speed internet connection, TV satellite, coffe and tea maker with complementery tea and coffe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grage Ramayana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing