We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tulips Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #129 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Walked past Tulip Hotel a couple of times but felt that the price will be very expensive (because you can see that they have a NICE pool from the outside), so didn't bother with it for the first few days in Yogyakarta. However, when coming back from Dieng Plateau, and looking for a place to stay, someone recommended Tulip Hotel.

I'm glad we decided to check it out!

Prices are comparable to many other guest houses / hotels in the area, but Tulip Hotel has a much better ambience!

The swimming pool is really really well taken care of! Saw one of the staff cleaning it in the morning. I think you can swim in the pool (for a small price) even not staying there!

We paid around 220k for the non aircon room.
Room is clean. Bed sheets are changed as well. Hot shower working properly. Breakfast is decent.

Definitely will recommend Tulip Hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nystul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Tulips for nearly a week, using Yogya as a base for exploring central Java. We were in a deluxe room with a TV, A/C, and King-sized bed and paid 270,000 IDR in August. I visited a number of hotels in the area before checking in to Tulips, and this place was the best-maintained of the bunch.

Pros:
- room and grounds clean and well-maintained
- helpful staff (reliable wake-up calls, taxi reservations)
- lovely pool
- quiet rooms (far from street noise)
- laundry service

FYI:
- Restaurant just average, but there are other good options nearby
- they only accept payment in cash

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsilver3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Our stay at Tulips Hotel would have been nice if the owner of the place would have treated his guests as any owner is supposed to. That is with respect. After three weeks of staying there, the owner of the place - a dutch guy - began repairing the rooftop of the houses, including the one where we were staying in, by changing the tiles piece by piece. And that for several consecutive days at 5 am in the morning!!! And in the afternoon they were renovating the room next door and the noise was quite loud. We were in the room for most of the time in those exact days, because my boyfriend had an ear infection and was in a lot of pain. So we went and tried to talk to the owner to explain him that changing tiles so early in the morning and renovating the rooms while having guests is not what is said in the hotel description. With an ignorant smile on his face he told us, that other guest have been complaining too, but he is not going to stop just for that. Because we paid in advance and he didn't want to give us the money back, we had to put up with these a few extra days.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulipshotel, Owner at Tulips Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

There are always both sides to a story and I was sorry to hear this complaint. It is never nice to be called a moron for all the world to hear. It is true renovations were done to the roof, but never at 5 o'clock in the morning. How could it, it is still dark at that time. The workman started 8 o'clock and we always made sure the quest were already awake and noice was kept to a mininum. I am not aware of any complaints by other quests although I realize not everyone will express themselves as this quest did and obviously if you have the choice you rather not have workman around. Me too.
Because this quest stayed three weeks ( things could'nt have been that bad than) he got a discount and when he opted to check out, we worked out his rebate. On the basis of that this quest decided to stay the full time and not leave..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This Place is very recommendable. Every thing is good. After an long day by the tempel or an sightseeing tour, there you can really good relax. The restaurant is good and the price is fair.
The pool, oh my god, is beautiful. This hotel is well located nearby many restaurants shops and Internet cafes.
They have different rooms. I was in a VIP room and also in a STANDART room and both rooms were very confortebal. Good bathroom, fridge, flatscreen-TV and good beds.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ub76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank annelisse70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lucgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
9
Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#65 of 212 in Yogyakarta
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#75 of 212 in Yogyakarta
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Winotosastro Garden
Hotel Winotosastro Garden
#152 of 212 in Yogyakarta
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Midtown Xpress Demangan
Midtown Xpress Demangan
#40 of 212 in Yogyakarta
132 reviews
3.5 mi away
Paku Mas Hotel
Paku Mas Hotel
#7 of 20 in Depok
60 reviews
2 mi away
Sky Hotel Jogja
Sky Hotel Jogja
#113 of 212 in Yogyakarta
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulips Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulips Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jln. Tirtodipuran 42, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $15 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulips Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tulips Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing