We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ViaVia Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
favehotel Kusumanegara(Yogyakarta)(Great Value!)
$24
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Yogyakarta(Yogyakarta)
$42
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$53
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 1001 Malam(Yogyakarta)
$30
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Duta Guest House(Yogyakarta)(Great Value!)
$27
$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Artha Hotel(Yogyakarta)
$25
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
96
70
20
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
70
20
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbali roomshared bathroompacked breakfastprivate showerhighly recommended place to stayevery morningsmall gardenguest houselocation is greatart galleriesnice decorationfresh juicequiet streetbars and restaurantsclean roomsgreat roomthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 192 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Via Via for four nights and couldn't recommend it enough.

We arrived to a very friendly welcome despite being quite late (luckily they didn't give our room away) and were treated to a lovely welcome drink. The staff were all so lovely and helpful, we didn't have to book any trips or our taxi to the airport as they happily did it for us.

We stayed in Sulawesi. The outside bathroom was really cool although sometime I was conscious that people may be able to hear everything! The fan made the room cool enough. The only negative thing was there wasn't really anywhere to put your stuff. They had a couple of hangers but another stool or something would have been good.

Breakfast was yum, especially the banana pancakes and they even pack a breakfast box if you have an early morning.

Finally the location is great with a lot of nice restaurants in the vicinity.

Just a tip, do the cooking class at via via restaurant. We made so much yummy food that I can't wait to try at home!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Camilla_Lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We (three adults) stayed at ViaVia forcthree nights and would have stayed longer if availability would have allowed it. The rooms are nothing fancy (little decoration, quite empty), but they are clean and convenient. There are even two rooms with cool outdoor-bathrooms. Bring your own mozzie-net since there is none! Fortunately the rooms are equipped with A/C.
Staff is very welcoming and friendly and the charitable organization which the guesthouse belongs to is also very congenial (very good restaurant, competent travel agency and nice souvenir shop).
The included breakfast is good and you get an even better take-away breakfast when leaving early in the morning!

Would definitely recommend this guesthouse, as it's probably one of the friendliest in the Prawirotaman area and would stay there if returning to the awesome city of Yogya.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in the Bali room for 4 nights. It has air conditioning and its own bathroom which has open roofed which meant we had a few undesired visitors but was a good powerful shower with hot water. Another problem with the room is its size, the double bed is in one corner with enough room to walk around to the bathroom with only a few hangers on a chain to hang clothes. The room is located just off the communal hall which can be quite noisy when other guests come and go at various times through out the night and early morning due to early trip starts etc.
However, the service of the staff is superb. We had 2 early starts and each morning a pack up breakfast was left for us. They were very friendly and full of good advice of what to see and do. The location of the guesthouse is also good, near a lot of excellent restaurants. We also did the cooking class at via via and it was amazing! Overall, it was a pleasant stay but would have appreciated a little bit extra room! Also there are frequent blackouts in yogyakarta one of which lasted 10 hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed 2 nights there. Booked the Papua room which has airconditioning and attached bathroom. The room is basic but clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise. I was just expecting self service bread with jam and butter which is the common fare among budget guesthouses. Instead we were treated to freshly made banana pancake. I had an early morning flight on my checkout date and had to leave at 5am. I wasn't expecting any breakfast and was surprised that they prepared packed breakfast for us. There is a very nice courtyard. The staff also helped us booked the taxi to the airport. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamKhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stay with my aunt at Viavia for one week in Jogia.
All the staff I met there are very friendly and always willing to help and give advise.
Room is very clean and breakfast is very decent and freshly prepared every morning, and during the week they change breakfast menu, fried rice, sandwich and so on, always comes with fresh fruits or fresh squeeze fruit juice, coffee or tea, so we never got bored.
We also tried out via via cafe and their alternative tours, as well as cooking course and bahasa indonesia course, and I'm satisfied with everything via via has got to offer me.

thanks and best wishes for all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33shanshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews