We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Considering the Price, Rather Excellent”
Review of ViaVia Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ViaVia Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 467 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
327 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Considering the Price, Rather Excellent”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I usually stay in slightly more upmarket hotels (4 to 5 stars) but was advised by a friend who lives in Yogyakarta that I might appreciate this place. I must say I did. I stayed her for three nights in the third week of January and certainly considering the price I must say I had an excellent stay. I stayed in a downstairs room of which I forgot the name. It was a spaceous room with a twin-bed, a/c and private bathroom. The room was clean and somewhat spartanly decorated with only a slightly odd picture's of somebody's feet on the wall. I was not altogether convinced by this piece of art but I can see its attraction. The room also contained a little desk and chair. The bathroom was very simple. The room comes with towels but not toiletries as can be expected for this price. The shower was absolutely brilliant, in fact one of the better showers I came across in a hotel in a long time. Almost instantly warm as well. The sink is small with a small ledge to put your stuff on. Toilet was clean, nothing much to add here. I did come across a rather large cockroach when I walked into the bathroom once, and there were some tiny beetles on their way somewhere. It did not particularly bother me. One has to keep in mind that this is a simple bed and breakfast, clean, but close to an open and most of all tropical garden, so insects do tend to roam rather freely. The staff speaks fluent English and is generally very cheerful and helpful. Breakfast was complimentary. The first day I had an omlette and toast, the second day there was a toatie with tomatos and onion. I am sure one can request for something else but I went along with whatever was on the menu. The outside garden is pleasant and a good place for a beer though it is a short walk to many other estalbishments nearby, among which the cheerful ViaVia Cafe, owned by the same people. Yes, I do recommend this place: it's simple but it gets the job done and moreover it is really quite affordable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viaviaj0gja, Manager at ViaVia Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mbaas,

Thank you very much for this thoughtful review! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, and thanks to your friend for recommending us!

You must have stayed in the Papua room, and the photo on the wall is taken at a party in honor of a local leader in Wamena. Local customs is to dress up and adorn the body with animal grease and ash, hence the photo. I agree that the aesthetics can be debated, but I find Papuan customs very intriguing. We hope the photo will inspire (?)(!). Discuss. :)

Bugs - from time to time, yes! We are working with a certified company to manage. We are again looking into what we can do to improve! Thank you for the inputs.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    68
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
85
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here over the New Year's holiday, which is peak season, so the price was somewhat higher, but it was still great value. The rooms are simple and small, but full of lovely touches. I enjoyed the furnishings made of recycled materials (toilet paper roll made of an old doll, storage box made of old tires...). My room was also equipped with an ensuite outdoor, bamboo bathroom, which was a very nice touch.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts they made were delicious. They were very polite and friendly to both me and my friend.

The location is great: down a gang/alley, so it's fairly quiet, but close to Jl. Prawirotaman, which has many tourist facilities (tour booking, motorbike rental, cool restaurants-- including the ViaVia Cafe!-- and small shops).

Anyway, highly recommended for your next visit to Yogya!

Room Tip: Kalimantan and Sulawesi rooms, if I'm not mistaken, have the bamboo bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrc_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place. I stayed in the Jawa room, which is small, simple and shares a bathroom with another room. But the price was very reasonable, especially considering everything else that comes with staying here - great wifi connection (best I've had after 3 weeks in Indonesia), good breakfast and, most of all, excellent staff. Dani, Sami and everyone else here make you feel very comfortable and at home, even if you spend much of the day out, as I often did. Their English and knowledge of the city is also very helpful. All in all - good place, great value, excellent staff. Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Renuka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just outside the centre but you can rent a scooter/ bike for nothing or use the bus to get to the centre.
Rooms: very good and clean and shower outside (nature shower), different choises, with arco or fan, both are good and cheap.
Service: great! Very friendly and honest staff.
Location: small garden to have breakfast or lunch which they make with love. Quiet place close to a busy street

The viavia-concept is :take care of the vulnerable environment. Always good.
Also go to the via via booking office and book a cooking course with Made. She is a great cook.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicksss010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

stayed 2 night at via-via, [java and sumatra room]. small room, but clean and comfortable. good internet connection. good breakfast and also take away breakfast if you want leave via-via more early in the morning. next trip, i will take sulawesi or kalimantan room, with small terrace and outdoor bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Place:
The guesthouse is situated inside a narrow "gang" or alleyway about 30-50m from the main road, Jalan Prawirotaman. It's private enough for a good night sleep and yet near then main road where there's a massage place, restaurants and a convenience store at the corner. The guesthouse is surrounded by tile-roofed native Yogyakartan homes that it feels so livable and native.

Accessibility:
Taxis can bring you to the place, but walking is more preferable.

The Room:
I stayed in 3 rooms which is adequate if you're a solo traveler. The beddings smell nice and are clean. They are comfortable enough for a good night's rest. There was only a small contraption to hang your clothes onto, but sad to say, the place lacks a cabinet for your clothes or a small table/console to put your bags. I hope the staff would rectify this by using the space under the bed as a storage space, much like a trundle bed. The rooms are clean with white tiles and high cielings, and each is equipped with muted yellow bulbs for lighting and an overhead ceiling fan.

The Bathroom:
Depending on which room you're booked into, it can ranged from a shared bathroom to a private shower with earth-toned tiles and bamboo to an open-air bath with a mango tree growing beside the shower head. All the baths have rain showers installed and the water pressure I have to say is strong and have good hot and cold options.

The Staff:
The staff are fantastic and so friendly. They know you by name and are so accommodating when it comes to requests for food, storage and tours. The speak very good English (not impeccable) that one can bond with them quickly. I can assure you they will make your stay memorable.

The Price:
The price is cheap and competitive. You get more than what you pay for in this guesthouse. This alone MUST be your deciding factor. And besides, with the quality of the Viavia group, I can say that it will suffice, or even surpass, your expectations (since their quality control is European in nature)

Rating: 4/5

Room Tip: Choose the room with an open-air bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gekidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viaviaj0gja, Manager at ViaVia Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you, thank you, thank you and thank you for this thoughtful review!!

First of all, thanks for the great words addressed at our (I agree, fantastic) staff! I will make sure they know!!

Also thank you for the inputs on storage space. We will look into it again to come up with some better solutions.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to write the review! Hope to see you again!

All the best,

ViaVia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed one night at Via Via and wish we could have stayed one more. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We stayed in the Bali room, which while small is very clean and has a private outdoor bathroom. There is a lovely communal terrace out back. The guesthouse is located south of the Kraton in a quiet area of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sha43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viaviaj0gja, Manager at ViaVia Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Sha,

Thank you for your review!

Don't you just feel like reading your book in that bathroom? I like it very much too!

We get so much great feedback addressed to our staff, and again, I will make sure they know their work is appreciated!!!

Hope to see you again!


Best wishes,
the ViaVia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#55 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
#21 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pondok Ijo Guest House
Pondok Ijo Guest House
#7 of 467 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#3 of 467 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ViaVia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViaVia Guesthouse

Property: ViaVia Guesthouse
Address: Jln. Prawiritaman 30, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your ViaVia Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing