We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ViaVia Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Airlangga Hotel(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Rosela Hotel(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duta Guest House(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duta Garden Hotel(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pandanaran Jogja(Yogyakarta)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
96
70
20
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
70
20
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbali roomshared bathroompacked breakfastprivate showerhighly recommended place to stayevery morningsmall gardenguest houselocation is greatart galleriesnice decorationfresh juicequiet streetbars and restaurantsclean roomsgreat roomthe air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 192 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just came back fr Via Via yesterday. We stayed there for 3nites in 'Bali' room. Though the room & ensuite bathroom are small, but it was clean :) It's very basic, no TV, no writing desk, only few hangers with recycle laundry bags hanging from a chain fr the ceiling which is very creative of maximising the space in room, and...a big rattan storage box under the bed for our shopping victory storage...haha...So we hv to place our luggages under the bed too. Bed & pillows were comfortable too. The place is very quite & privacy. We only bumped with other backpackers maybe twice throughout our stay. The staff are super friendly & helpful !!! They never rejected our request for extra traveller charger, packed bfast at 5am & served us bfast at 645am than the usual 7am as we hv to leave to airport at 7am. Oh...on our last day, after we came back fr our bike tour in afternoon, there was elec & water cut & we didn't hv water to bathe. One of the staff was so kind to carry a pail of water to our bathroom for us to bathe...we were so thankful to him....And, lastly, the Via Via tour & Via Via Cafe is a MUST join. We joined their local tours everyday & ate the Indonesian food & Western food practically everyday :) Especially the Creme Brulee, we didn't hv enough of it !!! It was so so YUMMY !!!

Via via, we will definately come back again !!! Tks a million for making our trip a great trip !!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here a few years ago but it was a new property so there was no listing on here for it! I feel compelled to write all this time on as me and my boyfriend had such a genuinly wonderful experience here. When we first arrived in jogja from jakarta we stayed at 'Prambanan' guest house which is near by. We were tired and just wanted somewhere comfortable and clean. Although Prambanan was not awful, it most certainly was not private or comfortable and was very dated and grubby. So we went out on foot to search for a different hotel as we were in jogja for a week but many hotels are offering the same dated offerings in the area. That is until we stubled upon this little gem. Tucked away under a little side street this place is quiet, clean, comfortable literally the best budget place we have stayed in (really!). The staff were very friendly we felt so welcome, the rooms are simple, all themed with different parts of indonesia (we had 'Sulawasi' which had a private outdoor bathroom which was soooooo cool!) the beds comfortable and the atmosphere a breath of fresh air. It was cheaper than the previous place we were trying to escape too! We really couldn't believe our luck in finding it. One suggestion would be to offer brown toast at breakfast and maybe real butter too but that is literally the only negative thing! I have fond memories of this place and the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: The rooms with an outdoor bathroom really are special but they dont have air con, it really is a trade off but the fan was a really strong ceiling fan so i think it was worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzimalloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The ViaVia Guesthouse is up a little lane, not attached to the ViaVia Cafe (which has great food!). It's a small place with only a few rooms. Friendly staff ready to help with advice about getting around town or taking tours. Beautiful little patio for breakfast. Nice place to stay in the southern backpacker section of town, away from the northern Malioboro backpacker section. Much quieter and fewer touts in the area. The air con is worth the extra few bucks. Free wifi also.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at ViaVia and liked it a lot. Our room had a fan and private "jungle" ourdoor bathroom. The room was pretty basic but the bed was comfortable and it was cleaned everyday. The staff is what sets this place apart. Probably the friendliest we have met so far in SE Asia! So helpful and nice people!
The breakfast is different from day to day. For instance, one day we had omelette and toast, other day banana pancake. When we went to Borobodur at 4 AM they had prepared a take away breakfast, which we ate in the shadows of Borobodur.

Laundry is cheap and the clothes actually smells nice after it!! (5000r /kg)

Wifi worked most of the time and speed is ok.

Location is good- down a quiet side street of Prawirotaman. We liked this area a lot more than the streets around Malioboro.. THis is much more quiet and you have everything you need nearby.

Definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

If you are one of those who travel & hate the formality of a traditional hotel, welcome to Via Via guesthouse. The place is very basic, but cozy, has a very warm & welcoming staff. Their tiny garden is an ideal spot to sit around & catch a break. Located just 4 Km from the busy & bustling Jl.Malioboro it is a great value for money place.

Room Tip: The Bali room is small but clean & comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews