We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ViaVia Quality, Friendly Staff, Great Value”
Review of ViaVia Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ViaVia Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 511 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I've recently stayed in ViaVia Guesthouse, Jogja for 2 days and I did enjoy my "hostel" experience in Indonesia! Certainly ViaVia Guesthouse is under the same management with Via Via Cafe in Jogja, tied with its ViaVia chain from Belgium.

The guesthouse is quite a brand new one, it's just 1.5 year operating from its grand opening. It has 7 rooms, combined betwern an AC and non-AC rooms, inside and outside bathrooms. Three of their rooms have an outside bamboo bathroom which are truly an Indonesian experience. The price is very valuable, the most expensive one is Papua room (with AC and inside bathroom), costs only IDR 200,000/night (approx. Eur 18 or USD 22), and it comes with a breakfast for two, and free wi-fi. The guesthouse has a small shared kitchen in case you would like to cook. The breakfast itself was delicious, we got a pancake and toast for two days, complete with coffee or tea. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and they do speak very good english! Most of the guests are indeed western (mostly from Europe). The guesthouse offers some tour arrangements which are, once again, have a great value of money and great program.
Few things they can improve is to add mosquito nets in the windows inside the rooms, and to renovate a bit the bathrooms to make it more comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

Location is at Prawirotaman which is generally a moderately touristy area with many other homestays. Clean guest house with really really friendly caretakers M'bak Dani and gang. Most caretakers could speak really fluent english, so you'll have no problems communicating there. They are most willing to give you tips on where to go and how much it should cost so that you do not get ripped off. The breakfast is also really yummy and MBak dani will gladly top it up for you if it doesnt fill your hungry stomach.
You could ask the hosts to help you find a trustworthy motorist who would be more than willing to ride you around the city or wherever you wish to go for a negotiable sum.
Anton was a great company!!! :)
and I will totally come back to this place if i visit jogja again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianajuicebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We paid only 160.000 rupiah for one night including breakfast for a double room with a great outside bamboo bathroom with a real tree inside. The place offers free wifi in the room and breakfast in their very cosy garden. The staff was very friendly and helpfull! They operate with fairtrade and environment saving values which I think it's great! The owner is from Belgium. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A new guesthouse run on the same principles as the same named restaurant. The staff is very friendly and the garden is a big plus. The place is always full in high season so book ahead! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biefstuk-friet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Carina_Basti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Elena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank ale176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#60 of 207 in Yogyakarta
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 207 in Yogyakarta
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#3 of 511 in Yogyakarta
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prambanan Guesthouse
Prambanan Guesthouse
#10 of 511 in Yogyakarta
177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bladok Losmen
Bladok Losmen
#9 of 511 in Yogyakarta
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pondok Ijo Guest House
Pondok Ijo Guest House
#5 of 511 in Yogyakarta
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ViaVia Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViaVia Guesthouse

Address: Jln. Prawiritaman 30, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 511 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $13 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your ViaVia Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing