We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK overall, but disappointing bathroom.”
Review of Eclipse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eclipse Hotel
Ranked #14 of 479 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK overall, but disappointing bathroom.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The bathroom - or rather the drain(s) - was very smelly. The water pressure was weak, and the hot water took a long time to start. Otherwise, the condition is fine. The location is great for Prawirotaman. Staff was 20mins late in giving a wake up call. No elevator means being prepared to walk up/down two flights of stairs if you're on the 3rd floor like I was. Select a room at the back of the hotel for a quieter stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    79
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
63
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a cute and chic little hotel. Away from the frantic Malioboro street but easily accessible by taxi or rickshaws ( though a little slower). The rooms are extremely clean though I would have to say that the shower is a little disappointing. Water pressure is weak at shower stall. Breakfast is nothing fancy but adequate. Staff are extremely nice and a shout out to front desk officer Santi, who is extremely gracious and friendly. Eclipse is located along Prawirotaman street offering a variety of chic restaurants so getting a good meal is not a problem at all. I would certainly recommend Hani's for great food and service. You get good Indonesian and International cuisine here. IF you decide to dine in, Eclipse offers a variety of dishes at very very reasonable prices. Steady and free WIFI too!Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pree_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Eclipse Hotel  is a great little place in a laid back part of town with genuinely good restaurants (try Hani's - delicious) and a few decent shops. We had the Superior? room on the first floor overlooking the fantastic pool. Staff always smiling and helpful. Room was clean and large with a big comfy bed. Clean sheets, though maybe a little worn. Bathroom great, big shower (though water pressure tedious) and if being really picky, towels although clean, a bit greying from over washing - but no big deal. Breakfast pretty usual for SE Asia but brownie points for the restaurant being next to the lush pool. All in all total bargain for the money and good vibe too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beautious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

At first, a bit worry to choose to stay in Prawirotaman and not the busy street - Malioboro. when we arrive at the hotel, i know i make the right choice ! what a wonderfull small hotel located in a not so busy street. weather is extremely hot on the arrival day, but once we enter to the hotel, you can feel the cool.... especially when you see a nice swimming pool just beside the restaurant (near to the lobby too). staff are friendly and helpful. lots of good restaurant within walking distance. breakfast is simple and good. will definately recommand to other.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc_choong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We opted for Eclipse due to its location and were not disappointed. It is located in a quiet street with plenty of restaurants nearby. Very friendly staff and okay breakfast. Our room on the third floor was large and clean. Hotel does not have an elevator. Bring earplugs as you will hear about ten mosques at about 5 am.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mir00987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the best hotel in Prawirotaman, Yogyakarta.

The room is awesome, the surrounding is nice, the service is great, and the food is delicious!

This is one of that hotel you could call home when you want to stay more than 2 days. Been in here 2 times and both were great. You'll find that guilty feeling of waking up so fast because the bed is comfy and the pool is nice too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetitsiaGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was here before, but it is still a nice, comfortable and quiet hotel, in the middle of all restaurants and bars in the touristic area of Prawirotaman. The rooms are clean, the staff friendly, the buffet sufficient, western and asian. Great is the swimming pool, especially if you stay in the rooms beside the pool, just walk out and jump in. The bathroom is modern and clean, only the water pression could be better and it takes some time to get hot water. But I enjoy my staying again!

Room Tip: the best rooms but most expensive are the rooms beside the swimming pool, the so calles 'deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 202 in Yogyakarta
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 202 in Yogyakarta
915 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indies Heritage Hotel
Indies Heritage Hotel
#23 of 202 in Yogyakarta
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#2 of 479 in Yogyakarta
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pondok Ijo Guest House
Pondok Ijo Guest House
#6 of 479 in Yogyakarta
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eclipse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclipse Hotel

Property: Eclipse Hotel
Address: Jln. Prawiritaman 35, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eclipse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eclipse hotel is the best independent hotel. With great and excellent service offered. Our staff are very professional. Staying at eclipse is new experience follow us @eclipsehotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eclipse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing