We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful rooms”
Review of Eclipse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eclipse Hotel
Ranked #15 of 487 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful rooms”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed for three nights in May 2012. The hotel seemed very upscale, with a huge lobby, welcome juice drinks, and super attentive staff. The rooms were large and well-apportioned. Our room didn't have a balcony, which was the only downside. The hotel also didn't have a very big garden area, but considering it was in the middle of the city, that's understandable. The pool was large, but very cold (we'd been accustomed to bath water warm pools in the sun) - likely because the pool area was mostly in shade except for the very middle of the day. Also, there were only four pool chairs & not too much lounging room. I liked the location, on a smaller street just off a big one. The location was quiet, and we loved having the ViaVia Restaurant right across the street (which is where we ended up eating most of our meals, a rotating Indonesian selection). The breakfasts were nice, a mix of eastern and western, with an omelette station, juices, salad, fruit, breads, and a changing selection of asian foods (rice, noodles, fried bananas, etc). It is definitely more of a hotel than a B&B, but we did enjoy our stay there very much!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giathreedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    80
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
63
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Almost all was good. Friendly staff, huge rooms, clean, good breakfast (but not extraordinary), very nice swimming pool.

Negative (but nothing blocking): no safe in room (well, may be no very common in Indonesia), location (need a taxi cab), no lift (but only two storeys).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renardo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. It deserved to be #1 but should be in the hotel catagory. Friendly staffs service with a big smile . Big room with comfy bed n clean sheets and towels. We were given the ground floor room that open out to the pool. Simply delightful. Breakfast is decent spread with mixture of western and local variety. The kitchen even go the extra mile by providing room service way past their opening hour as we return late from Borobudur after a Vesak event.
Location is great in a quiet street full of nice cafe, eateries, spa and even nearby batik factories. 10 min drive will get you to Maliboro street.
If I were to "complain" it would be having to request for a hair-dryer every night I return to hotel.
More like a boutique hotel with lovely ambience and surroundings, beautiful staffs n warm service, I will not hesitate to recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nying-je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Yogya i'm coming..

We went to yogya with my parents in law,we booked at eclipse coz all the mid hotel was fully booked,so we (me and hudband) just rely on tripadvisor.
The hotel was very good,nice and clean (thanks Tripadvisor),beautiful swimming pool on the ground makes our breakfast time perfect.
The location is quite far from famous malioboro,but if you're here want to have a relax hotel,then this is the best. For me malioboro is too crowded.
My suggestion is ask a room which have inside position,mine is on second floor facing the road,we often hear cars and others from our room.
Well overall this hotel for me was very good.

See you in another city:-P

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The room is big enough with the clean bathroom, the interior are also nice with the quiet and peaceful atmosphere to bring very well rest and sleep. This hotel is excellent with friendly and helpful staff and the location in the heart of Jogjakarta city..... All is very good!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arry866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hotel is OK, no thrills : room was big but a little dated. Pool is standart, price is average for Yogya, but the hotel staff is really friendly and helpful - very nice and professional people

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent a few nights in Eclipse Hotel and it was a very nice experience. The room was big, the bed was comfortable, there were fresh fluffy towels, and the bathroom was clean. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxing and the staff was very helpful and nice. The restaurant, although not very busy served excellent food. Location was central and convenient. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leser52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 204 in Yogyakarta
928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 204 in Yogyakarta
599 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
#21 of 204 in Yogyakarta
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#56 of 204 in Yogyakarta
214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 204 in Yogyakarta
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eclipse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eclipse Hotel

Property: Eclipse Hotel
Address: Jalan Prawirotman 35, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 487 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eclipse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eclipse hotel is the best independent hotel. With great and excellent service offered. Our staff are very professional. Staying at eclipse is new experience follow us @eclipsehotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eclipse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing