We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ambience and great healthy foods”
Review of Kedai Kebun

Kedai Kebun
Ranked #144 of 1,168 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Cuisines: Indonesian
Description: A great restaurant that I would like to review, in Yogyakarta near the Jalan Prawirotaman tourist area.
Restaurant details
Description: A great restaurant that I would like to review, in Yogyakarta near the Jalan Prawirotaman tourist area.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing ambience and great healthy foods”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I just visited this place yesterday and had my first delicate experience in tasting tempe. I ordered grilled tempe with potato which tastes delicious but a little bit too big for my portion. They have variety of Indonesian foods with a very reasonable price for locals and cheap price for foreginers.This place is also an art gallery so it has a very relaxing and nice ambience.I recommended this place for foreigners who want to experience a nice Indonesian foods (plus, it's healthy, organic with no MSG and stuff). As for locals, I don't think people will be in favor for it, although it offers a unique concept but most locals will find the foods nothing extraordinary because we are used to having this type of foods in our own house.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azarine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    51
    16
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“U must come here!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant deserves better rating! The food is simply delicious! If u are looking for variety of Indonesian cuisine, u shld come here. This place is also patronized by locals! I ate the grilled tempeh with potatoes and they are irresistible! I wished I knew about this place earlier so I could come again.. The food prices are super reasonable at 10-30k per dish depending. The ambience is also very arty farty which makes the whole experience totally unforgettable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guccified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This little restaurant was tucked away deep in Tirtodipuran (depending on the direction you're coming from) but it was well worth the effort to come here for lunch. The dishes are really cheap and very tasty too! The nasi goreng specials were fantastic and if you're a fan of soybean cakes (tempe in local Bahasa) order a plate of tempe goreng or the medoan goreng! Price wise it's cheaper than the restaurants along Prawitorman. I give this place 2 thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rvn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yummy smoothie”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I agree with some TA reviewers, the food, the service and the ambiance were great. I was there in the evening, the weather was nice, the street was quiet and oh my it was very romantic.

I ordered an avocado smoothie. They served this as a sweet drink not a salad, people! It was thick, not too sweet and delicious.

The best seats are upstairs toward the front which is an open-air setting. I felt like I was sitting on a tree house.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScoobyWow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb place!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

very nice place to dine with delicious food. Love the pisang goreng served with honey and lime!
the waiters are friendly, far from annoying :)
very cozy place to eat or just hangout drinking beers with friends .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank windygunarso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kedai Kebun also viewed

 
Yogyakarta, Java
 

Been to Kedai Kebun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing