We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta
Ranked #107 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed December 28, 2012

From the outside, it looked very impressive, I thought I was going back to the imperial times in Indonesia. The staff were friendly but the superior rooms are anything but. The bathrooms are a disaster of very poor design and decoration. Probably a hangover from the roman times.
It would make a good family hotel as the swimming pool looked fun, but definitely not a place I will go back to.

Room Tip: Dont go for so-called 'superior'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2015

Good afternoon Mr.Laurie. Wish you in a great condition. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. To respond your review, now we have renovate our rooms include bathrooms and its amenities, bedsheets, linen, and also innovate our products and services. Hopefully there is a chance for us to show you how much we concern of our customers. We will wait for your coming in the near future. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 95 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Only look good in brochures, the exterior may look fancy but missed in details. I found the room was rather small than expectation, with minor furnitures eror. The bathroom is really small, the Floor is dirty. Towel and pillows are too perfumed, make you dizzy to smell them. Overall i think this hotel is too pricey for it facilities and service, and kindda regret i already booked it for 2 nights.

Room Tip: See the actual room before you booked, photos can be misleading
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumilkriwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2015

Good afternoon. Wish you in a great condition. We are sorry for your situation during your stay in The grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. To respond your review, now we have renovate our rooms include bathrooms and its amenities, bedsheets, linen, and also innovate our products and services. Hopefully there is a chance for us to show you how much we concern of our customers. We will wait for your coming in the near future. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

good and clean hotel, quite far from busy Malioboro area at the town, food choices around that area is limited, however the staff services are responsive, those tuk-tuk waiting in front of hotel offers quick transport, too bad the hotel don't offer any tour package or help arranging trips

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2015

Good afternoon Mr.Lee. Wish you in a great condition. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. We are glad to inform you that we already have tour packages. There are many adorable places that must be visited in Yogyakarta. We are ready to serve and take you go anywhere you want. We will wait for your coming in the near future. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I spent 2 nights in the Grand Palace, Jogja, Feb'12, while discovering Prambanan and Borobudur.
What is good about it:
1) Central location, though within a poor and badly lit area (the hotel is familiar to taxi drivers)
2) Friendly and helpful staff
3) Welcome drink
4) Big pool
5) Free WiFi

And that was disappointing:
1) Lots of noisy local families with kids, swimming fully dressed in the pool, shouting their heads off all over the place!
2) Again, plenty of noisy local businessmen, coming to (I guess) some meetings/seminars in the hotel, stealing your early morning sleep and afternoon nap!
3) Cold, Indonesian breakfast - the same everyday;
4) Tiny - I mean it - tiny bathroom with old, broken ceramic tiles, looking very bad. You wouldn't expet bathrooms like that in a building so posh...
5) Uncomfortable pillows, IMHO.
6) Constant noise from renovations taking part in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2015

Good afternoon Ms.Maria Wish you in a great condition. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. We are sorry for your situation at that moment. To respond your review, now we have renovate our rooms include bathrooms and its amenities, bed sheets, linen, and also innovate our restaurant menu and services. Hopefully there is a chance for us to show you how much we concern of our customers. We will wait for your coming in the near future. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The so-called architecture of the hotel was indeed quite different from what one normally sees in Jogja, but that's all there is to it for this hotel.

Despite the friendly smiles of the front desk staff, their only credit card machine didn't work when I checked-in, so had to put down USD 100 as deposit.

The room was of good-size and clean, but the bathroom tiny. There were around 5 remedial English channels. I may sound silly to complain about TV channels, but Jogja is not the kind of town with a night scene, so the TV becomes your companion. Luckily Wifi was free of charge.

The lobby had the typical band playing in the evening which was more a nuisance than anything else.

Breakfast only have Indonesian-dishes available (which were not kept warm), so don't expect any freshly made omlette.

Overall speaking it's an acceptable 3-star establishment, but for the price I paid it's almost a rip-off.

Room Tip: If you want to hear less of the band in the evening, ask for a room far away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2015

Good afternoon Mr.Szekit. Wish you in a great condition. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. But we are sorry for your situation that moment. However, we always try to serve guest request and fulfilling their expectation, and band performance is part of request to make guest happy. To respond your review, now we already innovate our menu and services that make you can get your meal warm. We also upgrade our TV channel. One thing that you might be missed; Jogja has a lot of night scenes. So Hopefully we can serve you more in the near future and get you there to enjoy your evening in lovely places in Yogyakarta. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice hotel near prawirotamanstreet. very clean and helpfull employees.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2015

Good afternoon Mr.Rolvink. Wish you in a great condition. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. There are more lovely places to go in Yogyakarta. So please come again. We will wait for your coming in the near future. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We ended up at this hotel, because the place where we actually wanted to stay (Pondok Terra) was not available until the next day. The Grand Palace was very close by, so we took a chance figuring we were only staying 1 night.
Frankly, the outside looks like some pompous Roman style monstrosity, totally out of place in Yogyakarta in general and in this relatively poor "Kampung style" neighbourhood in particular. We had booked one of their better rooms - an Executive Room. Don't be fooled by the photos on their website, they do the place too much justice.
Quite basic beds, a low dresser with an old tv on top (with very poor signal so barely watchable), 2 low stools and no other furniture, an 'announced' minibar which wasn't there, a min-fridge which was empty and not working (we tried after getting our own drinks from outside) and free (but excruciatingly slow) WiFi, only 1 free electricity socket - irritating. For some reason there was a very strong and pervasive smell of disinfectant in the room which did not go away during the time we stayed there. Can't figure out why that was (masking some other smell?); the place generally looked clean. Bathroom very basic; 2 skimpy, thinnish bath towels, shower with shower curtain and no place to put your soap and shampoo (I hate that !) - I ended up putting the soap and shampoo on the edge of the wash basin, just on the other side of the shower curtain.
Not too much more to say other than that the reception staff was extremely friendly and helpful; not that we needed much help, but very eager to please, so very nice.
Breakfast was a bummer - buffet style but very meager selection of food, even the "make-to-order" cook behind his little stall only had the barest of ingredients for an omelet, making the whole breakfast experience look anemic. Add to that various tables occupied by what appeared to be local businessmen, discussing their business and heavily smoking their sigarettes while we were sitting at the next table having breakfast ... not a good start of the day.
This all sounds perhaps worse than it was, because basically you're getting a decent room in what appears to be an upscale hotel for a relatively low price. But that's exactly the point: the place tries to be something it isn't (and can't deliver for that price), which is disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddot61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Y, Front Office Manager at The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2015

Good afternoon. Wish you in a great condition. We are thankful for your stayed in The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta. Ofcourse we are sorry for your situation in that moment. However, it is quite long time ago, so we are glad to inform you that now we have renovate our rooms include bathrooms and its amenities, TV, bedsheets, linen, and also innovate our products and services. Hopefully there is a chance for us to show you how much we concern of our customers. We will wait for your coming in the near future. Warm Greeting for you and family from The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
LYNN Hotel By Horison
LYNN Hotel By Horison
#41 of 212 in Yogyakarta
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
#28 of 212 in Yogyakarta
573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burza Hotel Yogyakarta
Burza Hotel Yogyakarta
#72 of 212 in Yogyakarta
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Winotosastro Garden
Hotel Winotosastro Garden
#152 of 212 in Yogyakarta
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indies Heritage Hotel
Indies Heritage Hotel
#33 of 212 in Yogyakarta
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
KJ Hotel Yogyakarta
KJ Hotel Yogyakarta
#99 of 212 in Yogyakarta
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. Mangkuyudan no. 32, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $21 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grand Palace Hotel Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing