We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and good atmosphire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kampoeng Djawa Hotel
Ranked #123 of 492 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good atmosphire”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stay 1 night on sep 28, but i can feel the local culture, 2 words i can say; cheap and value.
Next time i will stay here again, you can find food by walking . They provide free tea or coffee.
And they also provide local food as breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the corner ground floor, less good smell from the sharing bath room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romida_Marbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    46
    22
    5
    12
See reviews for
11
52
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Kampoeng Djawa for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Below is an outline of our experience…

Staff - As others have said the staff are superb. Even before we arrived we had an email asking if there was anything they could do to help. Once we arrived they were more than happy to assist us in making plans, booking a taxi, recommending a restaurant. A special mention to Harry who on noticing my girlfriend was soaking her feet to reduce the swelling after a long day’s walking immediately offered to give her a foot massage to help ease the swelling. The massage must have lasted at least 30 minutes and apparently was brilliant. I saw Harry giving someone else a massage as well. True gentlemen.

Food – breakfast was ok, on the two mornings which we had breakfast we once had the local dish Gudeg which was nice and the 2nd toast which was also good. Tea and coffee is available whenever you want as is cold drinking water and if you happen to back in the afternoon, the afternoon tea with snacks is excellent.

Room – aircon was good. Each room has a private sitting area to the front which was nice to relax on after a long day. The bedroom was nice and the good hot water.

Location – located on a nice quiet street with plenty of tourist restaurants. Local type restaurants are a bit more of walk away and the local attractions also require a short walk. About 30 min to Marboro street.

Overall I would definitely recommend Kampoeng Djawa, no compliants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

i liked that the guesthouse has javanese design which adds up to that idea that i am actually in indonesia. the room is very basic with shared bathroom, but that's fine for the price i paid, about 400php.has unlimitted coffee, free breakfast and afternoon tea also. the staff were very friendly, i got to chat with them every afternoon. tour agencies, food choices and bar are all within a few walk from the guesthouse. of all the positive things about this guesthouse, it is the staff and the ambiance that got me saying this is a great guesthouse in jogyakarta.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willdeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here with a fried whilst travelling around Indonesia, just want to take this opportunity to thank all of the wonderful, friendly staff at the hotel. They really are a credit not only to the hotel but to their country. This place has character, the beautiful courtyard was the perfect place to enjoy the wonderfully presented, delicious afternoon tea and complimentary snacks. The place in general just had a welcoming feel and we didn't want to leave! Once again, thank you to the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eieic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranst
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Not that easy to find because of the small entrance but such a nice place.
The rooms are beautiful and adjacent to the green courtyard.
If you're there during tea time the super friendly staff gives you tea and a snack.
The rooms were clean and the bathroom was nice!
The guesthouse is located in a nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse really surpassed our expectations. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and will serve a very good indonesian breakfast as well as an afternoon tea with snacks. The rooms are basic but very clean and the bathrooms definitely way above what you otherwise can get in indonesia. The hotel is arranged around a cute backyard full of flowers and plants. You can also book tours with the hotel (powered by kresna tours) which are significantly cheaper than what you can find otherwise and very good (AC mini bus, nice staff, no detours to get you to buy anything). If you combine the things said with the ridiculously low prices, you cannot but rate this homestay excellent.
Ps: dont go for superior rooms as they are older and less nice, if you can, get room number 2!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schdero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Room was very small and dark. The bathroom, although clean had a constant musty smell, hot water was a bit tricky to get to right temperature. Staff were wonderful, very attentive and helpful. You can help yourself to tea and coffee anytime and they provide rice with other "bits" for breakfast. When they realised that we didn't usually eat rice for breakfast the staff went out of there way to accommodate us with bread and jam. Definitely for the young and budget traveller.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#60 of 206 in Yogyakarta
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Home Stay
Delta Home Stay
#22 of 492 in Yogyakarta
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prambanan Guesthouse
Prambanan Guesthouse
#11 of 492 in Yogyakarta
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#3 of 492 in Yogyakarta
269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ndalem Mbak Charly
Ndalem Mbak Charly
#129 of 492 in Yogyakarta
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mango Tree Dipudjo Homestay
Mango Tree Dipudjo Homestay
#31 of 492 in Yogyakarta
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampoeng Djawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampoeng Djawa Hotel

Property: Kampoeng Djawa Hotel
Address: Jln. Prawiritaman no. 40, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 492 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kampoeng Djawa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kampoeng Djawa is an ethnic traditional design guesthouse. Bringing you the comfort and the warm of Yogya's village atmosphere.An Ethnic Design Hostel with Traditional Java Concept Living and Atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kampoeng Djawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing