We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, budget, book it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kampoeng Djawa Hotel
Ranked #73 of 516 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This place was a great find and amazing value for money. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the rooms clean and cosy. People who winge about the location are just lazy! It's a 15 walk to the Sultans Palace and located on a strip with lots of good and cheap restaurants. You can pay $1 to use other hotels pools and if a 10 min walk to the palace is too much, get a Becak - actually great fun as we got one back to the hostel. Also check out via via restaurant (2 min walk from hostel). Excellent food and real good value. Good wifi at hostel to. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Si_Muddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 114 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

if you come yogyakarta than need place to sleep with java athmosphere. I will suggest u to sleep in this place. this hotel in the prawirotaman area. not big but unique place with good service. the room is big with java architecture.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daru_Atta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Suggested by the guides after arrival in Yogyakarta I go to the Prawirotaman area. Unfortunately choice of hostels there is not big, and those few good were full booked. From hostels I looked this was the best choice. The hostel is unique, even though it already demanding some repair, but has an interesting atmosphere (thanks to staff which is working very hard). Served food was very "ethnic". Stay there if you like to talk with local people. But definitely I recommend Malioboro street area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob_sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 days in one of the double rooms adjacent to the patio. Nice atmosphere, room's ok and clean. Friendly staff, convenient location. The mosque will wake you up at 5am every day, although you get used to that :-). Walls are paperthin, if your neighbours sneeze you'll notice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arrived at Yogyakarta with a rush time to visit Borobudur and Prambanan coz the day after we wanted to go to east Java. They recommended to us the best way and helped us to book the bus to Probolinggo. Maybe not the most confortable bed you slept but great service and extremly clean. Near the mosque, you have a wake up alarm clock at 5 am everyday. Enjoy your looong day!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dosounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed at Kampoeng Djawa for 6 days and it was fantastic! The staff was very kind and would always make sure I was having a good time. The room was quaint and had a lot of Indonesian style. Though the walls seemed thin and I could hear the people in the room next door, it didn't bother me much.

Just a heads up, this is Indonesia and there are a lot of animals even in the city area. A lizard was in my room at one point and every now and then I could hear a mouse squeak and skitter on the roof. To some people this may be a setback but again, I wasn't bothered by it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank McKenzie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Frankly, it is below my expectation. The hotel was so small, but their service is excellent!

They have no parking lot, so the guests park their cars on the street. It's safe, they said.

The hot water is unstable but since Yogyakarta is hot, it's forgivable.

I was stayed in suite room, two beds, not recommended for couple (they set the beds lengthwise).

Breakfast (gudeg) is delicious and they serve afternoon snacks.

Perfect for budget travelers.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, choose the room with shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chicko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#64 of 211 in Yogyakarta
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
#21 of 211 in Yogyakarta
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Home Stay
Delta Home Stay
#26 of 516 in Yogyakarta
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ndalem Mantrigawen
Ndalem Mantrigawen
#52 of 516 in Yogyakarta
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prambanan Guesthouse
Prambanan Guesthouse
#10 of 516 in Yogyakarta
178 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bladok Losmen
Bladok Losmen
#9 of 516 in Yogyakarta
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampoeng Djawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampoeng Djawa Hotel

Address: Jl. Prawiritaman 1 no. 40, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 516 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $12 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kampoeng Djawa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kampoeng Djawa is an ethnic traditional design guesthouse. Bringing you the comfort and the warm of Yogya's village atmosphere.An Ethnic Design Hostel with Traditional Java Concept Living and Atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kampoeng Djawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing