We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay for your trips around Yogyakarta”
Review of Hotel 1001 Malam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 1001 Malam
Ranked #30 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A perfect stay for your trips around Yogyakarta”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I had a great time at the Hotel 1001 Malam in Yogyakarta. The staff was very friendly and competent, beginning with the hotel manager. The rooms are clean, and very nicely made up with wall pictures that leave you stunned; I slept formidably, maybe even for too long ;) The garden setting helps you to relax during various trips aroud Jogja, and there are plenty!

A breakfast is included and is brough to your room, if you desire so. Many services are offered and the staff proved helpful in various situations. Food can also be ordered during the day.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel for everyone staying in Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    244
    72
    18
    3
See reviews for
63
220
103
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

i found Yogyakarta's treasure by chance when i was going through hotel reviews and i have to say it is even better than what i expected!!! it is extremely clean and cheap the pillows and the beds are very comfortable breakfast is simple but delicious and fresh. the hotel does trips to the temples too i would definitly go back again!! i recommend it to all my friends in germany
and everyone of course

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deenah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My wife wife and I stayed at 1001 Malam after our visit to the Waisak Festival at Borobudur this past May. Because of the holiday, almost every hotel was booked in the area and Mamad (manager) worked very hard to make special arrangements to accommodate us at 1001 Malam. We are very thankful to Mamad for his wonderful customer service.

We enjoyed our stay - comfortable, quiet, convenient, affordable, nice breakfast and great customer service. It was the perfect location to stay while we visited some of the highlights of the Yogyakarta area: Prambanan Temple, Ramayana Ballet, Wayang Kulit Puppet Show.

Thank you Mamad and 1001 Malam. Best of luck to you! See you next time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fargo_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We found this hotel by chance after looking at a lot of other rooms in the area. It's clean, bright, airy and stylishly designed. The first review describes the facilities very well. Compared to other hotels with a similar price tag on Sosro, 1001 Malam is much better value for money. It's great style and design gives it character. The staff are superfriendly and speak good English. We got some good advice and great help from Mr. Memut who drew us a map and gave us the phone number for a massage place when we asked him. Free coffee and tea and wifi and the breakfast are included in the price. It's worth checking out different rooms as they have a range of rooms with individual wall murals. We really like it here, would totally come back and will be recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fah Lanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This hotel is one of the better ones in this area. It is a little more pricey than the rest, but this shows in the quality of the rooms and bathrooms. Everything is very clean and the staff are very efficent. A free breaky is served each morning on either the veranda in front of your room, or on the balacony. And free tea and coffee are available through out the day. Free wifi is also available.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

new small hotel,good position,clean,average size rooms, expensive for what it offers,no TV or pool,rooms very basic,very limited storage.
better value similar accomodation in same area.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastBatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

I founded this hotel from a reliable local website for jogjakarta tourism called www.yogyes.com. You can check also at www.1001malamhotel.com

Located in a small alley of the main Sosrowijayan street, in the Jogjakarta's centre where the famous Malioboro is just about 5 minutes walked from the hotel.
i think this is the best hotel in the alley because 1001 malam (in english means 1001nights) was just opened in 2009. Taxi/car/trishaw can't go thrugh the alley, but during you walked to the hotel, sometimes you'll see the locals life mixed with tourist there. It's a safe alley even you walked in the night because Sosrowijayan street is the one of backpackers areas in Jogjakarta.

If you like to feel the java ambience and boring with the modern hotel style, this can be your option. Look at the big wall painting in each room, bamboo's cupboard and towel hanger, terrace, bedsheets, wooden door and window, floor, all are represent the etnic of Java. I can say also the cleanliness of this hotel is well maintained.

Some rooms provide TV but some didn't, so be sure you inform the staff what kind of room you need. The hotel provide 2 pcs of small bathtowel in each room, but not provided toiletris. The bathroom has no separation between wet and dry area. The aircon worked silently and cold.

Free water, coffee and tea were provided near the lobby. Standard breakfast during my stay was banana pancake & juice. It will be served to your room as they don't have a restaurant space except one table in front of the kitchen.

My only concern is the room lighting. It's impossible to read in the room during night because the only lighting is a spotlight which is shining to the wall painting plus another spotlight at wastafel area / in front of the bathroom. But you can do it if you sit at the terrace. I think the hotel was really designed for rest and sleep, evan at night, you probably can hear if the neighbour talking loudly.

The hotel also provide a join seat tour with reasonable prices. Email the hotel, so they can send to you a package detail, or you just can book a day before at the lobby. They also provide airport or train station transfer in / out.

Overall, it is recommended if you are on budget but still need a comfy, clean and safe for families. To be noted as well that the hotel policy is not allowing guess to bring other guess from outside to stay over. Compare with the price, it is value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footprintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 204 in Yogyakarta
884 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#40 of 204 in Yogyakarta
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
#35 of 204 in Yogyakarta
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#20 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
#16 of 204 in Yogyakarta
534 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#56 of 204 in Yogyakarta
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1001 Malam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1001 Malam

Property: Hotel 1001 Malam
Address: Gt I/ 57 Jln. Sosrowijayan, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1001 Malam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistic, New, Ethnic, Elegant, Traditional Hotel In The Heart Of Malioboro Area... Each Of Our 16 Rooms Comes In A Different Painting That Will Take Ur Breath Away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel 1001 Malam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing