We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing and great location”
Review of Hotel 1001 Malam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1001 Malam
Ranked #30 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing and great location”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have spent a long weekend away with one of my best friend and we were so impressed with the whole package. Great and helpful staff in the hotel and especially when we rent the car and the tour guide Pak Tom who always willing to help and ensure our trip will enjoyable yet efficient.The hotel is located in the alley and 10 minutes walking distance to Malioboro, so convenience and made us really experience the truly Yogya.
Mixed juice and banana pancake is our favorite Breakfast!!
Thanks Pak Tom and we will come back to stay at 1001 malam hotel again..
Soon I hope..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    244
    72
    18
    3
See reviews for
63
220
103
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel was located in a great location near the main shopping street of Jalan Malioboro, close to the train station and within walking distance of the Kraton. The rooms were large and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Limited breakfast selection - but it was cooked to order. We thought it was really great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Located amongst backpacker lodgings, 1001 Malam is a class above by offering artistic Javanese-style rooms equipped with everything a hotel offers excluding a TV set. Its location in Sosrowijayan Wetan provides travellers both convenience to access Malioboro Rd and experience of Jogjakarta's local neighbourhood. Most importantly, its friendly staff provide flexible private tours and helpful tips on exploring the small but vibrant town. Many thanks to both Mr. Tom Lim, Ms. Retno and crew for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kousha123, General Manager at Hotel 1001 Malam, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your beautiful review.. It was pleasure and glad to have you as our guest, i hope soon we will serve you again in nearly future...


If you need any assistance or information about out city please don't hesitate to contact us.


Mamad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel 1001 malam overall is very good! the hotel is clean, value for money, the staffs are friendly and always willing for help.

There free 24 hours coffee/tea, you just need to D.I.Y.

highly recommended Hotel 1001 malam!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laikaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiraz, Iran
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Real value for money.
It's been a while since we stayed there but I feel I owe the staff. (It is a pity I dont remember the names of always smiling boy and girl)
Upon arrival early in the morning, we found out that our reservation had been cancelled by the booking site but the staff were really friendly and gave us the reserved room with the same price. They arranged us a tour to Parambanan and Barbadour for a reasonable price with an Italian-spanish couple.
The driver was also very friendly.
My wife and I stayed there for 3 days and really enjoyed the the place.
The room was pretty spacious and the location was really convenient.
Malioboru was just a stone throw away from the place. the alley were narrow but very safe.
The view of the yard from second floor was great.
The only issue I had was the many ants moving around the coffee table and inside the sugar.
Breakfast was very small. Just an egg sandwich and a tropical juice.
I think there can be more choices.

Thank you
Mojtaba

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irantravelservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The major thing that I like about this hotel was its location. The major shopping street of Malioboro was just a few steps away. My friends and I kept on going there throughout our stay at Yogya. The room was spacious and cosy. However, i would like it if they do provide hair dryer in the room. (wink2)

The staff are friendly and helpful. Tom & Yosha did a very well job. Tom never gives up in giving us the view and experience in Yogya.However,my friends and I didnt have the chance to meet the Manager, Mamat.

If I were to visit Yogya again, I will definitely bring my family to stay at Hotel 1001 Malam. To be honest, I do miss Pak Tom!

Room Tip: I love room number 14! Closer to the pond and spacious! Corner suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esthermandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is located close to Yogyakarta train station and to restaurants and shops in the city main avenue.
Inside there is a very nice garden where breakfast is served at your room door. Staff are very helpful.
The rooms are clean and have wall frescos, but the bathrooms could use some improvements.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio_Nogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 204 in Yogyakarta
887 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#41 of 204 in Yogyakarta
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
#15 of 204 in Yogyakarta
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#21 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
#36 of 204 in Yogyakarta
726 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#55 of 204 in Yogyakarta
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1001 Malam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1001 Malam

Property: Hotel 1001 Malam
Address: Gt I/ 57 Jln. Sosrowijayan, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1001 Malam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistic, New, Ethnic, Elegant, Traditional Hotel In The Heart Of Malioboro Area... Each Of Our 16 Rooms Comes In A Different Painting That Will Take Ur Breath Away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel 1001 Malam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing