We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel Amazing Location Amazing Staff”
Review of Hotel 1001 Malam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 1001 Malam
Ranked #31 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel Amazing Location Amazing Staff”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked for 2 nights out of 4 nights in Jogja just to experience the hotel based on the reviews i read here. After 2nd night I wanted to extend and the staff helped me to get another 1 night during peak season (malaysia & indonesia long holiday). Rooms are very clean and comfortable with aircond and hot shower. Good wifi connection and I just love how they decorated the place. Breakfast served outside the room so u dont have to walk. Location close to malioboro st and kraton. Very safe to walk even at night. All the staffs a very friendly and helpful.

Special thanks to Tom, Hartini, Hendry, Yusa, ratno and the rest of the team. Keep up the good job guys!!!

This place is just soooo amazing. You gotta see and experience it to believe it.

Highly recommended and you wont regret.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanthus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    244
    72
    18
    3
See reviews for
63
220
103
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location was great just 1 minutes to Tugu station and 5 minutes to Malioboro. If you search the hotel from Malioboro street to Sosrowijayan, you will little bit difficult to find the hotel because you must through few alley and winding road. Much easier if you search the hotel from alley in front of tugu station.
The room and terrace was cozy and the interior in the room and lobby was unique. The theme just like the name of hotel 1001 malam.
But bathroom amenities limited and for the breakfast menu you have to choose 1 from 3 choices and the breakfast deliver to your room. The rate little bit expensive for Jogja hotel and if you book from website using usd rate, they will charge with the highest exchange rate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farah_ziyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A calm little oasis in the centre of Yogyakarta. This place is simple yet, elegant and stylish. It is situated in one of the gangs (small lanes) off the main road and is quiet and relaxing. Definitely the best value in the area. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MateoHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel has a very relaxing environment, besides being central in the city is very much protected by the street noise. It has a nice central garden where all bedrooms face to. Staff is very nice and helpful, including the manager that helped to manage a flight reservation issue.
Rooms are confortable and clean.
Breakfast as natural fruits or toasts and natural juice or tea/coffee. They could add and improve something more in breakfast... but what is there is good quality.
Coffe and tea is always available, wich makes the stay more confortable. There are some chairs facing the garden, which creates amenities good for reading and chatting. Wifi access free.
I would strong recommend it! Good value for money and several nice restaurants just in front of the hotek in its narrow pedestrian street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went two times in this hotel with friends in 2009 and 2010.
Beautiful place and very nice atmosphere.
We loved the rooms and the nice terrace.
The staff was very friendly and at your service to help you.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

During March of 2010,I spent 12 highly satisfactory nights staying at the recently opened "Hotel 1001 Malam" in the backpacker quarter of Yogyakarta. However to call this Hotel a backpacker joint is to do it an injustice. Really it is much more of a very inexpensive "Boutique Hotel". With spacious A/C, TV, Ensuite, Double Rooms at about US$45 per night, it certainly is VERY good value. The staff are wonderfully helpful and enthusiastic and I cannot praise highly enough the terrific young Manager, Mr Mamad Abdullah - A really good chap. "Hotel 1001 Malam" is very quietly situated down a tidy alleyway and there are several very good small restaurants only a stones throw away, in the same Alley.

I passed through Jogyakarta for 3 nights in early October 2012 and I very much enjoyed a return trip to "Hotel 1001 Malam" - A GREAT place to stay for not much money. Try it and you will NOT regret it.
Andrew Bruce
London

Room Tip: There are perfectly good rooms facing into the internal courtyard on the Ground Floor. Personally I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights which was longer than planned partly due to the many attractions of Yogyakarta but also because we liked the hotel.
The staff are friendly & helpful, the verandahs outside the rooms & open air balcony area all provide space to sit outdoors & the location is great. There is a constant supply of tea & coffee & breakfast is a choice of pancake, nasi goreng, sandwich or fruit.
The hotel is close to the station & a local mosque . Train announcements & calls to prayer start very early. Whilst this is all part of the local flavour, if you're a light sleeper you should bring ear plugs to avoid being awoken by this.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scousepeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 204 in Yogyakarta
884 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#40 of 204 in Yogyakarta
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
#35 of 204 in Yogyakarta
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#20 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
#15 of 204 in Yogyakarta
534 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#56 of 204 in Yogyakarta
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1001 Malam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1001 Malam

Property: Hotel 1001 Malam
Address: Gt I/ 57 Jln. Sosrowijayan, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 1001 Malam 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistic, New, Ethnic, Elegant, Traditional Hotel In The Heart Of Malioboro Area... Each Of Our 16 Rooms Comes In A Different Painting That Will Take Ur Breath Away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel 1001 Malam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing