We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy place and tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kesuma Restaurant - CLOSED

Kesuma Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Annual Leave & Maintenance for 2016 : KR is closed from May 01st until September 1st. We will gladly answer your inquiries and reservations from September. We open at 6:00 PM (last order at 10:30 PM). Closed on Tuesdays. Lunch is only available for reservations, one day before.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy place and tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Best place in Indonesia so far. Place was very authentic and romantic, food was deliciously made and staff was nice and attentive. Remember to book ahead.

Helpful?
1 Thank theisgreve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    103
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty food, lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a great Beef Rendang here, amazing atmosphere complete with floor Koi Pond and tiny gazebos to eat in. You can see into the kitchen, and the ingredients (fresh fruits and veggies) laid out ready to go definitely get your mouth watering.

Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank niktheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great value, Beautiful Food, Lovely staff & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were looking for good Indonesian food in a romantic atmosphere, not breaking the bank and we found it right here. The produce used in creating the food was the freshest of the fresh with fabulous quality meat and seafood. We loved the beef randang & traditional prawn soup in particular. The owner was there to ensure we had the best meal possible & his wife, the chef, both ensured that this meal was one of the best we had in Indonesia. Highly recommend booking this place to experience it for yourself.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meise, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, typical Indonesian food, good hospitability. Very good quality for a good price. Reservation required, but we phoned the same day and it was no problem.

Helpful?
1 Thank Galloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Too good to be missed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Visited Kesuma Restaurant twice during our stay in Yogyakarta, where we were given personalised services and served great food !

We made a reservation through the Hotel's receptionist on our first day of arrival for the same evening after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. We saw at least 2 groups of people who walked-in without reservations and had to be turned away.
And sure their Ayam set menu (Tofu as appetiser, Chicken as main, Kwey teow goreng as side and goreng Pisang with ice cream) did not disappoint. In fact, the owner also shared with us his recipe to their lemongrass-ginger welcome drink, which we found it not too overwhelming and refreshing.
You will need to be patient when dining here, as their food were prepared in single portion.

We returned again for another meal on our last night in town. Made a reservation 2 days before & arrived 1st in. Might be mid-week, hence no one was turned away. Again, great food & great service ! Ordered their Chicken menu again, but with another type of cooking. Great if you like spicy food, and not to mention rich flavours !

All-in-all, it is a great place with great place. Would love to recommend to fellow travellers or anyone who love great food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wtgn_ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kesuma Restaurant also viewed

Yogyakarta, Java
Bantul, Yogyakarta
 
Sleman, Yogyakarta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing