We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta
Ranked #97 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Although this property is considered rather old compares to other business hotels in Jogja, but it is still maintained well.
Location wise, if you're a tourist and don't have your own vehicle, it is not ideally located.
The lobby for a hotel its age is not a grand affair, but it is airy at day, and well lit at night.
The room is slightly dated with old carpet, but it is clean and decent sized.
The bathroom is quite big, but it shows its age, especially the bath tub. And yes, it doesn't have a shower cubicle.
Breakfast is quite good for a four star hotel, with plenty of choices, but it might cater more to locale palete.
Free wi-fi is provided, but don't expect a fast connection in Indonesia.
Service is stand out, from receptionist to the driver who took me to the airport.
I asked the receptionist for a take away breakfast and a shuttle service at 5.30 am, and both are fulfilled on time. I even quite surprised knowing that I had Toyota Alphard just for myself taking me to the airport.
With icing on a cake service and attitude like this, it would be difficult to find a better value hotel in Jogja.
If you don't want to be in the center of it all, you won't regret to choose this old stalwart as your base in Jogja. This hotel is like my dependable old friend and thanks for the team who made my 2 night stay smooth and memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing the main road might interfere a good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palisade78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was stay during the fasting of ramadhan to attend a meeting arrangement. This quite old hotel but still clean and have a good interior. The room was oke and big enough for 2 persons. There is coffee and tea maker inside the room. I dont like the corrider since it was dark not enough light to cover. The meeting room is 1 level down from the reception but they have very good internet connection. They have some meeting rooms with various capacity and also very huge swimming pool and garden to arrange the barbeque party.
The breakfast was simple and standard but complete. You can find from the egg corner, soup corner, porridge, cereal, bread even though nasi gudeg the famous local food in yogyakarta.
But since the location is 8 km from central ( malioboro street ) it will cost you around 30.000 idr to 40.000 if you ride taxi. If you only in short visit you can buy all the local thing in the shop not far from hotel only short walk.
The hotel provide transfer from airport to hotel vv, make sure to call the hotel 1 or 2 days before you arrive and reserve it in the night before you check out. It completely free.

Room Tip: A room have a view to swimming room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masrura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budi w, Manager at Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Ms. Masrura,

Greetings from cultural & peaceful city, Yogyakarta.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your visit to Grand Quality Hotel Yogyakarta.

We are pleased to learn of your pleasant stay with us and we highly appreciated your comments relating to our hotel condition. It will be a great pleasure to share your comments with our staffs.

We have free transfer to pick up and drop to the Adisucipto airport and in certain times to down town Malioboro.

Look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to Grand Quality Hotel Yogyakarta.


Yours sincerely,

Istidjab M Danunagoro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice hotel but not in the centre. It’s close to the airport so handy for flights. Hotel is 3 star quality, could be 4 star if they do improvements. Hotel well lit at night. Large and impressive lobby but not modern. Glass lifts a plus.

Bedroom is very good size, clean but not modern.

Earthquake instruction sheet in all the rooms – makes you feel a little uneasy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rm1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budi w, Manager at Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Value Guest of Manchester, UK

Thank you for your support toward Grand Quality Hotel Yogyakarta.

We will do utmost to improve the hotel to become full 4 star. We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

stayed on business floor and have access to both business lounge and the GF breakfast lounge..24hours dimsum restaurant is quite handy..kids pool area is there although not flashy but a 50cm depth pool is safe enough..
overall no complain

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onearmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budi w, Manager at Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment and support toward Grand Quality Hotel Yogyakarta.

Your satisfaction and well-being are of most importance to us. I'll be sure to share your feedback with pool attendants and their supervisors for improvement.

We look forward to be more rewarding relationship in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

stayed here for the fifth time, and the service and the hospitality are excellent ! the chinese food was great !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agung l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budi w, Manager at Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear Mr. Agung,

Thank you very much for your honest compliments toward Grand Quality Hotel Yogyakarta.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Quality Hotel Yogyakarta in the near future.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here as part of a conference. Rooms are nice, conference facilities are pretty good. However, the chairs were murder on my back after sitting for 6-8 hours. Gym is ok, but nothing to write home about. Buffet is decent but not equal to that other similar hotels.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank DrJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Dr. Java,

Thank you very much for your review concerning our property and its facilities. As to the banquet chairs that make your back pain, we do apologize. We would also create variation of menu to make our buffet more attractive.

We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Could not have found a more pleasant place to stay where both the duty manager and the staff went out of their way to help us. I was travelling with my elderly parents mum 78 and dad 86. The thoughtful offer of a free wheelchair for mum, at no charge; allowing us to check in early at 8:00am and check out late the next day until just before our flight was most useful. Food was fantastic and breakfast was great with a serve of hot omelettes thrown in for great measure. The hotel is minutes away from the airport and about 20 min to the world heritage of Prambanan and the cost reasonable. Highly recommend this hotel to all families and those also on business.. such wonderful people, we had an army waving us a sweet goodbye as we took off in the shuttle bus to the airport ... after a great long to trip to Borobudur and the Merapi Volcano... I got a true sense of customer service, respect the wishes and really care for your customer.. Great place to stay.. highly recommend it..

Room Tip: Top two floors are executive floors and more expensive, others are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKrishnan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
#79 of 212 in Yogyakarta
202 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crystal Lotus Hotel
Crystal Lotus Hotel
#12 of 22 in Sleman
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Jayakarta Yogyakarta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
2.4 mi away
Grand Tjokro Yogyakarta
1.2 mi away
Merapi Merbabu Hotel Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. Laksda Adisucipto no. 48, Yogyakarta 55282, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $28 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GQ Hotel Yogyakarta located at the edge of Yogyakarta, only 1,5 km away from Adisucipto International Airport, a 30 minutes to the Merapi golf course, a 15 minutes drive from Prambanan Temple and 20 minutes to prime commercial and shopping districts. GQ Hotel Yogyakarta offers a whole range of international standard facilities to business and leisure travelers. It's business facilities, conference and banqueting service are organized with full attention and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing