We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Rosela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Rosela Hotel
Ranked #172 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
893 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
“Really Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for three nights as part of an Intrepid Tour through Java and Bali. I have to say, we found this to be an excellent hotel, really nice and well located.
It is on a nice, vibrant street with loads of nice bars and eateries, as nice a selection as any place we stayed in two montrhs on tour througfh S.E. Asia.
The hotel has a really nice pool but bizarrely, very few loungers which is a pity.#
The rooms are small and basic but very clean and the common areas and restaurant are pretty nice.
We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly.
Overall, I would recommend the Rosella as a really good option for a stay in Yogyakarta, we had a great time in the city and really enjoyed this hotel.
By the way, there is a brilliant Pizzeria/Italian right across the road from the hotel entrance and right next door (go right as you exit) is one of the nicest restaurants of our whole trip, Via Via - brilliant food, great live music, fantastic atmosphere.
Great option - Go for it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    20
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The reception was located at the front of the hotel, with the rooms spread out along either side of the outdoor pool. The room sizes seemed to differ quite a lot, and unfortunately our rectangular shaped room had very little space around the beds (our travel mates had much nicer rooms at the same price).

The bathroom was very old-fashioned, with old tiles and a shabby look. A knee high wall around the shower created a makeshift bathtub. The water was ice cold and dripping very slowly so we complained. They fixed the water speed but every time we wanted to shower, we still had to leave the shower running for about 10 minutes before hot water would come.
The room itself had barely any space to pray; there was a separate prayer room next to reception which had no air conditioning and was boiling hot. The pool was a reasonable size but was full of floating, dead insects. Our room was right next to the pool and it was very noisy from early in the morning. The room did not have adequate blinds or curtains so light flooded in at the crack of dawn.

A buffet breakfast was available in the hotel restaurant next to the pool. I asked for an omelette to be prepared, stating I had to leave in 15 minutes, and it took them 15 minutes to prepare this so I could not eat it. I would have appreciated it if they had at least forewarned me about the length of preparation time as I would not have ordered it then.

The hotel was well-located on a touristy street with lots of restaurants, shops, an internet cafe and a laundromat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool to avoid noise. The rooms at the very back of the hotel are huge b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

They give you a towel, your choice of orange/guava juice, and use of their pool and wi-fi for 20,000 IDR. We did this two afternoons while staying at a homestay without a pool nearby on Prawirotaman. Staff was friendly and it was quiet--we were the only ones there. Pool was deep and water was warm--recommend doing this after a hot morning visit at the temples.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel is fine! Basic rooms but the rooms are really clean. Very nice pool and garden to take a rest. The staff is very friendly and speak good English. The is situated in a very nice street with lots of nice bars en restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nienke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just thought I'd add my voice to those of previous reviewers who have written in praise of the Grand Rosela's staff, especially those on reception. The hotel is basic, the rates are reasonable, the beds are comfortable, the hot water plentiful, the pool clean and big enough to swim in and the breakfast is varied enough to satisfy asian and western tastes but it is the helpfulness and reassuring presence of the folk who work there that set the hotel apart. The staff are never too busy to offer advice and, for us, went out of their way to research train and bus schedules. They never tried to give us a hard sell on trip or transport options even though their car and driver deal is far better than those available out in the street. Walk-in rates are quoted on a poster in the lobby so everything is upfront, which we love! If only more businesses in Indonesia would do the same!The Grand Rosela is also conveniently next door to the Yogya Via Via outpost and just down the road from the improbably excellent Ministry of Coffee. We have now found our home from home in Yogya and will stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose one level up from standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonandSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011, and were welcomed by the hotel's brilliant reception staff, who helped us to arrange activities during our stay in Yogyakarta and helped us with any problems (for example, directing us to a nearby internet cafe when I needed to contact my bank in the UK)

The breakfast was average, but there was a decent choice and always plenty of food available. The hotel also served afternoon tea and cakes everyday, which was a lovely addition! The rooms were dark and the lack of a safe in the room wasn't ideal. However, the hotel's gorgeous pool area made up for the disappointing rooms.

I would say this hotel is ideal for adult backpackers, perfectly located to explore Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minicuttingblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Rose gives you an easy, quite and safe stay in busy Yogya. I would really recommend the hotel for adult travellers, not very used of travelling.

I have stayed in this hotel three times over 10 years of travelling to Indonesia. The first time I remembered the place as heaven. As backbacker on an extreme budget the really large pool, birds all over the place and the silence made a great impression. The next time I went on a shorter trip, larger budget but still loved the pool and the hotel. This time, I went on a nice, short trip, all prebooked. The place has not changed so much, which I like, but its aslo a little sad. The pool should be really clean, and the showers changed. Besides that: The hotel was the place I remembered. Cute!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gnn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Winotosastro Garden
Hotel Winotosastro Garden
#134 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlangga Hotel
Airlangga Hotel
#153 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tulips Hotel & Restaurant
Tulips Hotel & Restaurant
#100 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pandanaran Jogja
Pandanaran Jogja
#39 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#37 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#53 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Rosela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Rosela Hotel

Property: Grand Rosela Hotel
Address: Jln. Prawiritaman No. 28, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Rosela Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Grand Rosela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing