We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible...do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Merapi Hotel

Merapi Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Merapi Hotel
Ranked #321 of 462 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible...do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Had booked this place in advance based on website which made the place look fine...the photos must have been taken many many years ago!
This place was damp, rooms small, not a decent shower but one that is over a bucket deals, air con did not seem to be doing anything (it was hotter in the room than it was outside and that morning it was unusually cold), no cable tv, wifi only in lobby, generally a bit dirty...basically had nothing it said it had (like a safe!!!). We stayed in the room five minutes debating what to do before eventually deciding to find somewhere else...which we did and was only around the corner called Baldok.

Do not stay here unless you really do not care about your health!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hay13y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    10
    3
See reviews for
1
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed at Merapi Hotel because we thought we will be going on tours all day around Yogyakarta and not be at the hotel much, but it is really not worth it. Very cheap, but there are also nice other cheap options in close proximity. We booked for 2 nights over Agoda but only stayed for 1 and rather moved to Hotel 1001 Malam, there are many other nice options available. The area is prefect, so try to stay in the proximity of this area. At the price of 150 000 you can't expect much more I suppose, but if you can rather spend a little more and stay in much nice places like Setia Kawia Losmen. In the end trying to get away cheap costed us much more and left us feeling dirty and tired!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinaReiskoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yogyakarta hotels

south england
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

We settled on this hotel because we arrived late and the first five places we tried were full.
We wished we hadn't!
The staff on reception were lovely and friendly but the rooms were dreadful. We all agreed to stay one night but after a meal and drink and another look at the rooms, we all decided we just couldn't and booked into a much more expensive hotel. We didn't ask for our money back.
The rooms were small and damp, the beds were jammed up against dirty, damp walls and the bathroom was filthy and smelt.
We are used to backpacking in Asia and are not that fussy on rooms as long as they are fairly clean but this one was the worst ever.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denpasar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

This is not star hotel but, very recommended for single traveler or bring your partner
Staff understand English very well, the manager aware what we need...and give figure about jogja city...location in the central of jogjakarta city.. I suggest to call international kampoeng because so many people from around the world stay in this area.. walking distance to shopping center and alot of cheaper food

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianDenpasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.0 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#57 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
#108 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#27 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merbabu Hotel
Merbabu Hotel
#297 of 462 in Yogyakarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ameera Boutique Hotel
Ameera Boutique Hotel
#286 of 462 in Yogyakarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cabin Hotel
The Cabin Hotel
#66 of 462 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merapi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merapi Hotel

Property: Merapi Hotel
Address: Jln. Sosrowijayan no. 155, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Hotel Class:2 star — Merapi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merapi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing