We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your own pool and privacy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta
Ranked #65 of 210 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

we stayed in the silver villa for four nights last week. all the villas are located in a secure gated compound in a really nice are which makes you feel you are part of the neighborhood. it is a short safe stroll to all the sights, restaurants and bars. The silver Villa was very nicely decorated and had a good atmosphere and lovely pool and when you shut your own gate you have your own private piece of paradise. staff were helpful and the breakfast was very nice.
only downside was the bathroom could have been a little cleaner and of course the mosque is next door so be prepared to be woken up at 4am but not for long as its the shortest call to pray i have heard in all of Java!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 118 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was first time for us to travel with our 9 months baby, so we were very careful in picking up the location and the villa itself. Villa Pondok Terra, in the Gold villa met and exceeded all our expectations! It's situated in a touristic area, although it is really quiet in the villa. The villa is very spacious and nicely decorated. It has a nice pool where our daughter enjoyed "swim" in a baby swim suit. The villa also arranged a babysit service, which was very convenient to explore the near environment of the villa's, with the Kraton very close, and many art galleries, restaurants and supermarkets in the close environment. It was a big success thanks also to the very helpful personnel who were always available to help and it was sad to leave as we really loved the place!

Room Tip: If you want to have an extra bedroom, the Gold and Diamond villa's are good choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We travelled with friends and stayed in 2 villas - Silver and Gold.
Loved:
The old world charm of the place.
Tastef
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Location near restaurants and galleries.

Recommendation for improvement:
Providing shower gel and shampoo instead of just a bar of soap would have really elevated the service of the villa.

Overall a great stay and highly recommended for a different and charming experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peapod73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was a great find. Quirky and eccentric are two good words to describe it. We stayed in the Gold Villa. The interior design is a bit antique shop meets thrift shop which makes it quite charming and unique. The location - once you find it - is great for exploring Yogyakarta. Definitely take advantage of their free airport pickup or you may never get there. We came from Borobudur and even though our driver was on the phone several times with the owners of VPT we drove around in circles for a long time until the hosts finally came out on the street and waved us down. Please understand that this is a house in a local neighborhood. It is busy and noisy and wonderful. Once you get your bearings it's an easy walk into town and lots of great restaurants and bars. And where else can you get a fully equipped one bedroom house with huge garden and swimming pool for this price. It would be great for a young family exploring the area. There are a few simple little repair jobs which could/should be attended to improve the standard. But we loved it and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank memyselfandiPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our 4 nights stay in the newest villa 'bronze' and we like to go back. The villa's are situated next to a mosque (silver the closest) and despite of the Ramadan (praying in the middle of the night and early in the morning) it did not bother us very much and we found it charming: you are in Indonesia! However earplugs are very helpfull. The private pool is big enough and the villa very spacious. The mattress on the bed and sheets felt perfect so we slept very good. Concrete bed however needs some skills ;-)! Price-Quality of the villa is good! Breakfast is o.k however is plain and very simple presented. Cleanliness also fine but not spotless. In just 5 minutes walk you find some modern restaurants (f.e. kmeal with also payable French/Australian wines) and 10 minutes walk you are in Jalan Prawirotaman with a lot of modern restaurants (Easy going serves nice payable asian dishes and Hani's asian and international; ViaVia we did not try because looked very 'see and be seen'), tour offices and laundry service. Also a lot of food stalls with typical Indonesian food. The reason we do not give 4 stars is:
* we had to wait a very long time at the airport for our pick-up
* the villa bronze was new but not complete established f.e. no towel rack and minimal furnishing/inventory and felt not cosy yet (however we saw villa silver and looked complete and perfect)
* no mattresses in the sun beds and this was not comfortable (the owner promised us by e-mail next time we visit they have matresses)
* staff was very nice (we loved Roman) but did not speak English very well and were not really pro-active
* little square/entrance of the villa's and staff-area looked chaotic
After our visit I had e-mail contact with the owner and she agreed with me and told me to improve on these points (she was not around for some months). I believe she will and thats why I recommend these villa's!
and we definitely will return when we are in Yogya!

Room Tip: When you are a "light" sleeper is the silver villa (in time of Ramadan) not the best choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NataschaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the diamond villa. A very nice en complete villa, with two bedrooms, a giant bathroom (two showers), and a fully equiped kitchen. Outside there is a nice veranda and terrace and your very own swimming pool. The staff is most generous and helpfull. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be arranged in the villa, but because of the location, you can very easily walk to nearby restaurants.
It is a marvelous little resort! One little detail: because of the mosque, which is at close distance from the villas, you will hear the prayers. We stayed in Yogjakarta during ramadhan, so also at 03.00 hrs you will here the morning prayers, but as already said in other reviews, you get used to it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esther d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in the Gold Villa at this small resort. This villa is fully equiped and has 2 bedrooms which can easily house 4 persons. When you arrive at Pondok Terra you think you are in the wrong place. The villas are right in the middle of the Kampung and you think you are far away from the centre. But if you then walk for 5 minutes you find that you are actually right in the centre. This means that you can do anything you want by foot or by becak. That is a big advantage as you do not need taxis etc. You have your own swimming pool at the villa. The staff is very friendly and they can arrange breakfast, lunch or dinner for you. The villas are beatifull. The only disadvantage is that there is a mosque very close by so in the middle of the night you wake up because of the mosque, but after a while you get used to this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diederik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 210 in Yogyakarta
647 reviews
11.8 mi away
Joglo Plawang Boutique Villa
0.3 mi away
Duta Garden Hotel
Duta Garden Hotel
#36 of 210 in Yogyakarta
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
#29 of 210 in Yogyakarta
585 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa
1.4 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#14 of 210 in Yogyakarta
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta

Address: Jln. Ngadinegaran | Mantrijeron, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $78 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Pondok Terra is a beautiful villa resort consisting of 4 villa's, varaible in size for 1-5 persons and is situated in the historical centre of Yogyakarta, close to Jl. Mallioboro and in the middle of a touristic area with restaurants, moneychangers, coffeeshops, cafe's, art galleries etc. on walking distance. Pondok Terra offers 4 authentic private villa's with a traditional Javanese ambiance. Each villa has a 100-200 m2 garden and its own private swimming pool. While centrally located, the property provides a quiet, intimate hideaway in the middle of Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pondok Terra Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing