We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta
Ranked #57 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have been traveling with our family (2 adults and 2 children) through Java for a couple of weeks, before we landed at Villa Pondok Terra. We enjoyed our stay very much, and especially the private swimming pool was a treat for our children. The personnel is very nice, made us feel really at home. The location was also fantastic, in a city kampung with no traffic around, very quiet throughout our stay (except maybe from the mosque prayers which are so typical for Indonesia that you don't even take notice). The location was very strategic, as there are many supermarkets, restaurants, boutiques, and other tourist attractions on walking distance. After a couple of days we decided to extend our stay, and luckily there was still availability. One of our best hotel picks of our unforgetable holiday! Thanks to the Villa Pondok Terra team.

Room Tip: The 4 villa's of Pondok Terra are all very nice. We stayed at the Gold villa, perfect for a stay...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 111 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Looking at the pictures, we were very excited to spend our holidays at Villa Pondok Terra. We were surely not disappointed. We made the most of the place, relaxing, playing in the pool, or even kicking the balll in the garden, after visiting the wonderful temples and sceneries around Yogya. We enjoyed our lovely breakfast, sitting outside, and we would walk to restaurants in the evening. The masjid behind the villa was a bit of a surprise the first day, but then you get use to it and go back to sleep.
The staff was very helpful, and assisted us in everything we asked. Thank you !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5MMworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the villa for 5 nights and the kids enjoyed the stay throughout. Good service, good location and affordable. Mbak Wilda, Mas Adit and Mas Henju were ever so helpful and friendly. It is strategically located and convenient. Restaurants, Alfa Mart, and other provisions are within walking distance. I strongly recommend the villa for those travelling with family and small kids. The only drawback is that there is no doors to the toilet and showroom. The villa is very well kept, clean and the utensils are useable. In a nut shell, my family had enjoyed our stay at the villa and we will be back next year Insyaallah.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seletaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in the villa for one night (the others were unfortunately fully booked) and enjoyed staying at the villa. We had a two bedroom villa since we are with 2 young children. They had their own room. The villa is tastfully decorated and has good beds and is clean. Location is very convenient; close enough to all the things you need, but yet not to busy.
Only withdraw was that the airport pick up wasn't arranged properly. Nobody showed up and after a longdistance flight that is not what you want.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dambeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We thought renting a villa with a pool for the whole family in Yogyakarta would be a good idea. Indeed, it is. But not this one if you fancy a little bit of charm, cosiness and service because you will have none of those things.
The place is clean and this is the only positive thing. It is right in the middle of a maze of small and packed and noisy houses (people live outside, meet outside, watch TV outside) and you have no service at all (not even a small soap in the bathroom).
Rooms are of decent size but with no real effort for any kind of layout (white light thanks to energy saving bulbs !).
Swimming pool was out of order the first day (green water with algae) and although the person in charge tried his best, this is not the kind of water you want your kids in.
Not a very good pick !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaYogyakarta, Owner at Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Providing high value for our guests is our mission and we are truly sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations. We will change our lights to the original soft tone bulbs and soap should have been available in our villa's (standard service), and I am sure that our personnel would have been very much willing to help this provide to you. Your visit coincided with the end of the Ramadan with intense local community activities and festivities which explains the more than usual noise around our villa's (normally it is actually really quiet). Our location in a city kampung in the middle of the historic center of Yogyakarta is actually experienced by many of our guests as a major advantage as it allows a good grasp of authentic local Indonesian life, while all touristic needs (shops, supermarkets, good local/international restaurants, ATMs etc.) are on walking distance. However, my sincere apologies for the quality of the water of the swimming pool on your first day of arrival and I fully agree that this situation was not acceptable. As you mention our villa's are very clean and we really always do our utmost best to offer our guests a clean swimmingpool (we clean the water at least twice a week). Unfortunately during the week of the Ramadan festivities we ran out of swimming pool cleaner, while none of our suppliers could be reached. Although you may not have been aware of all our attempts in the back scene to resolve this (we reached out to other suppliers, hotels, even outside Yogyakarta) we have really tried everything to resolve this situation as soon as possible for you. Unfortunately your overall low score will bring us back to the middle range of hotels in Yogyakarta which is hard to accept after the past 2 years of tremendous efforts and investments to offer our guests a high quality holiday experience (as witnessed by almost all reviews). However, we also realize that this is part of the game and operating as a small scale self-owned villa resort, we will continue to strive to optimal guest experience and further improve our services and we will try our utmost best to regain our status in the top 5 ranks of Yogyakarta hotels on Tripadvisor.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Firstly, a tip! Perhaps due to the popularity of Pondok Terra on Tripadvisor, I was unable to get a villa for 3 consecutive nights. So, book early!!

For the 3rd night, I had to move to another place. It was only then that I realize what a bargain I had at Pondok Terra.

Airport pick-up was included in the price, and so was wifi and a zillion satellite TV channels (which turned out to be very essential during the nights with tropcial downpour).

If you are in the mood to cook up a storm, the kitchen has all the basic utensils and crockery.

Ms Wilda, the defacto concierge, was ever so helpful with anything from breakfast orders, restaurant recommendations, and even tour/car arrangements.

The villa was clean, spacious, private, and cosy.

I don't know Pondok is the "best" there is in Jogja, as I can only compare with one other sub-standard establishment, but I won't hesitate to recommend this to other travelers on a similar budget.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at Pondok for 4 nights. The villa was spacious, clean, and serviced by very friendly staff.

I also used their tour services, which was convenient and drivers friendly and helpful.

There is 24 hour reception and security cover, and the surrounding area felt very safe to walk. Restaurants are within an easy 5 to 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 206 in Yogyakarta
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indies Heritage Hotel
Indies Heritage Hotel
#26 of 206 in Yogyakarta
143 reviews
5.1 mi away
Alamanda Villa
Alamanda Villa
#1 of 19 in Sleman
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Joglo Plawang Boutique Villa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
#28 of 206 in Yogyakarta
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duta Garden Hotel
Duta Garden Hotel
#32 of 206 in Yogyakarta
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta

Address: Jln. Ngadinegaran | Mantrijeron, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $78 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Pondok Terra is situated in the historical centre of Yogyakarta, close to Jl. Mallioboro and in the middle of a touristic area with restaurants, moneychangers, coffeeshops, cafe's, art galleries etc. on walking distance. Pondok Terra offers 4 luxurious private villa's with a traditional Javanese ambiance. Each villa has a 200-240 m2 garden and its own private swimming pool. While centrally located, the property provides a quiet, intimate hideaway in the middle of Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pondok Terra Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing