We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, private retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta
Ranked #61 of 211 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in the Diamond villa for a week. It was a haven of tranquility (apart from all the muezzin competing over badly amplified sound systems at 4am followed by all the roosters) but we got used to it The villa is located in a kampung in the middle of nowhere - but then there doesnt't seem to be a 'somewhere in Yogyakarta. It close to a large supermarket, local traditional market, a plethora of traditional warungs and a short walk from a more touristy cafe scene. The Kraton (Sultan's palace) is a hot 30 minute stroll away( or 10 mins by local pecak ride).
The villa is spacious, reasonably well appointed - has a huge double shower, basin - area, good kitchen( though rather sparsely equipped) and a lovely big pool and outdoor area. Staff are very friendly and accommodating and can arrange drivers to all places, egBorobudur- and Prambayan Temple.
This isn't luxury living but it is very comfortable and we found it amazingly liberating and relaxing.
The only criticism is that they don't accept credit cards so trying to get enough cash out on our last night was something of a trial. Oh and there's a lack of mirrors . The only mirror is high over the basin area . For short(ish) people this was a disadvantage. Then again, Yogya isn't fashion central so who cares how you look.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tj_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 118 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed in the Silver Villa, which has its own pool, a bathtub, a double bed, breakfast on the porch, all the works.

Like other reviewers, I found Endah's communications before I arrived prompt and helpful. I was a little unsure if the Silver and Gold Villas shared a pool, as the pictures don't quite make that clear. In fact, the Silver and Gold have separate fenced-in yards; it's all very private.

We stayed for only a few nights, on a trip around Indonesia. Twice we woke up before or at the call to prayer, so that wasn't a problem for us. They say they provide earplugs, but we didn't take advantage of those. The villas are all situated in a residential neighborhood, so you get to meet the neighbors on a walk to the bigger streets.

We had nary a problem, and very much enjoyed our stay.

Two comments might better guide potential guests. First, we booked a temples trip though Rumah Guides, and very much enjoyed our guide. I asked one of the staff at Pondok Terra for a quote on a same trip, and he perhaps misunderstood me and quoted a much higher price for a generic half-day car and driver. Second, we ordered from ViaVia (delivery) and the next night went to Kedai Kebun (which is probably the closest restaurant by walking distance; just turn at Mr. Wash) and enjoyed it much more than we did ViaVia. Just be sure to ask for very spicy food.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happenstance3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in the Gold Villa for 6 days with our two young children, aged 4 and 1. Everything was perfect - the villa is tastefully decorated, very spacious, clean and comfortable. The photos on the website don't do the place justice - it is much larger and nicer in real life! The Gold Villa has, in addition to the master bedroom, another room in which the extra bed for our 4 year-old was placed (our 1 year old slept in a cot in our room). The bathroom is very spacious too, with a double shower and double washbasin.

There are 3 aircons in the Gold villa; one in the master bedroom, one in the extra room, and one in the living/dining room.We only used one at night, it cools down considerably in the evening anyway. There were a fair bit of mosquitoes though, nothing that a plug-in mosquito device won't fix though.

The Gold Villa has a kitchen with utensils so you can cook if you'd like. We only cooked once but travelling with 2 young children makes a kitchen very handy to prepare snacks etc. There is a large dining table with 6 chairs, this also makes it easy to receive guests/friends.

The pool is fantastic and a great size, especially for a private pool! I had expected it smaller. Great to cool down at the end of the day or to start your day of course. Also great with the children. Take care though when you re-enter the villa after swimming, the tiles get very slippery, as our children found out the hard way!

The staff is great, very friendly and always happy to help. There is staff available 24 hours so we also felt very safe. In the villa itself there is a safe where you can place your valuables.

We had breakfast once, it was nice, but at Rp.30,000 a person it is a bit expensive (although convenient) - it's cheaper to buy your own breakfast items and make it yourself, or just go out and buy some of the local fare - delicious!

The location is great, a short walk to the restaurants at Jl. Tirtodipuran and Prawirotaman, there is also a (small) supermarket nearby on Jl. Panjaitan, where there are several ATMs too. It's easy to catch a becak or taxi from here too. It's not far from the centre of Yogyakarta, yet you are away from the hustle and bustle of Malioboro, which is great. It is also lovely to stay in an ordinary neighbourhood, rather than in another big hotel.

The only thing that I missed was a directory in the villa, ie. with a map of the area which also outlines where you can find restaurants (there are also a few nice restaurants nearby that deliver which is a great option), as well as the services they offer. I only found out through the website after our trip the staff can assist with renting cars for tours etc. We didn't need this, as we are familiar with Yogyakarta and speak Indonesian, but I imagine it would be helpful for other visitors.

It was a great stay - Pondok Terra is beautiful and offers very good value for money. I would definitely recommend this place for travellers with families, or those who stay a bit longer, or if you just would like more space during your stay in Yogya.

Room Tip: For families, the Gold Villa as you have the option of an extra room for the children. The pool is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed in the Gold Villa for 5 months during 2011. The experience was wonderful.

First of all, we loved the location. We had our privacy and all western amenities, yet we were in the middle of a friendly Javanese neighborhood. Kids played in the streets, neighbors waved when we walked out, and all sorts of street food were readily available.

The villa itself not only had a wonderful kitchen and living/dining area, but a great bedroom and fabulous bathroom. The swimming pool was just the perfect temperature. And the internet worked really well. In fact, when we had trouble, the owners upgraded the service to make sure it met western standards.

Both owners and staff were very responsive to all our needs. They wanted to make sure that we could work and relax in the villa.

The location was terrific - near some of the best restaurants in Yogyakarta (especially K'Meals, Hani's, and Via Via) not to mention lots of great artisanal shops.

All round great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My partner and I had planned to spend a few days in Yogya back in July 2011. I spent a lot of time looking for a place to stay that was not a chain hotel, which is how i stumbled across Pondok Terra. The owner responded very efficiently to all emails and was helpful in suggesting what to do in and around Yogya.

Travelling over Chinese New Year always presents a challenge in this part of the world. While the Silver and Gold villas had already been booked, the owner offered us the recently completed Diamond villa. It was a little too big for our needs (2BR for just 2 of us) and felt very "new". I think the villa will have more character and its garden will look prettier in half a year's time.

We managed to have a look at the interior of the Silver villa -- it was very nice (reminding me of a villa we stayed in Europe) and would have been the right size for my partner and I. The garden was especially nice as the trees were fully matured -- including a big banana tree. The pool was also a decent size.

Service was very good - we felt looked after and the villa's driver (Agus) was very knowledgeable, sharing a lot of information about Yogya and surrounds on our day trips to Prambanan and Borobudor (both organized by the villa for Rp 460,000) for 6 hours/day.

The most special part of the villa is its location in the middle of a community where locals live and pray. Prayers were sung at the mosque next door, but this didn't bother us, even at 6am (admittedly i am a deep sleeper). Somehow it was quite soothing, especially around sunset. But I can imagine that not everyone will feel the same way about it.

The location was also good in that it was only a 5-10 min walk from many restaurants and amenities (ATM, local equivalent of 7/11).

Altogether good value for money.


  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This place is tucked away in the centre of a peaceful kampung in central Yogya. The private garden and pool are wonderful and the rooms are very large and filled with loads of period character.

The Medjid will ensure an early rise so probably worth considering ear plugs! Also, the location is little tricky to reach/find so it's worth getting your bearings by walking the various gangs to the main roads. Not many of the locals are aware of this place so it's a good idea to have to address handy when making bookings or arranging transport.

All that being said this place is certainly in my top few for value accommodation in Southeast Asia.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yarra64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I highly recommend Pondok Terra Villa. My friends and I needed a place to unwind and relax while exploring a historical city like Jogja. The owner of PTV allowed for us to cram into one of their spacious, luxurious, and cozy villas. It came with a beautiful kitchen, open bathroom, and a private area to enjoy oneself with good company. Very clean and wonderful staff that is very welcoming. HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 211 in Yogyakarta
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duta Garden Hotel
Duta Garden Hotel
#34 of 211 in Yogyakarta
257 reviews
11.8 mi away
Joglo Plawang Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
#28 of 211 in Yogyakarta
578 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rumah Mertua Boutique Hotel & Garden Restaurant & Spa
3.5 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta

Address: Jln. Ngadinegaran | Mantrijeron, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $74 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Pondok Terra is a beautiful villa resort consisting of 4 villa's, varaible in size for 1-5 persons and is situated in the historical centre of Yogyakarta, close to Jl. Mallioboro and in the middle of a touristic area with restaurants, moneychangers, coffeeshops, cafe's, art galleries etc. on walking distance. Pondok Terra offers 4 authentic private villa's with a traditional Javanese ambiance. Each villa has a 100-200 m2 garden and its own private swimming pool. While centrally located, the property provides a quiet, intimate hideaway in the middle of Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Pondok Terra Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pondok Terra Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing