We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a short stay”
Review of Losmen Setia Kawan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Losmen Setia Kawan
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Okay for a short stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

It was high season when we arrived and this was the only place we could find. We had room number 1 which was Ac/fan and a double bed and it was tiny! The smell from the bathroom was horrible and there was no window. Though the fact that its been painted and decorated really nicely does make the room less depressing! But for the price you can't really complain, as its only a place to sleep. But then comes the other problem: noise. The ventilation is a hole above the door, and all the rooms are centred around the common area. So if people decide to stay up drinking and being loud all night you are going to hear it! (Thankfully this only happened once) Anyone who had a problem with Bromo I think it's just pure luck whether you get a good operator or not. We booked through Perama and even though we had some insane drivers (which is expected in Indonesia) we were taken to the hotels we wanted! But all in all its okay compared to some of the other places we have stayed in Indo for a similar price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
48
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had bedbugs in our room, number 9. We reported this in the morning, and asked if we could switch rooms. The owner though, literally told us that the only solution was that we would leave and find another hotel (which isnt easy in high season). He obviously just wanted to rent out the room again and didnt want us around telling people we had bedbugs. Very unpleasant experience!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ErikandJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hostel was ok. Good location and the rooms were ok. We stayed here on two ocassions, and the second occasion we had bedbugs.
The tours they offer in the region are ok, but DON'T BOOK THE BROMO TOUR!!!

We booked the Bromo Tour at the guesthouse but it was a scam.

This is the mail we sent to the hostel regarding our experiences:

Hi,

We would like to inform you that we have a very bad feeling regarding the Bromo tour we have booked via your guesthouse.

We booked this tour after discussing the train and bus options with you. We read about the scams regarding bad buses and hotels not being booked. We discussed our concern with you and you advised the bus tour. You mentioned you only would book high quality, so we thought that this would not happen if we booked the tour via you.

When we booked the tour it got my notice that the name of the booked hotel (Sion) was not mentioned on the receipt, even though we asked to write this down. You also said Sion was a good hotel and all the rest was full. Also noted by the booking was the travel time of 11 hours in an ac bus.

I will now tell you what we got for our money!

We left Yogjakarta around 8:45 in the morning. To get all luggage in the car was quite hard. I think you should know that all travelers would bring luggage if they book a tour towards Bali. They even wanted to leave luggage behind, so we could leave!!

When we left it was still cool outside, so we did not notice that the ac was not working. Around 10 in the morning it was getting warmer. We asked the driver to turn on the ac. He stated that it was already on full power! From that point on we had to travel with the windows open to get us a little bit cool and prevent overheating.

During the trip we only stopped three times. For the 13 (!!) hours of the first part to Probolingo we only had one driver. He was driving insane, we counted three almost accidents.

Around 8 in the evening the driver told us he wanted to pick up two of his friends. There were no more places in the car. Another tourist told the driver that his friends then needed to pay us. Luckily this scarred the driver, so we could be sitting cramped just with the tourists.

At 11 in the evening we arrived in Probolingo. In a small office the program was explained to us. He mentioned that we all are staying in Cemoro Lawang, also Sion Hotel is there (!!!).
We all will be picked up at 03:30 at our hotel. I asked the guy if they are at the same time at all hotels? (Perhaps a strange question???) I know that Sion hotel was not in Cemoro Lawang, but in a small village nearby. And yes, we are all picked up at 03:30.

We continued our drive to Cemoro Lawang with a new driver. We stopped at a nearby supermarket to get some drinks. When we continued we noticed that the driver also got a drink, namely a beer!!! (In our country this is illegal. I don't know for Indonesia.)
He was also driving insane on the roads. Chasing motors at 70 miles an hour with just 1 meter of space between them. For fun he also turned off his lights on the narrow hill road up, almost crashing into a motorbike.
When we arrived in Cemoro Lawang, around 00:30 at night (so after 16 hours !!!) we were dropped off at a different hotel!!!
The driver told us that they got complaints regarding Sion hotel and that this hotel is better. Strange, because this is the first time we heard this. You also didn't tell us that, as well as in the office in Probolingo. We didn't want to stay here and almost got in a fight with the driver. We told him this was just another Indonesian scam. It was also clear to us that you didn't even book the room for us. At Sion they only had a triple room available for a different couple which needed to pay 500000 for this room.
When the driver threatened to us that if we not wanted to stay at his hotel he would not pick us up in the morning for the sunset. So we just didn't had an option than to stay in this hotel.

After the sunset tour which was also not very special, we got back to the hotel. After the simple breakfast we had to leave in an open pick car back to Probolingo, so not by mini bus as stated on the booking form.

Luckily for us we were dropped of at Sion Hotel to start a new tour which (luckely for us) we didn't booked via you.

All in all we assume you knew all this. That is why the name of the hotel is not on the receipt we got from you. You convinced us the train was no good option even though we preferred because the tours in the region we booked with you were ok. You also mentioned that Sion hotel is good, but we wonder if you have ever brought visitors to Sion hotel. Also the 16 hours travel time and the ac bus should have been known by you.

We have a really bad feeling of the booked tour and wasted a lot of money (yes for foreigners this is also a lot of money)

But perhaps it is just one big misunderstanding???

We are very interested in your vision.

P.s. Did you already get rit off the bed bugs in room 8?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeroen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Small rooms, but they are very clean and well taken care off. Paid Rp.185,000 for the standard room with AC and private bathroom- no hot water. It was much better than I expected for the money. I was there with my wife and son (3 years old). My son slept on an extra bed on the floor and we slept in the bed. It was tight but everyone slept great, the AC worked fine, and the walls are thick enough to shelter the noise coming from other rooms or in the lobby (at least in our experience, our room was #3 which was far enough away from the lobby that we couldn't hear any noise coming from there). Only issue is a pet bird on the roof that chatters constantly starting at about 6am. He does not stop and it is tough to sleep through, not sure if other rooms can hear him. The bird is pretty amazing, really, with his mocking of all sounds and calls for "mama mama mama."

We speak Indonesian and had many conversations with all the staff. They were friendly enough and we felt safe. Would stay again if we needed a cheap place to stay close to Malioboro.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Rp 170,000 for a AC double with ensuite western toilet and cold shower, free Internet (wifi and computers) and breakfast. I felt the your prices were good and can walk to major attractions or hop on TransYogya AC bus service from the main drag to the airport or other further afield attractions for 7000Rp a journey. We did this from the bus terminal on arrival and was nice to find when walking away from some eyebrow raising prices from the taxi drivers refusing to go on the meter.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jezmhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place is awesome - the rooms are clean, fresh and thoughtfully decorated. It's got a perfect location in a quiet, but popular, alleyway - 2 minutes from the train station and 2 minutes from Yogya's main road.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and the owner (a local artist) has painted the entire place to make it look good. I arrived in the middle of the night and as they were fully booked and I had no reservation, they let me sleep on the sofa until a room became available.
The whole place is spacious and cozy but my favourite place was on one of the two roof terraces. The complimentary breakfast was great and free tea and coffee throughout the day is a big plus too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very good quality price ratio. Located in the heart of Jogja, it allows you to feel the city. Staff was friendly and helpfull.
TV, free tea and coffee was available in common rooms, as well as internet stations.
All rooms and common rooms display arts created by the owner.
The common rooms are a place to meet with the owner, staff and others guests. People still smoke but I was told they restricted the smoking area (tv room close to the rooms was smoke free). Anyway, we are non smokers and dealt with it easily because the common rooms are very open to the outside.

Breakfeast was good

Room Tip: Do not expect a classic hotel! This place is original and has its own vibe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#31 of 204 in Yogyakarta
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bladok Losmen
Bladok Losmen
#11 of 487 in Yogyakarta
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
#4 of 244 in Yogyakarta
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Andrea Hotel
Andrea Hotel
#19 of 487 in Yogyakarta
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Losmen Fadel
Losmen Fadel
#203 of 487 in Yogyakarta
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pyrenees Jogja Hotel
Pyrenees Jogja Hotel
#49 of 487 in Yogyakarta
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Losmen Setia Kawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Losmen Setia Kawan

Property: Losmen Setia Kawan
Address: Jln. Sosrowijayan 58A | Jl. Sosrowijayan Wetan GT I/58A, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lokasi losmen setia kawan dari stasiun kereta tugu bisa ditempuh jalan kaki 5 menit, 100 meter jarak dari stasiun tugu. Dari bandara international adi sucipto sekitar 15 km. dan jarak ke jl. malioboro hanya 100 m. Letak ini sungguh strategis, dan akses transportasi mudah di dapat. Losmen terletak ditengah gang ( jalan kecil ) sehingga kondisinya tenang untuk istirahat. Kamarnya full artistic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Losmen Setia Kawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Setia Kawan Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing