We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lovely staff”
Review of Cakra Kusuma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cakra Kusuma Hotel
Ranked #168 of 210 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We used the Cakra Kusuma as a base for exploring the surrounding areas. It cost around Rp 45,000 in a taxo from the airport so wasn't too far away. We arrived fairly late in the evening, so we were pleased with the swift and friendly check in. We even managed to book an early take away breakfast, as we were being picked up at 3:30am.

The rooms were fairly basic, but clean and well maintained. The bathrooms were however really quite dated and the shower was almost painfully cold. Sure fire way to wake you up at 3am though! Our breakfast was delivered to our rooms in a box. Unfortunately, this was a half cooked piece of toast covered in sugary jam and chocolate sprinkles. Pretty horrible. But never mind.

The breakfast on our second day, served in the very pleasant restaurant area was a different story entirely. A nice selection of fruit, omlettes, toast, and hot Indonesian breakfast items were available and delicious.

The pool area was small but clean and pleasant.

I had a massage in the spa, which was lovely for the first forty minutes, but I felt sullied when he tried to massage me in the breast area, so just be aware of this. When I told him not to, he did something else non-intrusive, but still, I don't really want to be put in that position.

The price was very reasonable for the quality of the hotel. There were a couple of downsides though. Firstly, the location is not very convenient for the nicer areas of Yogja. If you are there sightseeing, it probably isn't the best choice. Secondly, the bar area didn't seem to be open, and even when we hovered here, passing staff just said hello and moved on. The walls were very thin, and I could hear anything going on outside and next door. Not a major problem as it was fairly quiet, but if the hotel had have been busy, this would have been a larger annoyance.

If you want to be close to the university, this is perfect.

Room Tip: I imagine one of the first floor rooms overlooking the pool or bar area would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 132 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

My first impression was the hotel front staff were very friendly, and their English very good. It seemed very few "Westerners" choose to stay here, but my brother and I (both in our 50's) were happy with our stay here. We arrived in Jogya by train, and CK was not far from there, only about Rp30 000. Our room was near the restaurant, & was a decent size, cleaned each day, with a small fridge and free tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom may be small for some but is was fine for us. Although located on a busy road, we were never affected by loud noises (except for the "toke", a small lizard-like animal that seemed to call out for mates in the night!) Breakfast was incredible, so many choices, and a complimentary afternoon tea on offer. My brother, a vegan, was impressed as it was served with corn and sweet potato, not the usual cakes! Plenty of places on the road out from the hotel to get laundry done cheaply and quickly, all types of eating from upmarket Western style to warung.
The only downside was lack of wifi use in the rooms-only available in the lobby.
Some people may not like the location but it is in the UGM area which suited us. Easy to get anywhere by taxi (dependent on traffic conditions) and ordered very quickly by reception staff.
I initially booked 3 nights online, then decided to stay a couple more and was advised to also book again online. rather than at the reception. We only stayed one more as the price doubled...it was the day before Christmas. So went elsewhere. But we did enjoy our stay at CK.

Room Tip: Our room near the restaurant was further away from the main road, but still close to the pool. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geromam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Was traveling to Yogjakarta and stayed in Cakra Kusuma Hotel, which was located in the city district surrounded by many enmities like restaurants. So you have many food choices to try if you want to experience variety. The hotel room is simply furnished (need improvement) but their service staff and hospitality make up for the short-coming. It has a small pool enough for relaxation and a breakfast spread that is delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I like this hotel,because the location is good and nice for vacation with family...the hotel have a pool and delicious breakfast....i recommended this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank HARRY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Kusuma is tucked away in a quiet corner of a busy area. It's close to the airport, which is handy for those getting to Jogja late or leaving early. At the rates we paid, it was superb value for money. It's a bit far from Malioboro, the "touristy centre", but a taxi will get you there for something like 6 US$.

They have a good restaurant, and there's a good local food joint called Food Fest five minutes away.

The only problems we had were with the transport options that we took. First the hotel seemed to say that our airport pickup was not included in the price, while the terms from Agoda were clear that it was. We asked them to double check, and after a few rounds of discussion we were not charged. The pickup was not on time. We hired a vehicle to go to Borobodur, Merapi and Prambaman. Everything was fine with the trip, except that we got to know a bit late that the entry fee to the two temples was quite a bit - more than the cost of the vehicle and the driver for the day.

Overall, it was still hard to be angry with the staff - they were polite, responsive and very warm. Service is generally good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshishKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights here and though it is a nice hotel, great location (jalan kaliurang) and quiet....i was dissapointed in their service especially during check in as I had to wait a very long time to get the room ready though they know we arrived early (because of the flight timing).....other than that, they have a quiet little massage and spa place which we enjoyed...breakfast was good....a good variety and not the same things on any of the three days....overall a nice stay but they should definitely improve on their service and upgrade their rooms....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We went there last week with kids
It is a not bad hotel with nice pool, quite far fr the main city
Kids love the pool
We like the breakfast
Staffs and even security are nice
Room amenities are standard but hot shower is terrific!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiahNirwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Cakra Kembang Hotel
Cakra Kembang Hotel
#14 of 20 in Depok
55 reviews
4.2 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#65 of 210 in Yogyakarta
240 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paku Mas Hotel
Paku Mas Hotel
#9 of 20 in Depok
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#90 of 210 in Yogyakarta
147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puri Artha Hotel
Puri Artha Hotel
#57 of 210 in Yogyakarta
243 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#82 of 210 in Yogyakarta
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cakra Kusuma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cakra Kusuma Hotel

Address: Km 5.2 Jl. Kaliurang No. 25, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 210 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $19 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cakra Kusuma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smart and Friendly traditioal hotel located near by UGM the popular University in Jogja Indonesia, consist of 70 rooms incl. suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Cakra Kusuma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing