We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and friendly staff”
Review of Abadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abadi Hotel
Ranked #97 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good room and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Abadi hotel is located in the middle of pasar kembang in Yogyakarta. The hotels has very friendly staff to assist you with whatever you need. The pool is quite small for everyone staying in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was such a treat most especially it featured native Indonesian dished from appetizers to desserts. The bed was very comfortable that made my sleep like a baby. Welcome drinks are served upon arrival. The comfort rooms are clean as well. The weakness of this hotel besides the really small pool, are the areas surrounding it, which includes some slum areas, as well as a very noisy public transport area. At times you can also hear some rooms playing traditional music which is quite disturbing when one is trying to get a good night sleep. Overall, It is an ok place to stay but if there's more options then it's better.

Room Tip: Stroll around the areas surrounding the hotel if looking for cheap meals Choose the rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherwinology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    32
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
15
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Me and fellows working partners stayed here about two weeks a go for a business and leisure trips. The hotel is located right in front of the train station. The hotel itself is quite good in my opinion, and the location is quite strategic because it is located near malioboro street. The lobby is simple and moderate and the staffs were friendly and helpful. The size of the room is not big but not small either. Big and comfy enough for two adults sharing the room.

If you stay in this hotel, try to ask for rooms not facing the train station. Due to its location in front of train station, you can hear noises from train arrival-departure announcements. The rooms in the new building (main building) are nice and quite new.

The buffet breakfast was standard and average. Not too many options though the standard breakfast menu; white bread and its condiments, cereal, bubur ayam (chicken congee), etc were available. The only downfall is due to its location also. There is a famous prostitution alley, Pasar Kembang, behind the hotel. And one of the entrance alley is just a few meters from the hotel. There are many pimps hang out around the street offering people passing by their "service"

Overall, I still like this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herichan_dua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is the worst hotel i ever stayed in my whole life!

The positive points are the location and breakfast. But maybe i have to change my idea of the breakfast. There were a lot of variatys BUT ive you had a terrible stay and had a lot of cockroach visits im doubting if the kitchen was clean in this case!!!!

A cockroach is one of the most disgusting and non hygienic creatures in the world. If you have a problem with these bugs in your hotel you really doing something wrong! And they did! The room i stayed in was terrible!! Really terrible! i dont want to over react but i stay in a standard room. The bathroom was old, iron parts were rusty, shower curtain was full of fungus and stains. The furnuture in the room was old and not maintained well. Like a little paintjob can do the truc but some were even covert wit fungus.

We found 1 cockroach when we just got in the room the first time. It was between the towel!! That made us buy a can of anti bug spray. THe second day we came home from a great trip around Yogja and we found a dead cockroach on the bathroom sink.

The next day the same story ...we found again 1 cockroach. But the worst experience is on my last day. I was sleeping and woke up at 4 o clock in the morning. I felt something crawling over my legs. And of course it was my little friend the cockroach./.... SO disgusting! i couldn't sleep!!

And the vieuw outside our window was terrible. WE looked in on the ''small'' like alley of the hotel. So the hotel property. Its was filled with trash and old funuture. And they dident even cover it up. Just left it like that. OMG

DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL ITS REALLY BAD!!!!!!
And second... i will never TRUST or BOOK with AGODA.COM AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!! The foto`s arent real and the hotel blaim Agoda for that and explained that no one from agoda ever visit the hotel for research !!!

Room Tip: If you want a good room you should book an other hotel instead of the Abadi COCKROACH hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Win L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yogyakarta hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here one night toward the end of January 2012.

The hotel is in a convenient location, about five to ten minutes' walk from the train station, which is more or less across the road on the southern side.

This turned out to be a pitfall, however, since although our third-floor room was largely sheltered from the sunlight and outside, station announcements and the tune player for departing trains were very audible more or less 24/7.

The room itself smelt and felt damp when we walked in, although the beds and decor were good. Rooms across the hallway in the main wing looked to be a little better. We were given mineral water and glasses.

The bathroom was less pleasant. For some reason there was a urinal cake in the shower area which gave off a rather pungent smell. Our room, towards the western end of the hotel, had poor water pressure and no hot water.

Breakfast was adequate - the usual selection of fruits Indonesian dishes, although the mango juice tasted a little bizarre. Western-style toast was available.

I wouldn't stay here again, given the choice of other hotels in the area, especially the more quiet places along Jl. Sosrowijayan and it's gangs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timg231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed one night end of October. Payed IDR 450.000 for the Standard Twin bed Room, including breakfast and Tax (low season price).

Pros:
Good location
Clean room, good beds although a bit small for singles
Good aircon
Welcome strange tea mix drink
Nice staff, helpful

Breakfast was neutral, neither good nor bad.

Cons:
Had a problem with hot water not working the whole night. Had to wait the morning for a hot shower.
Outside the room, in the hotel, there is no aircon
No discount offered for our water problem (which i still consider a big issue)

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the station/main street or it might be noisy. We were sleeping on the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Testerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

if you are looking for a hotel very close to Tugu station, then this hotel is the most fitting choice, is directly opposite the old station exit, you can find this hotel
generally quite satisfactory service with the standard three-star hotel, rooms are adequate, although the bathroom is too small.
breakfast at the eternal is a wonderful thing, with a variety of menu options typical jogja
for those who love to shop can walk about five minutes, it will meet with malioboro.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room facing on pasar kembang street, it has better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andra_gogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The standard rooms are not great as they are in a older part of the hotel. The beds were ok. There is a television. The main negative about the room was that the bathroom was smelly due to, we guess, lack of usage. The staff was very helpful, friendly and acted upon our request to deal with the bathroom smell. Housekeeping improved the smell but it remained noticeable. There is free wifi in the lobby.

The included breakfast had plenty of choice, especially indonesian style foods. The continental breakfast was good enough (toast, mini-breads, cereal, and yoghurt)

Due to the location, it's next to the train station, there is quite a bit of noise during the evening and night. Also airplanes fly over regularly, but this would be noticeable at most hotels in the center.
The superior rooms seemed to be a bit better and larger from a few glances we got.

Room Tip: I would recommend to take a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristofvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Istana Batik Ratna Hotel
Istana Batik Ratna Hotel
#177 of 204 in Yogyakarta
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima In Hotel Malioboro
Prima In Hotel Malioboro
#81 of 204 in Yogyakarta
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#19 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#30 of 204 in Yogyakarta
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#33 of 204 in Yogyakarta
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
#49 of 204 in Yogyakarta
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadi Hotel

Property: Abadi Hotel
Address: Jl. Pasar Kembang no. 49, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing