We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COCKROACH HOTEL !!!!”
Review of Abadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abadi Hotel
Ranked #97 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is the worst hotel i ever stayed in my whole life!

The positive points are the location and breakfast. But maybe i have to change my idea of the breakfast. There were a lot of variatys BUT ive you had a terrible stay and had a lot of cockroach visits im doubting if the kitchen was clean in this case!!!!

A cockroach is one of the most disgusting and non hygienic creatures in the world. If you have a problem with these bugs in your hotel you really doing something wrong! And they did! The room i stayed in was terrible!! Really terrible! i dont want to over react but i stay in a standard room. The bathroom was old, iron parts were rusty, shower curtain was full of fungus and stains. The furnuture in the room was old and not maintained well. Like a little paintjob can do the truc but some were even covert wit fungus.

We found 1 cockroach when we just got in the room the first time. It was between the towel!! That made us buy a can of anti bug spray. THe second day we came home from a great trip around Yogja and we found a dead cockroach on the bathroom sink.

The next day the same story ...we found again 1 cockroach. But the worst experience is on my last day. I was sleeping and woke up at 4 o clock in the morning. I felt something crawling over my legs. And of course it was my little friend the cockroach./.... SO disgusting! i couldn't sleep!!

And the vieuw outside our window was terrible. WE looked in on the ''small'' like alley of the hotel. So the hotel property. Its was filled with trash and old funuture. And they dident even cover it up. Just left it like that. OMG

DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL ITS REALLY BAD!!!!!!
And second... i will never TRUST or BOOK with AGODA.COM AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!! The foto`s arent real and the hotel blaim Agoda for that and explained that no one from agoda ever visit the hotel for research !!!

Room Tip: If you want a good room you should book an other hotel instead of the Abadi COCKROACH hotel!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Win L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Abadi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 99 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here one night toward the end of January 2012.

The hotel is in a convenient location, about five to ten minutes' walk from the train station, which is more or less across the road on the southern side.

This turned out to be a pitfall, however, since although our third-floor room was largely sheltered from the sunlight and outside, station announcements and the tune player for departing trains were very audible more or less 24/7.

The room itself smelt and felt damp when we walked in, although the beds and decor were good. Rooms across the hallway in the main wing looked to be a little better. We were given mineral water and glasses.

The bathroom was less pleasant. For some reason there was a urinal cake in the shower area which gave off a rather pungent smell. Our room, towards the western end of the hotel, had poor water pressure and no hot water.

Breakfast was adequate - the usual selection of fruits Indonesian dishes, although the mango juice tasted a little bizarre. Western-style toast was available.

I wouldn't stay here again, given the choice of other hotels in the area, especially the more quiet places along Jl. Sosrowijayan and it's gangs.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timg231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed one night end of October. Payed IDR 450.000 for the Standard Twin bed Room, including breakfast and Tax (low season price).

Pros:
Good location
Clean room, good beds although a bit small for singles
Good aircon
Welcome strange tea mix drink
Nice staff, helpful

Breakfast was neutral, neither good nor bad.

Cons:
Had a problem with hot water not working the whole night. Had to wait the morning for a hot shower.
Outside the room, in the hotel, there is no aircon
No discount offered for our water problem (which i still consider a big issue)

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the station/main street or it might be noisy. We were sleeping on the pool...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Testerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

if you are looking for a hotel very close to Tugu station, then this hotel is the most fitting choice, is directly opposite the old station exit, you can find this hotel
generally quite satisfactory service with the standard three-star hotel, rooms are adequate, although the bathroom is too small.
breakfast at the eternal is a wonderful thing, with a variety of menu options typical jogja
for those who love to shop can walk about five minutes, it will meet with malioboro.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room facing on pasar kembang street, it has better view
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Andra_gogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The standard rooms are not great as they are in a older part of the hotel. The beds were ok. There is a television. The main negative about the room was that the bathroom was smelly due to, we guess, lack of usage. The staff was very helpful, friendly and acted upon our request to deal with the bathroom smell. Housekeeping improved the smell but it remained noticeable. There is free wifi in the lobby.

The included breakfast had plenty of choice, especially indonesian style foods. The continental breakfast was good enough (toast, mini-breads, cereal, and yoghurt)

Due to the location, it's next to the train station, there is quite a bit of noise during the evening and night. Also airplanes fly over regularly, but this would be noticeable at most hotels in the center.
The superior rooms seemed to be a bit better and larger from a few glances we got.

Room Tip: I would recommend to take a superior room
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristofvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel was really pleasant to stay at, with good room appliances and nice staff.

The breakfast is really outstanding, when compared to indonesian standards.

The location is nice, and the proximity of the train station is not really disturbing if you're not easily awakened. (Sometimes trains signal can be heard in the middle of the night, but it's quite unfrequent).

The district is pleasant, though very crowded with motorbikes and cars.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room in the main building, not in the appendix, as it can be
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backpacker666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We spent three nights at the Abadi Hotel in Yogya and highly recommend this hotel. The Abadi Yogya is a great place to stay. The hotel and rooms are clean and well appointed. We had adjoining rooms so that the children were close by and together (yet not) with us. The breakfast in the on-site restaurant is very good with a wide selection. The swimming pool is a nice break after a hot summer day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler8888818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Gowongan Inn
Gowongan Inn
#115 of 206 in Yogyakarta
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
LPP Convention Hotel
LPP Convention Hotel
#175 of 206 in Yogyakarta
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#23 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Istana Batik Ratna Hotel
Istana Batik Ratna Hotel
#182 of 206 in Yogyakarta
128 reviews
3.4 mi away
LPP Garden Hotel
LPP Garden Hotel
#15 of 20 in Depok
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima In Hotel Malioboro
Prima In Hotel Malioboro
#87 of 206 in Yogyakarta
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadi Hotel

Address: Jl. Pasar Kembang no. 49, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $32 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Abadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing