We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but........”
Review of Abadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abadi Hotel
Ranked #97 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Seremban, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Location but........”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

we won't be returning anytime soon. Stayed a total of 3 nights in April 2011.

The hotel is located close to Malioboro Street (Batik galore!) and is just across the road from the railway station which is a plus point if you are using the trains but the announcements from the loudspeakers can be annoying for those whose room is facing the road. There is also a Matahari Department store in Malioboro Street.

We stayed in a very basic standard room with air con, attached bathroom (very small) with hot and cold shower, no wifi (we were told we need to pay another USD10 to upgrade to Superior Room in order to get wifi), no fridge, no kettle, no in-room safe and no hair dryer. Our room is dirty and not well maintained. We do get 2 bottles of drinking water everyday. With a few mosques a street away, the daily morning call to prayer at 4:30am is loud and clear. Good thing we are quite use to this and is able to go back to sleep. The breakfast in the only restaurant in the hotel is acceptable with coffee, tea, juice, bread, salad, fresh fruits and local dishes. However one can order for eggs (cooked any style) from the kitchen. There's also a small pool accessible through the restaurant however we didn't use it.

There's a bunch of Becha (Pedicab) lined up in front of the hotel for short excursions but we didn't use them as we prefer to walk. The best cure for tired legs is to visit a massage center call Kakiku (My Legs, how apt!) close by. Turn left after exiting from the hotel and then hang another left at the traffic lights. Its about 50 meters from the lights on the left side of the road. There are 2 shops of the same name side by side - choose the one with air con even though it costs slightly more as the set up is more comfortable.

As for ATM, there's a row of them from different banks on the right side after exiting the hotel and a convenient store a few meters up the street on the way to Malioboro.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKYSeremban_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    32
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
15
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed in hotel six nights. I booked and paid this hotel via Agoda and when came -it was at 1 a.m. I didn't have printed payment list (I spend 3 days at Bromo and I didn't have chance to print) and they said to me that I can only pay room again and they can't help me and they don't have internet acces. This was a lie. I travel a lot and this is the most disorganized hotel ever. The staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. Breakfast was ok the best I had in Indonesia. In the bathroom I found cockroaches. Room was clean. I was very disappointed and I would never stay again in this hotel.
We stayed six nights in this hotel and they should provide us cheap or free transport to airport but when I asked for transport they said that it is possible only for 85.000 rupiah but normal price for taxi was 45.000 rupiah. I think the hotel is not good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Book 2 nites through Agoda, twin room with extra bed. 2 days prior arr date had called the hotel and they confirmed " everything has been arranged" as per my agoda voucher. They also informing check in time at 2 pm.
Arrive at the hotel at 14.15, the rooms was not ready, wait for another 30 minutes.
To my surprise, extra bed was not there, and informed will be set up later. BTW receptionist was wrongly handed us with only two BF voucher which she then apologize politely after being reminded.

We went out from the hotel that late afternoon to give a chance for them set up the extra bed.
Unfortunately when we came back at 8 pm, still didn't set up yet. I made another call to reception which she said will be set up right away. To my surprise, HK staff who set it up didn't know if our room need extra bed (we confirm this on our reservation two days in advance). Something wrong with the Communication there...

No effort has been put for a slight service recovery. Even our request for late Co until 2 pm wasn't honored.

All staff were very polite and humble....though.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We booked 4 rooms for our holidays with our friends on Mid February 2011. We choose this hotel because positive reviews with other Tripadvisor members.

Everything was only just Basic standard including the Breakfast. Even one of friends room was no water at all in the bathroom in the last day of our stay.

The hotel getting tired and need improvement especially there are many hotels on that area with better offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
consettgashead
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We were impressed from the moment we entered the hotel. It was clean and smart, with friendly helpful staff and we were impressed with the style and quality of our rooms. Breakfasts were the best we got anywhere in Indonesia and the swimming pool was clear as glass.

Yogya is a great centre, too. With two world class temples at Borobodur and Prambanan in easy reach, and the Kraton (Sultan's Palace) in the city there's no shortage of culture and history. We also loved the night climb of volcanic Mt. Merapi to watch the sun rise in the company of our wiry, sure footed and delightful guide.

There's just one snag. The Abadi is almost next to the railway station. Before each train enters or leaves the staion there is a full set of Westmisnster chimes. Or two, or on one memorable occasion FIVE! Then a loudspeaker announces full details, and this goes on all through the day and all through the night.

Fortunately we're not light sleepers, but if you are and you plan to use the Abadi, take ear-plugs. If you can live with that, the Abadi will not let you down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consettgashead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samarinda
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I found these facts during our stay:
1. Clean Swimming pool. Not too big, but pretty comfortable for toddler.
2. Many, many choice for Food on breakfast. You can find many kinds of porridge, cake, noodles, fruit, juice, meat, etc. Each in Indonesian & western style. And very tasty! nyum, nyum..
3. The Room. It was a little bit too standart for a deluxe room. There was no painting, or any decoration element. The bathroom was only shower-type, but pretty clean and had much hot water!
4. The Location. is Perfect!! You will be in the central of Yogya if tou stay in this Hotel. You can walk to shop on the famous Malioboro Street, or reach another tourism point by pedicab, andong (horse pedicab), or bus & taxi with low fare.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericAKIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We walked in and were pleasantly suprised. The location was great. Close to Marloboro street for shopping, across the street from the train station. The staff was very nice and accomodating. The room was great....clean, good layout.....great bathroom and shower. Pool area was small but very nice. Breakfast buffet in the morning was nice....everything a person needs. We are going to stay at the Abadi Hotel in Jambi because of this experience. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenaeLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkt_abadi, Public Relation at Abadi Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
On behalf of the Abadi Hotel Jogja, I would like to say a big thank to Renae for choosing Abadi Hotel Jogja during the visit to jogja. Thank you also for recommending us to others. We would be delighted to have you back anytime in the future.
"Abadi Hotel Jogja is a place for a Good Business and Leisure"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Istana Batik Ratna Hotel
Istana Batik Ratna Hotel
#178 of 204 in Yogyakarta
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima In Hotel Malioboro
Prima In Hotel Malioboro
#81 of 204 in Yogyakarta
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#19 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#31 of 204 in Yogyakarta
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#33 of 204 in Yogyakarta
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
#47 of 204 in Yogyakarta
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadi Hotel

Property: Abadi Hotel
Address: Jl. Pasar Kembang no. 49, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing