We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underperforming and not hygenic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adya Nalendra Boutique Hotel
Ranked #123 of 521 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2009

The hotel is new and just on his way to find out how to operate. Staff is less trained and therefore many hygienic deficiencies are obvious. No restaurant and no real service so far. Complicated procedures and high administration. Less flexibility in any regard: transport, breakfast, laundry etc, is low standard service.

Location is nice and quiet. Staff is very friendly but unexperienced.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJakarta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2009

Tucked away inside a housing area, this is truly a hidden gem. At first sight the vicinity looks boring, but open your eyes and go for a walk. The small lanes that zig zag past the front and back yards of the locals. In this area, the very poor live alongside the very rich (whose houses look bigger than this hotel).

Getting around could be a daunting task at first as the hotel do not have any transport service at all, but the staff will be more than happy to walk to the nearest restaurant if you asked.

And the nearest restaurant, which is only a minute walk away, is a western style steakhouse called R&B Grille. It served some of the best steaks I've ever had anywhere, to my surprise and delight. Pretty cheap too considering the cuts of meat on offer.
They serve vegetarian pasta dishes too if you are a herbivore.

Eating at the road side warongs nearby (whether along the main road of Sangaji or hidden within the housing area) are an exciting experience (even though the cuisine of Yogya is largely boring and all seem to be serving the same things). One late night we found a well dressed lady (complete with tradtional wear and make up) sitting on somebody's front door making satay. Locals come here for very late night snacks.

Watch out for her local language's accent and slangs, which I could not understand despite being a very fluent speaker of the malay language (which is very similiar to bahasa indonesia).

Still on the topic of food, the hotel staff will present to youat night with a multiple choice question type of card on your breakfast preference for the following morning. Mostly on offer are local dishes. The nasi gudeg they serve is one of the better ones I've had (but I only travelled around central Java for a week). I wished I asked where they do their morning shopping for take aways.

Being a very new hotel (one year according to some locals), no taxi and only one or two becak (trishaw) waits outside. In fact very few taxi drivers even know of this place or the street its on (it's really well hidden) so it is best to tell them to head towards Jalan Monginsidi.

But why take a taxi (or a trishaw) when you can walk towards the Tugu monument in less than 10 minutes and then down to Malioboro for shopping in another 10 minutes? Explore the back lanes for the shortest route. It's a safe area.

The rooms are all grandly named (we stayed in 'borobudur' and next door was 'mendut'), but are mostly smaller than the ones we saw in online. I guess space is a premium in a converted mansion. Otherwise the room we stayed in was comfortable and clean.

The overall design and look of the hotel is supposed to be an infusion of chinese and local (in this case javanese) art and craft. From where I come from we call it Peranakan. But in this place this design subscription is really just a veneer. Have fun with the fishes in the central courtyard which dominates much of the place.

When we checked in they told us that there would be a surcharge of 20% because it was a peak period for them. But for the first 2 nights of 3 we felt like we were the only guests around. Or maybe the place just offered a kind of illusory peace and quiet.

I mean, you don't get harrassed by becak drivers at all, like at the other hotel we stayed at in this city.

And the staff are friendly and spot on!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macplastik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abhie_mh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fumeematsura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank toniondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank nuryanto28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nurrul z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.6 mi away
Duta Garden Hotel
Duta Garden Hotel
#32 of 212 in Yogyakarta
257 reviews
2.3 mi away
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
#54 of 212 in Yogyakarta
118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tickle Hotel
Tickle Hotel
#121 of 212 in Yogyakarta
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Andelis Homestay
Andelis Homestay
#4 of 521 in Yogyakarta
204 reviews
2.8 mi away
Delta Home Stay
Delta Home Stay
#29 of 521 in Yogyakarta
150 reviews
2.8 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#65 of 212 in Yogyakarta
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adya Nalendra Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adya Nalendra Boutique Hotel

Address: Jln. Trimargo Kulon 9A | Yogyakata, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $16 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adya Nalendra Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Adya Nalendra Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing