We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet staff, super coffee, great street!”
Review of Ministry of Coffee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ministry of Coffee
Ranked #63 of 511 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I chose Ministry of Coffee based on the name (and good trip advisor reviews) alone, but I'm glad we stayed there! Jl. Prawirotaman is the place to be, apparently--so many great restaurants on that street, including ViaVia (don't miss it!)

The staff were all SO incredibly sweet, kind & capable--they get 10 stars all the way! Breakfast was GREAT and big; and they really did have an early take-away breakfast for you if you're headed out, starting at 4 a.m. (so many hotels say they do that and then fail to deliver or give you something pretty gross. The quiche is outstanding!) So thoughtful & caring, truly.

The room was average, good size, ok view (we were on top floor). I slept very very well, in spite of the cacophony of mosques around (which I enjoy, but do know there is a VERY, VERY loud one close by. Comically loud.) How do I put this... the shower sucked. It went between scalding hot and freezing cold with very little middle ground; plus, it was nearly impossible to turn the water completely off, and even when you did, sometimes the pipes would decide to sing (had to get up twice at 2 a.m. to fiddle with the shower knobs to stop the screeching noise). That really needs to be addressed!

The other food I tried was very good, too. If you're a coffee drinker (or a whipped cream lover!) they have some FANTASTIC drinks! They have a full library upstairs which is nice, too. I will say that I wish they banned smoking inside and only had people smoke in the outdoor area. A few more fans in the main area would help with that (and the temperature, too).

Wifi doesn't work in the rooms--know this. And it's only decent internet, if that is important to you.

You should definitely stay in this immediate area, and MoC isn't a bad choice. Definitely eat at ViaVia and make your way down to Milas vegetarian restaurant, too (3 streets south).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QiDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 84 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

To start, everyone who works at this hotel/coffee house is incredibly nice. That said, so is everyone in Yogyakarta...

The coffee house is big and pleasant. Many options for coffee drinkers. There is no non-smoking section so it was difficult at times to escape the many smokers in the coffee house.

HOTEL review: The rooms were fine. The a/c worked well. The shower plumbing in room "TK" needs some attention. The wifi did not work in our room but there was a strong/fast signal in the coffee house. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. There are many mosques around but the closest/loudest mosque was (thankfully) always short. Our room was only on the 2nd floor (or 3rd depending on how you define it) but the floors are very tall so it was the equivalent of walking to the 4th floor. Not a problem--gave us needed exercise.

The street/location is FANTASTIC. There are many good food options [go to Via Via (about 50 meters away) and Milas (amazing vegetarian restaurant about 500 meters around the corner). There are other hotel options that may be a better value than Ministry of Coffee but you could do worse...

If they fix the plumbing in room TK and had a good wifi signal to the rooms, I would easily give this a 4-star review (or higher).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stumbled upon the Ministry of Coffee after some frantic searching for accommodation in Yogya (it was over the New Year period, so rooms seemed to be in quite short supply) and couldn't have been any happier. The room was basic but very comfortable and clean and had a great view of the garden (I stayed in a regular room). The bathroom was clean and the hot water consistent. What made the stay outstanding, though, was the breakfast - all the options we tried were fantastic (and came in enormous portions), and the coffee, naturally, was excellent. The cafe also includes a library, which was a great place to read and relax in between sightseeing. The service was beyond reproach - the staff let us join them on the roof on New Year's Eve to watch the fireworks going off all around the city and went out of their way to fulfill just about every one of our requests - they even helped us find an old friend in the city, and lent us money when we first arrived to pay our cab when we couldn't find our rupiah! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nxdat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

First of all, this name "Ministry of Coffee" is very attractive for all coffee love, isnt it?
I just decided to stay here because of this name.

Room: Stdanderd room is quite standard actually. I am afraid that this class rooms are little bit small for 2 people. There are shampoo, bathsoap, bottled mineral wate, TV, air-con and hot shower. Hair dryer is available on your demand.
Location: Very good. There are some restaurants, cafe, money excanging stand, convinence store, landury near this guesthouse. There are lot of Becak and Motor taxi.
Service: Breakfast is included, you can choose what you want from menu. Besides if you leave early morning, they prepare boxed breakfast with take out coffee. Staffs are pretty helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomo0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed there for 2nights in the single standard room. I loved it from the moment I stepped in it. The room was just right with the tv, tea/coffee maker, complimentary bottle of water and batik slippers! Other excellent service from the hotel is the library area -which has lots of various choices of books to read- , free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast -you can choose to pack it up or eat in- and it is located in Prawirotaman 1, which is an awesome street full of restaurants, a really good bakery shop, and other hotels/B&B/hostels in the area.
Will definitely recommend people to stay here because it is also located quite near to the Keraton (Sultan's palace) and Malioboro street, which you can travel by becak and only takes 5 minutes to get there.

Room Tip: I was recommended by a friend about the place before who mentioned the best rooms are on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP_Bexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel place three times. The first was back in 2008 and the second in November 2013, both for short holiday trips. A nice ambience, homey atmosphere, and friendly staff. They only have 8 rooms, all unnumbered and named by type of coffee. If you needspace, choose the deluxe rooms on the left side. Others are sort of minimalist, but still comfortable, considering that a room is just a place to sleep. They have a nice living room to sit, chat, and have coffee, and a reading room on the mezzanine and free wi-fi. The food is nice, both Western and Indonesian. Dont expect anything too fancy. This time I travelled to Yogya for work, and being tired of staying at 4- or 5-star hotels, I decided to stay here again and have no regrets.

Room Tip: If you prefer more space, choose the deluxe rooms on the left side (there are only two). The other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny-Yatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We only stayed one night before an early flight.
Location is good, wake up call perfect, packed early breakfast to take away was a great idea.
Our room needed repairs. Main door was hard to open, door to "balcony" was difficult to open and close, shower area was a bit grotty (all basic maintenance issues that may be resolved by now). Internet connection was dodgy but we were downstairs only a few metres from reception.

Staff were very friendly and most helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2XKiwisTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 207 in Yogyakarta
993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandanaran Jogja
Pandanaran Jogja
#42 of 207 in Yogyakarta
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agung Inn
Agung Inn
#69 of 511 in Yogyakarta
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#3 of 511 in Yogyakarta
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eclipse Hotel
Eclipse Hotel
#15 of 511 in Yogyakarta
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indah Palace
Hotel Indah Palace
#53 of 511 in Yogyakarta
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ministry of Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ministry of Coffee

Address: Jln. Prawiritaman 15a, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 511 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $34 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front Look of Ministry of Coffee Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ministry Of Coffee Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing