We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very nice welcome in jogja”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ministry of Coffee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ministry of Coffee
Ranked #56 of 463 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“a very nice welcome in jogja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Location: prawirotaman area, nice backpackers street with lots of restaurants, accommodation and tour offices to choose from. CONVENIENT, you can just walk to sultan's palace or take the becak

Accommodation: this is more like a b&b than a hotel. my room was nice and clean. the staff were very helpful. when you need to head out very early in the morning, they will pack a breakfast for you. if you are lazy to head out to eat, they serve food in their downstairs coffee shop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nasmej11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
43
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jeju, South Korea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place started as a coffeeshop alone, but now has the complete package of rooms too. Me and my travel partner arrived there after 7am. The helpful security guy let us store our bags behind the desk and by 8am we were in our room. The room was clean and with all the basic facilities. My old Lonely Planet book said the food here was so-so. I disagree... all the food I tried here was great... included the fantastic choice of free breakfast sets. Naturally they have an impressive range of coffees too.
The staff are friendly yet unassuming. They called a taxi for us on checkout.
Overall, I was very comfortable here.
Finally, it's in the more southerly hotel/ restaurant street (not beside Marloboro Street) but certainly not far away from the main sights.

Room Tip: I think they have just 8 rooms, so might be better to book ahead. I'm sure all the rooms will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddyirishman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Ministry of Coffee has a charming set-up: with the reception being more of a cafe than a stodgy check-in desk, with the rooms located in the back. The rooms are small and spare but nice, with comfy beds and linens provided, as well as a safe for your valuables and a door/window and fan to keep things cool. They'll pack a to-go breakfast for you if you are waking up early to go to Borobudur (which is great at 4am and totally worth waking up early before) and the street it's on is quiet and nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_A_Moc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean, comfortable and air-conditioned. The staffs were really friendly. We needed to wake up early (around 4 - 5am) on both mornings and it was wonderful that the hotel was able to arrange a beautifully packed breakfast for us. We could even choose from their packed breakfast menu!
The surrounding is cosy and comforting. A homely place to stay a night in after a tiring day of travelling.
The tiny drawback is that the Wifi only works well in the reception area.
But overall, it's truly a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice hotel, very clean, new and nice coffee. In a good tourist location. Nice to have a western style bathroom after some weeks travelling in Indonesia. Very good value for money. The staff were friendly enough although seemed to have a lot of rules? The food menu was too westernised and not very good. Would have been good to have some more Indonesian dish options. Really good English library. Breakfasts good but too much food! Good value option.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms come with DVD and good movie selection at the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night and got up early for Borobudur-you don't need an alarm clock as the mosque beside it gets going at 4:20AM. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. The A/C works great and you can't argue with the price. It would be a challenge to stay here if you have huge bags as the staircase is narrow and the basic room is a bit small. I would stay here again. I did not experience the restaurant but appreciated the packed breakfast to take on my trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulrebel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
1,118 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This name is little new to me, so decided to book it for three nights stay. A Reasonable priced (with breakfast) Small hotel with few rooms: so each room has a name of it and not number. It has a library(Books and videos), Prayer room, Free WiFi, and a nice small garden like sitting area for food. If you want to go early for tour, they will give take-away breakfast.
They need to improve upon furniture, which seems to be old and ........
.
Very nice location: most of the hotels in Yogyakarta are around. Nearby plenty number of restaurants are located, offering all kind of food. The famous attraction in the town : 'Kraton' (Kings Palace and museum) is just three kilometers away. The famous streets Jalan A. Yani and Jl. Malioboro are further down from Kraton. So a one dollar Becak ride will take you to these places.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room if you are not a early riser because the Mosque loud-speakers at 5am will wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajnishPathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duta Garden Hotel
Duta Garden Hotel
#33 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indies Heritage Hotel
Indies Heritage Hotel
#23 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Putra Jaya Guest House
Putra Jaya Guest House
#89 of 463 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sartika Homestay
Sartika Homestay
#151 of 463 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirana Hotel
Kirana Hotel
#205 of 463 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ministry of Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ministry of Coffee

Property: Ministry of Coffee
Address: Jln. Prawiritaman 15a, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 463 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front Look of Ministry of Coffee Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ministry of Coffee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ministry Of Coffee Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing