We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and charming”
Review of Ministry of Coffee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ministry of Coffee
Ranked #62 of 503 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here while we visited Jokja and really enjoyed it. I think we were here for about 3 nights total and its in a great location. There provide a great breakfast every morning, free wifi, there's a tv in each room (nothing in english though) and there is a nice spa across the street. The nicest thing was our flight left really early in the morning and typically breakfast starts much later BUT they woke up early and had a take away breakfast ready for us with hot coffee. It was like 5:30 AM! The hospitality they showed was better than anywhere else and I HIGHLY recommend them!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnandalyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Ministry of Coffee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 84 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

Very nice and cosy atmosphere. We usually would have a meal at viavia and then head to Ministry of Coffee for one of their delicious coffee or shake, along with a sweet dessert. It was a very welcoming atmosphere, encouraging us to stay for sometimes 2 hours reading and enjoying it !

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank genlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is a nice & quiet place, but you better avoid the downstairs rooms that are dark , a bit mushy and more expensive. Upstairs you get a sunny balcony and also a room safe and you pay less too! The bathroom lights are like in a vault - that definitely needs to be changed! There´s WiFi and a PC with Internet but without working CD/DVD drive, webcam or micro for 4.500 rp/hour. Every hour you need a new password too, which is a bit inconvenient. The library is very helpful. Food is ok but not great - avoid coz there are plenty of restaurants nextby.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellin_nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We turned up after booking months in advance after reading all the good things people have said in here. We arrived to a luke warm welcome and paid a one night deposit. When shown to our 'deluxe' Java room it was incredibly damp and unventilated, and tiny. Quite literally it stank. They had internet (which took some time for them to get working) and we investigated somewhere else to stay straight away. After reading ktelontour's review I went down to see the Eclipse hotel. For less than $10 more the room was superb. Spacious clean and much better value for money. They have a pool, and their staff were so much more accommodating from the minute we walked through the door. WE didn't get our deposit back from the Ministry of Coffee, but it seemed a small price to pay to stay somewhere SO much better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OzzyTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

The location of the Ministry of Coffee is excellent. In the heart of the Jl Prawirotaman area of Yogya on the same road as some really good budget restaurants. It is just about within walking distance of Jl Malioboro - if it's not too hot to walk around! Quiet setting, above the large coffee shop, with refreshing features like a fountain and small balconies for the rooms. Around the corner there are loads of laundrettes and food stalls and an Indomarket 2 minutes walk away.

The room was overall a bit small, but it was well decorated and the ensuite bathroom was big enough. For a few days this place is big enough. Coffee and tea making facilities, A/C, free wifi and TV all in the room too. The balcony is a real treat.

We chose this place from the Lonely Planet and found their description of the food to be totally wrong! They must have polished up their cake & dessert making skills as the chocolate mousse was amazing and so unexpected in this part of the world! The breakfast choices were great and big portions too. I had cereals (albeit with odd milk!) for the first time in SE Asia here! My partner had the banana pancakes twice and both times couldn't finish them - to his disappointment!

The staff were quiet, attentive and very polite.

As well as being a cool place to stay, the downstairs coffee shop is a great quiet place to chill out away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Yogya. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mlinaqetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is a nice place... actually that would be perfect with a swimming pool... and the price would be normal... as the rooms are spotless, the lobby is nice, breakfast really good, and yes, there is really good coffee!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuentinRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed here last year on a trip from Singapore.
Lovely little hotel, nice layout. Rooms were very clean and well presented.
Staff very friendly.
Opposite is a place to drink civet coffee (Kopi Luwak), definitely worth it for a fiver.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goaty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Indies Heritage Hotel
Indies Heritage Hotel
#28 of 205 in Yogyakarta
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandanaran Jogja
Pandanaran Jogja
#42 of 205 in Yogyakarta
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agung Inn
Agung Inn
#90 of 503 in Yogyakarta
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#3 of 503 in Yogyakarta
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indah Palace
Hotel Indah Palace
#55 of 503 in Yogyakarta
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eclipse Hotel
Eclipse Hotel
#14 of 503 in Yogyakarta
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ministry of Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ministry of Coffee

Address: Jln. Prawiritaman 15a, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $34 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front Look of Ministry of Coffee Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ministry Of Coffee Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing