We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget homestay!”
Review of Wisma Ary's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wisma Ary's
Ranked #116 of 494 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good budget homestay!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stay 2 nights with good breakfast. ooms are reasonable for short stay but litle bit dark because the ceiling is covered with bamboo. Nothing to complain for the price with good location and excellent service provided for touring around the city, to Borobudur, Prambanan and Merapi Volcano. Tere are good restaurants near the guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Roadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
17
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was a fine location, nothing but a short taxi ride away from everything, the breakfast was really nice, the bathroom was insane and the beds were comfy. However there was little to no lighting in the bedrooms and the Mosque is insanely loud at about 4am, it literally felt as if there was a man in my room screaming at me, thats how loud and clear it is. Even my friends who go into the deepest of sleeps were shaken wide awake from the loud noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC12491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked Wisma Ary's because the place looked interesting but I wouldn't say it was anymore than ordinary. The rooms were okay but too dark and had a lot of mosquitos in them and the breakfast was very basic. The bathrooms are interesting but the bath would be hazardous for anyone with fragile bones.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed 6 nights. Loved the garden and staff. Room was quiet enough at night (second floor). Bed was firm and large (I'm tall). Nice communal verandas facing lovely garden with each room getting a love seat and a table of hot water, tea bags and coffee. Four dislikes with 2nd floor rooms. Bad lighting for evening reading. No ceiling fans yet the high ceiling rooms on second floor beg for them - this leaves you with choice of A/C or open to sleep (there are quite a few mosquitoes in Yogya). Owner you could save some money on A/C! Rooms have solid dark brick interior walls for about 12 feet then I think woven rattan up to the ceiling - result is you can hear your neighbors quite clearly. Artistic (?) bathroom design may be attractive to some with a taste for the different but the bathtub/shower is downright dangerous for even the agile to get in and out off when wet. Bathroom is small, awkward and unhygienic (those trippy walls are hard for the staff to keep clean!). Breakfast is passable but tiresome for longer than a couple of days - but staff will rustle you up something if you go out very early for a trip somewhere. Agus on the desk was a magician at organizing trips further afield and the prices were reasonable for Yogya. There is much to see ancient ruin-wise other than the big two sites. The Wisma Ary's location is fine for walking or bejaking to the Kraton, Water Palace and the lovely local neighborhoods that surround them. Two good restaurants (Kedai Kebun and Bu Ageng - walk to your right outside the hotel) and a Dutch owned coffee house (JL - walk to the left) are within a 5 minute stroll. The main tourist enclave with many more restaurants and shops is a 15 to 20 minute stroll to the right along a very busy street with no sidewalks (the norm in Yogya). All in all, for the price and location this is an ok place for a few nights.

Room Tip: Second floor on left faces the street which is noisy until evening but has better breeze. On right y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RheaGray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed at Wisma Ary's in June 2012, I got to know about it through tripadvisor and I took the chance to book one single room there. I was quite surprised by the quality of service and facilities offered by them. My room was airconditioned, with single comfortable bed and free in room wifi access. Each room would have a couch, tea and coffee facilities outside. Breakfast was great and each day a different menu.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temple_Raider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Good location. Loved the balcony looking over the gardens. Five minute walk and your out in the mad city lovely to come back to the calmness. Room was lovely and big although Im still not sure about the bathroom art! Unfortunately I have no photos. Breakfast was nice, staff were very friendly and helpful. Place was lovely and clean. Small bit expensive I thought.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carltonblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Lovely bungalows around a shady courtyard filled with tropical plants and fountains. Room was a bit gloomy and smelled a little of the kind of damp you get from dodgy aircon, but it was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathroom is definitely quirky - it looks as if it's designed by someone who's worked on the Coney Island ghost train or 1950s B-movie sets,as it's designed to look like some kind of jungle cave, with a climb-in shower like a crocodile pit, brown/ green lumpy textured walls and a design round the mirror with eyes and teeth. Breakfast is not up to much - some lightly done toast with jam, and a chopped-up omelette, but the fresh fruit is excellent.

Good location for walking to the Kraton or Prawirotaman - and Via Via nearby is highly recommended for excellent Indonesian and Western food (and they understand vegetarian & vegan) in a chilled-out atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melita666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#71 of 206 in Yogyakarta
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#3 of 494 in Yogyakarta
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Venezia Garden
Venezia Garden
#14 of 259 in Yogyakarta
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wayang Homestay
The Wayang Homestay
#7 of 494 in Yogyakarta
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
OstiC House
OstiC House
#4 of 259 in Yogyakarta
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bunk Bed and Breakfast
Bunk Bed and Breakfast
#158 of 494 in Yogyakarta
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisma Ary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisma Ary's

Property: Wisma Ary's
Address: Jln. Suryodiningratan 29, Yogyakarta 55141, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 494 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Wisma Ary's 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisma Arys Hotel Located in the heart of Jogjakarta,It is Easy for us to get to the interesting tourist destinations of the city,It's Exclusive architecture expresses the high quality of art. our room price included tax and breakfast. With facility. AC,TV,Hot Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wisma Ary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing