We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in the area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mercury Guest House
Ranked #211 of 511 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having stayed one night at Via Via - they were booked up the next night - I spent a couple of hours walking around all the guesthouses in the area and the Mercury was the cheapest available and much better value than any others, I stayed 2 nights here.

The staff were friendly, breakfast was fine, hot water was very hot, room was spacious and clean - plus I slept better here than anywhere else in Indonesia - didn't have any problems with the noise - I was in room 9 halfway towards the back.

The garden & breakfast area is peaceful with plenty of seating and the wifi was as good as anywhere else.

I didn't have any problems that other people seem to have had and this would be my first choice if I'm ever back in Yogyakarta

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Javanese guest house with good value and service. The staff very helpfull and friendly. The location in backpacker area, aound traditional market and you can see Javanese atmosphere. You can try free Indonesia nasi goreng at breakfast time. Mercury is my favorite guest house in Jogja :)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eka p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a terrible hotel. They refused me and my friend to stay even though we had a reservation through Agoda. This was at 4am after a exhausting bus journey. When we said we had a reservation the staff were dismissive and when asked if any guests would check to allow us to stay they refused to tell us. Staff need serious lessons on customer service and basic decency

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling-darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The first night we stayed here our room was in the courtyard, had two twin beds instead of one large bed (even though we had made our reservation three months before), a small stationary fan that couldn’t really cool the room. Walls in desperate need of cleaning, grit on the floor. And because the courtyard is close to the street we heard noise all night long.

The second day we switched rooms to a room in the back. This was much better. The room had more ventilation and a rotating fan. Much quieter over night.

Breakfast is included in the price. Breakfast consisted of some kind of rice each day (the garlic rice one morning was amazing!), toast, butter, jam, coffee or tea. They would also make any kind of egg you wanted, for a small charge.

Mercury Guest House is owned by the same people who run the more expensive Wisma Gajah Guesthouse around the corner. Because of this, guests at Mercury can use the pool at Wisma. The two properties are connected through the back. The pool was a great treat after long days of temple viewing.

Great flush toilets, toilet paper supplied, towels supplied. Their “hot” water was not very hot, but it wasn’t ice cold either.

We paid 145.000 RP (about $14)/night.

We had read the reviews about guests being robbed while staying here, so we were careful not to leave anything lying around. We had no problems at all with things missing from the room or our bags. Neither did the friends we were traveling with, or the two other families we became friendly with during our time there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyouandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

2 years ago one of the staff had stolen my laptop. Because the police came I got my laptop back. This year somebody entered my room, opened my locked suitcase and stole my money. The owner of the guesthouse said it was my problem. He didn't want to call the police because if he did he had to pay them.
I left and will never be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
5  Thank hans k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Booked this hotel at the last minute through booking.com. The room including breakfast was only just over £10 a night so wasn't really expecting too much. But, the room was clean, spacious and perfectly presentable. The bed linen was freshly laundered and with clean towels on the beds. Large fan in the room which was all we needed as had laready acclimatised to the climate, having come there from Bali. Bathroom was a fair enough size with shower (which unfortunately didn't work) We didn't bother mentioning it to staff as were only staying one night. The staff however were very friendly and helpful and I have no doubt in my mind that this problem would have been rectified had we told them. Breakfast was fine and free wifi in the hotel too. Lovely pool but no sunbeds. Location is good, with bars all around the area. Not really in walking distance to Maliboro street as it's probably a good half hour walk and the temperatures when we were there were extremely hot. However, there are lots of rickshaws around eager for a fare and they are very cheap. People in Jogya are very friendly and eager to help tourists, so the location really isn't a problem. All in all a great hotel for a stop over to visit Borobudur.

Room Tip: I was told in advance from a review I had read to ask for a room at the back as it is quieter and aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anmariekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Probably during cleaning the room the personel searched our bags and get some notes of dollars, euro's and Malaysian money. We were very disappointed because we found out at the airport and we had a pleasent stay at the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chickZwolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.9 mi away
Luwabica Art'n Coffee House
Luwabica Art'n Coffee House
#29 of 511 in Yogyakarta
20 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Soemarsono Hotel
The Soemarsono Hotel
#243 of 511 in Yogyakarta
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
3DI Backpacker Guesthouse
3DI Backpacker Guesthouse
#229 of 511 in Yogyakarta
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bunk Bed and Breakfast
Bunk Bed and Breakfast
#133 of 511 in Yogyakarta
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ndalem Mantrigawen
Ndalem Mantrigawen
#57 of 511 in Yogyakarta
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamboo bamboo home stay
Bamboo bamboo home stay
#12 of 511 in Yogyakarta
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Guest House

Address: Jln. Gerilya 595, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 511 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $10 - $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Mercury Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing