We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merapi Volcano

Merapi Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Full-Day Merapi Volcano and Jomblang Cave Tour by Jeep from Yogyakarta
Ranked #2 of 231 things to do in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jakarta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We did not rent a jeep or bike to go up but instead we chose to hike along the trail. it is around 0.7km hike where you can take a much closer picture of the volcano.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yu Chun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    607
    168
    41
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Merapi Trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The view is breathtaking. After the eruption in 2010, the environment wasnt perfectly healed. It was like desert. There were lots of left over from the eruption that destroy almost everything and everyone in merapi. The trip can be taken by jeep or motor trail. Sands were everywhere, you should be careful if using motor trail.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank faldy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“marvelous mount merapi”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Mt Merapi is a must visit for nature and adventure lovers. Its easily approachable by car or taxi. You need to be lucky to see the peak free of cloud. We missed the view of thre peak but enjoyed the drive on 4wd cars across the 2010 volcano devasted village. If u are going for half a day trip pls go to the base camp and hire a guided jeep(IDR 250000) OR bike from (50000) and witness the brute force of mother nature. If u r adventure crazy plan a trecking trip to the peak. Its worth the effort. After all one do not get the opportunity to experience active volcano very often.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deba_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If there's time, do go to Merapi volcano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The locals are very friendly. We took a ride on the motorbike and visited the affected area. You could also visit the areas by jeep but we settled for the motorbikes. But again, in Jogja, where ever you go, be prepared to pay for fees. Nothing is free.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank adekmohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A vocano visit is memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We walked up the slopes, rather than take the motorbike or jeep tour, which was more peaceful. The volcano was clouded in so we couldn't see the peak until the next day. The local people were so pleasant and shared their stories of their evacuation during the last eruption.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArezzoNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merapi Volcano also viewed

 

Been to Merapi Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing