We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious midnight culinary trip!”
Review of Gudeg Pawon

Gudeg Pawon
Ranked #63 of 1,139 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious midnight culinary trip!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I found this place through a review on the internet. Had some trouble finding it due to the change of the street name from Jalan Janturan to Jalan Jendral Soepomo. Thanks God it was worth the search!
Gudeg Pawon is literally a traditional javanese back-kitchen of its owner's tiny little house. It is open from 11PM. You have to be there on time because by the time it's 1AM everything is (most likely) sold out. Don't expect ambiance, because the owner didn't bother to add any. Again I emphasize, it is literally a kitchen. They only put mats, simple chairs and one long table outside. Those who don't get the table must sit on the floor, terrace, or on the bed (which is in the kitchen!). No menus or choices of foods. It's only gudeg.
Be ready to queue, because there is no other shortcut than the one-long-queue-line. The rice is still cooked in traditional way on the fire made from natural woods which i believe made it more tasty. The portion is very generous, the price is quite reasonable. The taste is so delicious you would forget all the waiting and searching. For me it's less sweet than any other gudeg in Yogyakarta (which is so much better). Be careful of the chili, they can burn your tongue.
Drinking water is for free in this place.
This warung is now managed by the second generation. Despite of its modesty, this place has been visited and reviewed by many national newspapers and TVs. Try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigihrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    17
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Must try in Yogyakarta!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

i was once--and would twice visit this simple and homy restaurant. The taste was really home-made gudeg, just like no other. The price was not so high, even this simple restaurant only open at 11.00 PM-02.00 AM, the place never out of buyers, this would be a perfect midnight snack or super-late-dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marvinsulistio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth to wait ~ worth to back”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

After Michael Learn To Rock concert in Jogja, me, my sister and her friend, the three of us were looking for jogja's famous cuisine 'gudeg pawon'. The place was very crowded, at eleven p.m we began to take the line. We take the order directly from kitchen that's why they called it pawon, it has the same meaning as kitchen.
I hope they use more people to serve the food so we can take the order faster. After about 45 minutes finally I take the order. It was raining so hard so I decided to eat in the hotel. I don't really like sweet food, usually gudeg as specialty food in jogja has sweet taste, but for people who don't really stand with sweet food like me, this one you should try, because it has a good taste, not too sweet and memorable. For you who want a traditional food that very worth to try and worth too back just go there and feel the different. ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itanakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“homy and personal”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

this site is one of my favorite site in Jogja, one best Gudeg in Jogja. what i like from this site is it's very personla, you came to the kitchen and choose your food. great taste, great experiences.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KuntzAgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gudeg Pawon at midnight”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Visited again on 5 June 2012 around slightly past midnight but most of the chicken meat was already sold out. Nonetheless it was still good. Go between opening time (2230h) and before midnight if you want the good stuff. They sell out pretty quick :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kianster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gudeg Pawon also viewed

 
Yogyakarta, Java
 

Been to Gudeg Pawon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing