We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonably good”
Review of ViaVia

ViaVia
Ranked #9 of 1,203 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“reasonably good”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

very friendly staff, english spoken by everone, knowledgeable about the local food. nice setting on the top floor with a pleasant breeze in the evening, free wifi. the food itself, however, pretty average and rather bland - seemed kind of ok, until I tried other places, where I got to experience the real, strong flavours; relatively small portions, main dish brought on the table before appetizers, etc... ate there three times, as it was close to my hotel, would otherwise revisit other places

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank potujem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    652
    206
    58
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yum!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

i ate sate lilit and nasi goreng when i came there with my aunt for a late lunch. the sate lilit tasted goooood! well yes the menu was a bit pricy compare to other local eatery in Yogya, but worth enough. for me, the food here is a good escape from Yogya's common sweet taste food choices. the cozy friendly ambience there was nice :)

don't forget to drop by their bakery on the shop next to the restaurant. lovely homemade bread ♥

Helpful?
Thank mialmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Tasty, friendly and fun”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I'm a little embarrassed to admit that I ate here three times over a four day trip. I couldn't stay away! The restaurant has a relaxed friendly vibe, an excellent menu with a big range of food and drink, free wi-fi and some of the nicest staff around.

The prices are really reasonable, especially for the service and quality you receive - roughly 20,000 Rupiah for a cold drink (try the chocolate milkshake) and 25,000-60,000 for a meal. There is a good selection of vegetarian options and special Indonesian meals that rotate daily. I tried the vegetable salad with goats' cheese, vegetarian burger and mackerel with lime butter. I highly recommend the fish. The accompanying chips and mayo are also delicious.

All taxi drivers know this place so it's very easy to get to. Check out their Fairtrade shop next door, tours, yoga classes at 9am and 6pm (book the day before) and the bakery (which makes excellent chocolate cake).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CountryHopper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good good good food”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Loved the food... In case you are tired of Indonesian cooking this place is a must visit. They also conduct walks and tours of the village and food..
Must do and it is highly suggested by the locals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruchiraruchira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casa
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“had a lovely meal”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had a lovely meal here on the recommendation of a couple I met while on a tour. This restaurant taught me to fall in love with tempeh while in INdonesia. While perhaps a bit more expensive than other places in Yogya, it is still dirt cheap compared with Western prices, and certainly cheaper than other places I ate. Do check out the attached gift shop for locally produced handicrafts.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inasianow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ViaVia also viewed

 
Sleman, Yogyakarta
 

Been to ViaVia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing