We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect treat for lovely friends”

Sailendra Restaurant JW Marriott Jakarta
Ranked #38 of 7,673 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sailendra Restaurant features seven different open kitchens which include tandoori, satay, noodle, sushi, pizza, roast duck, pasta and Thai food, a western-local combination kitchen, a bakery and patisserie with lounge area, and walk-in wine cellar. Dessert buffet features Lindt chocolate in all products using chocolate, crepes station and New Zealand ice cream. The open kitchen concept allows guests to interact with the chefs and have a first-hand look at how their dishes are prepared. It also gives guest an opportunity to explore their appetite in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.The elegant furnishings, grand marble floor and granite countertops are never intrusive or intimidating. Sailendra employs large windows and warmly lit interiors to resonate an intimate and inviting atmosphere. Coupled with warm and fun service, hustle and bustle of the busy outlet as well as alive and fun ambiance, Sailendra offers its guests an experience to be remembered. Sailendra serves a large variety of local and international favorites. The buffet is a popular choice and always a sell-out item at the restaurant. Wood-fired pizza is something to look out for, while a wide variety of authentic local dishes are also available, including dishes such as sop buntut, mie ayam (chicken noodle), chicken rice, laksa, and nasi goreng (fried rice). For those who prefer to stay seated and do with less walking, an enticing a la carte is also available. All dishes, both buffet and a la carte, are prepared with the best quality produce and presented in a fun yet modern style.
Thailand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“perfect treat for lovely friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

we booked a table for a party of 14, it's really a special treat as the price 385000IDR p pax for the dinner buffet is not that cheap but it was really worth it, a relaxed athmosphere, cooking and serving stations everywhere so no lining up and the food is always freshly prepared while you wait.
A wonderful international selection, different asian styles, european, a steak counter,
nothing left to wish for and softdrinks free flow,
just great and a wonderful elegant but cozy setting

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    77
    46
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“does not meet my expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've just had lunch here for the first time few days ago. I received a gift certificate for 2 pax-the reason I had lunch here. So, this November has Amazing Thailand theme. My comments are - taste does not meet my expectation. For the price - if you have to pay - the taste is a big NO. Not only Thai food but almost overall. The good one from the buffet is ice cream, cheese cake, bean porridge and Indian (this explains why many Indians come here). Well, cold shrimp is also good, the 6 different sauces are awesome.

They really need to upgrade the taste here. Services are top notch. Staff are very nice and helpful. View - well, not many to see.

If I have to pay, sure I would choose any other buffet. I can say, the buffet in JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur does serve better in term of taste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sailendra168, Director of Food & Beverage at Sailendra Restaurant JW Marriott Jakarta, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Mrs. Ikmar

Thank you for visiting Sailendra Restaurant JW Marriott Jakarta

On be half of the management of JW Marriott Jakarta, allow me to apologize for unpleasant experience during the time you dine at Sailendra Restaurant

We will re-look into this matter and make sure that will not occur in the future.
Mrs. Ikmar, thank you for your constructive feed back and only with your comments we can serve our guests better.

We certainly look forward of more opportunities to extend our gracious Marriott Hospitality to you and your guests in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Gert Paul Beuchel I Food & Beverage I JW Marriott Hotel Jakarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High point of my stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was looking forward to returning to the Jakarta J. W. Marriott but unfortunately, my hotel stay was not up to the usual high standards i had previously experienced. After I spoke with one of the Asst. Front Office Managers things changed for the better and I once again was pleased with the service. However a constant of high quality and excellent attention was found daily at the Sailendra Restaurant Breakfast Buffet. Everyone, from the wait staff to the Chef and even the Food and Beverage Director are concentrated on making sure their guests are happy; conversing and even busing the dirty plates. The food choice is enormous, from the myriad fresh juices assortment to the different ethnic dishes and efficient and pleasant "egg and noodle girl's" offerings. Dieters will want to beware of the young man passing through the restaurant and offering chocolate croissants fresh from the oven.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PapiRiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

i had my breakfast here,really good food & they have good selection of bread & salad.and its good for family coz they have a kids playground.good service & not high priced for a great restaurant in five star hotels.will come back soon..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robin i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depok
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Coffeeshop in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I came to this restaurants at weekend with my family and it was an amazing experience i've had.
This restaurants really has a good ambiance, best service and amazing delicious kinds of food.
It was also fun because this restaurant have a playground so that my kids can play while parents are having brunch :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fitrie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailendra Restaurant JW Marriott Jakarta also viewed

 

Been to Sailendra Restaurant JW Marriott Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing