We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so buffet resto”

Sailendra Restaurant JW Marriott Jakarta
Ranked #14 of 8,352 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Sailendra Restaurant features seven different open kitchens which include tandoori, satay, noodle, sushi, pizza, roast duck, pasta and Thai food, a western-local combination kitchen, a bakery and patisserie with lounge area, and walk-in wine cellar. Dessert buffet features Lindt chocolate in all products using chocolate, crepes station and New Zealand ice cream. The open kitchen concept allows guests to interact with the chefs and have a first-hand look at how their dishes are prepared. It also gives guest an opportunity to explore their appetite in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.The elegant furnishings, grand marble floor and granite countertops are never intrusive or intimidating. Sailendra employs large windows and warmly lit interiors to resonate an intimate and inviting atmosphere. Coupled with warm and fun service, hustle and bustle of the busy outlet as well as alive and fun ambiance, Sailendra offers its guests an experience to be remembered. Sailendra serves a large variety of local and international favorites. The buffet is a popular choice and always a sell-out item at the restaurant. Wood-fired pizza is something to look out for, while a wide variety of authentic local dishes are also available, including dishes such as sop buntut, mie ayam (chicken noodle), chicken rice, laksa, and nasi goreng (fried rice). For those who prefer to stay seated and do with less walking, an enticing a la carte is also available. All dishes, both buffet and a la carte, are prepared with the best quality produce and presented in a fun yet modern style.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The syailendra offers good variety of food. Japanese, Indian, western and also Indonesian. The atmosphere is good. But other than that, the food quality is just so-so. And one other thing, since this resto is located in Marriot hotel, which unfortunately has suffered bomb attack twice, it is a pain just to go into the hotel.

Thank RioLoekito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 335 of 498 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've been to this restaurant with friends on Sunday noon to have brunch.
Buffet has many selection of foods but not really had a great taste.
Ice cream booths has run out of chocolate flavor that what i like to have
Restaurant itself not really comfortable, so packed of people

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dipi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've been to sailendra resto for about two times. Altough there are many selections, but they are not really quite to my liking. The chinese/indo food i didn't even touch. The food is just so-so. Satoo in shangri-la hotel's food is way better.
Anyway, I went on the second time on saturday on my mum's bday. Called them up and say if i could have writing on the bday cake. They said yes, they could. I expected the cake with writing on it, but it didn't. I thought 5 stars hotel would have better service than that despite being busy on saturday. If they think they cannot do it, they can say so.
What i really like from sailendra is the thin praline. I want to eat them right now :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank plzlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

on October 2012 my daughter made a dinner reservation at Sailendra restaurant for 20 December 2012. It was OK with the staff UNTIL today, 19 December 2012 at 7 pm my daughter got a call from Sailendra and was told that "The restaurant is full so you get to be placed at the lobby." She was very upset and told them that she already made a reservation in October and there's no such warning that the place was already entirely booked at the time. And the staff just replied with a long "Ooooooh". Now what is that supposed to mean? How long in advance do we have to make a reservation? A year? And is it your organizational culture to take more than 2 months to inform that the restaurant is full, and provide no solutions? And IS IT actually fully booked for real? I'm very upset and disappointed, I regret reccomending Sailendra restaurant to my daughter and her friends. I didn't see it coming, seriously. JW Marriott is an outstanding hotel, with great review. So is Sailendra restaurant. But this really shows me how you treat your customer. Thank you very much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank rthtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were here on Saturday night with our friends to have dinner. Sailendra really has wide buffet selection from appetizer to dessert, local and international, complete with all you can drink fruit juices. They have salad bar, noodle station, pasta station, soup station, not to mention the cold dishes and pre-cooked food selection such as sauteed veggie, fried noodle, fried rice, beef & fish curry, hainanese chicken rice, grilled beef and many more.
Our favorite was Sup Iga (Beef Rib Soup), it was really tasty. We ended the meal with Mango Sorbet, it was fantastic. Not only the adults enjoy the food and drink, but also the kids. They loved to dip the fresh fruit into the chocolate fountain.
It was our first time come to this restaurant, but it definitely won't be the last time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Priscillia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailendra Restaurant JW Marriott Jakarta also viewed

 
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Sailendra Restaurant JW Marriott Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing