We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good ambience and good food”
Review of Rosso

Rosso
Ranked #111 of 7,839 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $200
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Meaning "red" in Italian, Rosso represents passion, warmth and elegance. The restaurant offers sensational yet authentic Italian cuisine, a combination designed to stimulate the well-known Italian passion for vibrant lifestyle and food.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very good ambience and good food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I visited this restaurant for a quick bite and the ambience is indeed very good. The staff is very attentive and the service excellent.

I just ordered a mocktail and a starter and was happy with the food. They have a decent vegetarian selection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    50
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Leave your meal in the hands of Chef Oriana”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

One of the most lovely meals I ever had. Staff weren't particularly knowledgeable about making good recommendations but once you meet the Chef, who's an engaging personality, let her create something special for you. Had a most lovely octopus salad and properly done thin-crusted pizza. Magnificent! A la carte is pricey, and we were delighted to discover that they have pretty good business set lunches on weekdays...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelling2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cured my gnocchi-trauma and arguably, the best Italian ristorante in town”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The energy behind all the great things happening in Rosso for the past few years is none other than Chef Oriana Tirabassi herself. Always full of spirit and creativity, she ushers Rosso to a new era where we see a full house during Sunday brunches and her creative designs during monthly-changing menus.

The best moment I had was the time when she cured my dislike towards gnocchi. Her elegant prawn gnocchi washed with cheese sauce was the ultimate remedy for my traumas. Since then, I have been witnessing her greatness with other dishes such as the colorful antipasti, Italian cheese dishes, and up to the intriguing dessert pizza for a lovely ending note.

It would be a great loss if one day Shangri-La has to let her go one day, but I will make use of my time enjoying her dishes while she's here. And you should too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gastroficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very good Sunday lunch spot”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is an excellent place to spend a three hours on a Sunday. Decor and service were very good. Food was excellent and along Italian lines. The set up here is that the entrees and desserts are in the buffet style whilst there is an excellent selection of about six dishes available for individual selection for mains. All were top quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sijaamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great italian food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Rosso is a nice italian food restuarant in Shangri la hotel, sudirman area. The restuarant is just beatiful, food was great, service was great. Recommending for business dinners or just quiet romantic dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sombatbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosso also viewed

 
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing