We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for a drink or a feast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samarra

Samarra
Ranked #5,157 of 7,673 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $40 - $250
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go for a drink or a feast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I loved the atmosphere and bar area. The decor, the furniture and the staff who make you feel that you have been regulars for years. This is a well-established icon and I was glad to have ventured out and found it. It's a classic den: dark, well-worn and incredibly welcoming. The food was good but I would recommend it more as a place to meet a friend for drinks and nibbles. Alternatively, if you have a crowd, a feast on the long, sunken table in the banquet room would work.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never seen such a pretty looking restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went here for dinner with my boyfriend and we were stunnend by the absolute fabulous 1001-night decor. Food was a very tasty: a nice combination of middle east cuisine meets Indonesian touch. We had three different types of sate and a salad, which all had a unique taste and where very good.
Although the place was not very full when we arrived early we had a very cozy spot and the place filled up later on. We finished our wine on the roof top terrace.
The staff was very polite and served exactly by the rules. I would definitely recommend this place! We had a wonderful evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlien-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice place to chill with..but the food taste kinda so-so, or maybe im not choosing the right one. But its a nice place if you want to have some good laugh with your buddies

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank genny2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Could be one of Sheherazade's stories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Originally we wanted to go to Shanghai Blue, which is located next door, but they are closed on Sundays. Samarra belongs to the same group of restaurants, so we decided to give it a try. And we were not disappointed.

The decor Middle Eastern, right out of Sherehazade's 1001 stories. We were led to a large table on the first floor and ordered Cosmopolitans to start the evening. The drinks were well mixed, maybe a bit sweet, but good enough so we stayed with Cosmos the whole evening.

A selection of 5 starters was very satisfying.

We ordered 5 main courses and vegetables to share. Among others we had the large Sate selection, and the Bedouin Lamb. Both highly recommended. A selection of dessert finished us off.

The food was plenty and very tasty. The only drawback was the service staff, who disappeared to the ground floor for long periods of time. This made it difficult to order drinks...

All in all a great experience.

Will I go back? Absolutely!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grafula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Go there often for lunch, I like among especially the Samarra sandwich and the egg plant salad. Also the place is beautiful, and very quiet (at lunch time). The service could be better (faster), but that is not a problem...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeaemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samarra also viewed

 

Been to Samarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing