We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite”
Review of Ta Wan Restaurant

Ta Wan Restaurant
Ranked #229 of 7,775 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Their food is delicious. black pepper beef, broccoli,porridge, and the best one is their chilli sauce. The price is also quite reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    70
    31
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice porridge”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

the selection of porridge is okay. the food is all good. standard chinese food. the taste is acceptable. the shrimp mayonaise is good

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lunanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and clean environment”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It has good variety of food and a clean environment. I recommended the porridge. The downside is the place is too small and it will become too crowded on weekends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bmanutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“King of Porridge.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I love Ta Wan porridge... It is THE comfort food for the soul and for the sick. Their ala carte is decent but I would like to recommend their roasted chicken. I'm not a big fan of roasted chicken, but dad is. I was a little grumpy when he ordered the roasted chicken. However, I think I end up eating most of it. The roasted chicken has a good amount of flavoring and most importantly, the texture and moisture is right. A commendable dish and definitely a good pairing for a bowl of porridge...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“its a family restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

the selection of menu are great, tofu, fried chicken, porridge, sea food, and many more, what i love most is the chicken porridge with thousand years egg.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank diki_dani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ta Wan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing