We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels authentic”
Review of Payon

Payon
Ranked #2,353 of 7,839 Restaurants in Jakarta
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Feels authentic”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Good Indonesian culinary experience in an open setting in the heart of Kemang. Only discomfort was the mosquitos and the lighting which at night was not great.

Helpful?
1 Thank MasAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great homey food”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Always come back anytime I have a chance to be in Jakarta.

Nice ambiance, remind me of being at granny's house in my childhood. very traditional & etnic setting. Food is excellent, meet my expectation.

A bit hot if you sit outside, not to mention mosquitos..

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnyC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feel The experience eat in tradisional javanesse ambience”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great ambience
when your eating youl heard the chef cutting the spices with rhyme.
Last visit i order nasi campur and es cendol
very delicious you not too sweet, actually the sambals is hot.
yummie

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arryohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Good but quite expensive

The atmosphere is good,felt like you're in the village somewhere in Java

I recommend the nasi goreng payon,lidah goreng and ayam goreng serai and the mix fruit ice

Good place for business or entertaining foreign guest

Ask for a candlelight on the table to repel the flies

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank synequano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic atmosphere and great prices!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This restaurant is a hidden gem right off Kemang Raya. The food here is great and very inexpensive. I love to take friends and family here who are visiting Jakarta. You can order tons of different items to try, all in a beautiful garden setting. The only drawback is that the mosquitoes can get bad in the evening. Make sure you have some repellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank thesarahrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Payon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing