We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, but excellent place”
Review of Satoo

Satoo
Ranked #8 of 7,846 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Relax and dine on SATOO's locally famous international cuisine while overlooking the pool and hotel gardens. With major influences from Indonesian, Malay, Indian and Chinese kitchens, SATOO offers a wonderfully unique Asian perspective. The restaurant offers private dining areas as well as wireless Internet access.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average food, but excellent place”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at Shangri-la Jakarta for about 1 week, and for some reason, the hotel food made me sick... usually, Satoo has a assorted buffet with lots of options... mostly Asian food... but you still can find some western food. I would recommend this restaurant for Breakfast, but not for dinner.. Breakfast is good, lots of food and fruits.... dinner is more restricted.... and prepare your pocket.... the buffet costs around 250,000.00 rupias (approx 25 USD). I also had a huge problem one day, I had my breakfast as usual, and I decided to bring one banana and one small cereal box to my room so I could eat them later... when I was leaving the restaurant, I was chased and asked to leave the food in front of every client in the restaurant... I felt really bad, and I argued explaining how unconfortable was the situation.. paying 25 USD for a breakfast and having this treatment....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank André A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    404
    118
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So so buffet”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went there with colleagues. Try to get a seat in the outdoor area as it is comfy and they have live music. The food selections are wide however I still prefer The Cafe at hotel mulia. The service is good and attentive, they will clear your dirty plate repeatedly without being asked.
Dessert selection was not that much, however i really love their "jamu" counter. It is Indonesian traditional herb drink that not easily found nowadays. And the auntie there really good at making the drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikachuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food eat like pig”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Prestige place and good taste of food. Empty your stomach before go here, and eat like a pig for various excellent food

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Valdy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to eat”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice restaurant, great selection of food with a good price.
sushi is fresh, the steak is juicy and very delicious, chinesse food is also delicious but seriously any food in this restaurant is equally good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great place to have dinner.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

i was eating at Satoo last year with my friends. This is one of the best restaurant in Jakarta. Its an all u can eat buffet with many great tasty foods from all the world. They have Steak, many kind of pasta, pizza, salad,Chinese food, Indian food, Indonesian food, Arabian food, and all of them taste great. But what make them more special is the restaurant atmosphere that is really beautiful, its cozy, and also romantic at the same time. This restaurant is perfect for couples, business, or for those who having a special occasion. The price is around 300.000 rupiah ++ per person, but i must tell you, its worth every penny of it.This is a restaurant that you must try, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sie_Ferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satoo also viewed

 

Been to Satoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing