We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cassis Kitchen

Cassis Kitchen
Ranked #165 of 7,684 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cassis has recently been reimagined with many new elements added and rebranded as Cassis Kitchen. We have an outdoor lounge and our menu is also brand new presenting favorite robust dishes prepared with a local sensibility and passion for flavour. We look forward to cooking for you!
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

the atmosfer is nice but the place is small so everyone could hear what i said even i said it slowly, the food is excellent.. i had dover sole for maincourse.. all the waitresses n waiters is really well trained.. ^^

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yessi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    47
    12
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, but overpriced. Surprisingly ok wine prices (for Jakarta)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Let's call this 3.5 stars. Not average, but not quite very good.

Once you get over the shock at the prices for each course, you can relax and enjoy excellent service and decent food. Some odd combinations though. My steak came with cold grated carrot and a boiled egg sliced and shuffled into a sliced tomato. The steak was very tender and tasty. The frites didn't taste very homemade, but were palatable enough. My partner's meal was salmon, which looked amazing, but arrived cold. They took it away and warmed it, and it was alright then apparently. Desserts were well presented and properly made. Soft creme brûlée with crunchy top and berry sorbet for me.

Really good wine list, with a choice of house wines around the 450,000Rp mark. Decent prices for Jakarta, but imagine what you'd get in the UK (let alone France) for £30 ($45)!

Helpful?
1 Thank PAULeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Surprised that I found this restaurant on place 34”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stephane manages to keep the quality up since years. He does not do chichi cuisine and has not been trapped in fusion blabla. You will get a real honest journey to the french cuisine. I have not been here for a long long time but coming back to Jakarta I am always surprised to find such a great French restaurant for a fair price. Btw his private dining room with kitchen access is great designed. You get the feeling you are at somebodies home and Stephane cooks for you only! Well done. Enjoy a great holiday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dude2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine dining that wont burn a hole in your pocket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Finally got to try this French restaurant after hearing about it for a few years. Overall experience did not dissapoint. The staff was friendly, knowledgeble about the menu and were conversant in English. There were 3 of us and we opted to "share" dishes. In all we had 3 appetizers and 2 Mains. The staff had no problem with us having them "to share" ie they all go to the middle of the table.
Appetizzers: There was a "mussel Promotion" when we were there. Mussels were super fresh, done in a light white wine sauce. Serving size was big and definitely would suggest sharing this dish.
The escargot was unconventional, served on a mushroom and garnished with breadcrumbs. Interesting but not a "wow".
Foie Gras Cassis was a "wow" for us. Serving size was generous, and it was beautifully cooked. Rasberry sauce though was a little too strong. But overall probably the best Foie Gras in Jkt.
For the mains, we shared 2 steaks- Wagyu Entrecote and Black Angus tenderloin perigourdine with Foie Gras. Once again the staff had no problem with this eating style.
The Wagyu Entrecote tasted great even without any of the Red Wine sauce that came with it. Portion was a good sized 280g! Or put it in another way, 280g of yummyness.
The tenderloin was good but not fantastic. Was a little chewy for a tenderloin.(maybe cos of the cut they got that day) But was compensated by the "to die for" Foie Gras. Came with mashed potatoes with truffle oil. Just marvelous.
Once again the size of the meats more than justifies the price. Being Asian, sharing 2 steaks amongst the 3 of us was perfect.
Incidentally, Cassis opened the meal with complementary Asparagus soup served in a shot glass. Their breads are freshly baked and fabulous. Dont get carried away munching on the breads or you will be full before your meal arrives.
Wines are decent at Rp500-600k(good value for Jkt). Will definitely come back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sudirmanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, atmostphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had heard of Cassis, just never got around to visiting. A nice greeting to start with was a nice start. We both had a cocktail (both were very nicely made) and escargot. They weren't quite traditional - served on mushrooms, with spinach, but very tasty. Just enough garlic and gratined with breadcrumbs. My partner chose the Duck confit - which was superb, and I had a Wagyu entrecote, also superb. We finished up with soufflé which are the speciality of the house.

Overall we couldn't fault the food. You can bring your own wine, but the corkage is IDR 300,000 which is expensive - but if you have a really nice bottle it is worth it. The wine list is extensive and no more unreasonable than any other in Jakarta.

Service was attentive and timing of the food as we expected. A very good meal indeed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjanusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassis Kitchen also viewed

Jakarta, Java
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Cassis Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing