We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Dinner”
Review of Cassis Kitchen

Cassis Kitchen
Ranked #162 of 7,921 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cassis has recently been reimagined with many new elements added and rebranded as Cassis Kitchen. We have an outdoor lounge and our menu is also brand new presenting favorite robust dishes prepared with a local sensibility and passion for flavour. We look forward to cooking for you!
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Very good, but they probably had too many people; chef seemed very busy and over-cooked my steak (asked for rare, it was medium). But everything else was very good. Staff extremely helpful, even though they mixed up the steaks (giving well done to the wrong person etc)on serving (as too busy). Have eaten here a number of times before, with excellent meals, so have given a higher rating than the Xmas dinner deserved.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    48
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Taste it once and you will start coming back for more, great food, but expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Used to be one of Jakarta's best dining spots. The restaurant which is basically French has redecorated and now looks more like a chinese mausoleum. The atmosphere is cold and not exactly provincial French.The original shareholder chef is gone and the food standards have dropped right down, albeit not the prices. Service? Well everybody tried hard but there is a lack of training and polish. I don't recommend. I was very disappointed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank batavia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow, pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. First of all I've been to Jkt many times on business and not once have I had a good western meal. Steaks, even in 5 star hotels, are usually of poor quality and badly cooked.
This restaurant was a real exception. It's quite chic and nice looking and a great place for business entertaining. Good ambience. Also it's close to the CBD.
The 3 - 4 course lunch menus are very worthwhile and reasonably priced. The steak I had was cooked beautifully and the dessert was superb. I would definitely make any excuse to go back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Best French Restaurant in Jakarta”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

In my view, this is the best French restaurant in Jakarta. The food quality and presentation is truly extraordinary. The setting and decor are sophisticated, relaxed, modern. Service is discreet and efficient. Great value. This place might now be my overall favorite restaurant in Jakarta.

When you go, don't miss the creme brulee. The barramundi is also very good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diploconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassis Kitchen also viewed

 
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Cassis Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing