We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akira Back Experience”
Review of Akira Back

Akira Back
Reserve a Table
EZTABLE.COM
Ranked #28 of 9,664 Restaurants in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: With an earthly influence on its architecture and interior design, Akira Back invites you to indulge in a one-of-a-kind view of the city's horizons. Akira Back is a contemporary Japanese Restaurant located in MD Place, Jakarta, created by celebrity chef Akira Back from Las Vegas. Experience exiting flavors and prepare to take a culinary journey with Akira Back as he presents his Korean heritage through the cuisine.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Nice place!
Great food, cozy atmosphere and beautiful scenery, all wrapped in one. It is a right place with your loved ones. I'm so fallin in love with their tuna pizza and Vitral Carmenere wine. How ever i'll come back :)

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with EZTABLE.com
Thank Johlizaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing a, Public Relations Manager at Akira Back, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear Navigate2699128565,

Thank you so much for coming and for taking the time to review your Akira Back Jakarta experience. We truly appreciate your awesome 5 stars dinner review and your praises towards Akira Back's signature Tuna Pizza.

We hope to welcome you back soon and in the mean time, do follow @akirabackjakarta for more information and promotion.

Cheers,
Akira Back Jakarta
PR & Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 381 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

We decided on a moments notice that we would have lunch here. The drinks were wonderful. I wanted wine and the wine by glass was bountiful. My wife wanted a cocktail and the choices seemed interesting. She settled on what turned out to be o e of the most unique and delicious margaritas we’ve ever had. My wife a selection of sashimi and I had a steak. The best steak I’ve had up till now in Jakarta was AB steak a sister restaurant to this one. That is it was the best till today. It was cooked perfectly and so very delicious. The potato purée was equally fantastic. For desert my wife had coconut sorbet and I had the chocolate molten cake with peanut butter powder. OMG. Enough said. If you are looking for one of the best restaurants in Jakarta then you must go here.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank devildog36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing a, Public Relations Manager at Akira Back, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Dear Devildog36,

Greetings from Akira Back Jakarta, Thank you so much for coming and for taking your time to review us. We are super excited to know that you had a wonderful luncheon at Akira Back.

Thank you for all your kind words, I do hope one day the Michelin Guide will visit Jakarta. For your information, Chef Akira Back's restaurant in Seoul, called DOSA is a Michelin Star establishment, and Akira Back Jakarta is very proud of Chef Akira's accomplishments...

We are looking forward to welcome you back - and if you have any enquiry, do contact us at marketing@akirabackindonesia.com. In the mean time, please follow @akirabackjakarta for more information and promotion.

Best Regards,
Akira Back Jakarta
PR & Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019

Everything we ordered was delicious, great feat because we tried a lot a things. This will be a great place to celebrate special occasions. The staff are really attentive. And the view is FABULOUS!

On a side note, we didn't like that one of the menus was presented in an ipad, it kept locking itself up which ends up with us trying to ask the waiter to key in the passcode again. If I was dining alone I would not have had to pass the thing around, but we were a group so it must have been quite tiresome for the waiter to be asked again and again to open it back.

Aside from that, everything was great! We'll definitely go back.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with EZTABLE.com
Thank Navigate60340046714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing a, Public Relations Manager at Akira Back, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2019

Dear Navigate60340046714,

Greetings from Akira Back Jakarta! Thank you so much for coming and for taking your time to review us. We are super excited to know that you had a wonderful dinner at Akira Back. Thank you for your shout out towards our attentive staff! And we are also truly grateful for your feedback.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back - and if you have any enquiry, do contact us at marketing@akirabackindonesia.com.

In the mean time, please follow @akirabackjakarta for more information and promotion.

Best Regards,
Akira Back Jakarta
PR & Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019

I visited Akira back a day after valentines and the food was excellent and tasty all while having a worthed price. The service was also good with the waiter/waitresses being quick to refill drinks and bring the food. The atmosphere was also amazing, however there were some cases of the music being a tad bit loud.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with EZTABLE.com
Thank Excursion17585990154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing a, Public Relations Manager at Akira Back, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2019

Dear Excursion17585990154,

Thank you so much for coming and for taking the time to review your Akira Back Jakarta experience. We truly appreciate your awesome 5 stars dinner review and your praises towards Akira Back's service.

We hope to welcome you back soon and in the mean time, do follow @akirabackjakarta for more information and promotion.

Cheers,
Akira Back Jakarta
PR & Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019 via mobile

There is no doubt that the food in Akira back was great. The Futatori Wagyu was particularly spot on. The melt in your mouth Master Kobe Zabuton in the dish was definitely the highlight dish of the night.

However there are some negative aspects that need to be addressed.

1. No welcome gesture on the table by the waitress/ waiter. At least to say welcome greetings. Or asking us whether this is our first time or not.

2. The phasing between each dishes (there were 6 courses in total) was way too fast.

3. The Valentine's dinner menu is not particularly inexpensive. It cost us (3.2 mill idr/couple including a bottle of acqua pana) or around 250 usd. For this price I expect a more intimate and not a rushy dinner like I point in number 2.

4. The music was too loud for a romantic valentine's dinner. It gave us a sense of rush to finish our meals.

5. Too many staffs going around the dining area. It made the dining place felt too crowded.

In conclusion, fantastic meals. Phasing between meals were too fast. Atmosphere was not so good (too loud, too crowded, too rushy). Fine dining price and fine taste with casual vibes.. definitely need an improvement in service and ambient aspect.
Be mindful that a great restaurant is not only about taste but also service and atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank dions991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketing a, Public Relations Manager at Akira Back, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2019

Dear Dions991,

Greetings from Akira Back Jakarta, Thank you so much for coming and celebrating Valentine's at Akira Back Jakarta

Thank you very much for your feedback - we will continue to grow and serve you better...

We are looking forward to welcome you back - and if you have any enquiry, do contact us at marketing@akirabackindonesia.com.

Cheers...

Best Regards,
Akira Back Jakarta
PR & Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akira Back also viewed

Jakarta, Java
Jakarta, Java
 

Been to Akira Back? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing