We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, but clean; friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Tropic Suites Hotel
Ranked #217 of 468 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is a bit older, which you notice in the rooms, though they are very clean. Staff is helpful and friendly, speak English very well. Only the wifi connection was very bad in the room (business suite 5th floor) and the elevators took very long to be available. Near Central Park mall, which is very convenient with the many restaurants and Carrefour. Don't try Western food for lunch/dinner at the Grand Tropic restaurant as it was dissapointing, Indonesian dishes were good and tasty (but quite expensive).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annique91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 220 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff is not helpfull at all. I stayed in family delux suite on 22nd floor. All walls were dirty, bins dirty, kitchen filthy. No wifi in the room. We are in 21st century and they offered me cabel?! Wanted to book a taxi with cheap fare and reception were constantly calling to guest relation desk (which is 3 meters away!) they offered me 350 000 for drop to the airport! Had to go to main street and flag myself. Went for 75 000. I work for hotels over 15 years and never seen receptionist behave like this. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. The only nice thing was breakfast, nice choice but all cold as noone cares about closing food shaffers.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alexsandraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

After a 25 hours journey from Germany to Jakarta we arrived in the Hotel and the reception was friendly, english speaking and very helpful. Staff is very good and provides good service!!

Somebody took care of the luggage and we got a hotel room in the 12th floor.
The elevator situation is quite strange... So you can imagine when the hotel is fully booked you can wait some time for the next empty one.
The breakfast was ok.... Take care that you look if the plates and the glasses are clean.

We booked the Hotel thru a booking service and stayed for two nights.

Pool area is very nice. Very close to a bis shopping mall with restaurants.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I just check out from this hotel and apartmen.. for me this hotel is too crowded. Actually.. this was my business meeting..i stayed for 3 nights. The room old but nice..also the bed and the elevator very loooong way to wait.. the pool also small anf in front of the lobby..in front of the restaurant..not comfortable to swim i guess... but the location is very strategic,though thw traffic is sometime killing.i don't really recommended to this hotel..clean..but old..also crowded... But the location is very good.ops..i forget there's no wifi beside at the lobby and the meeting room..pfuiihh..too bad..

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank evi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I went here on August 2013 as a participant on a training for OSN 2013. I was in Geography team and we were told that we would spend our days in Jakarta, and at the fourth day we would go to Bandung. But it seems that there was a miscommunication and we didn't get any room and we got to wait for a few hours. So the management needs to be improved.

While we were spending hours in the waiting roo, (I forgot the name), they served us free juice. They refilled it and when we wanted to take a sip, there was NO clean glasses. All glasses were used and they didn't change it after they refilled the juice.

And when I wanted to find some trash bin, I couldn't find it anywhere and had to walk near the restaurant. Either I can't find one or I was blinded that time idk.

Forgot to mention that when I arrived there, we hadn't been booked a room but the bell-boy just took over my luggage. Later I found my luggage were just placed there near the palms. What?

I also found that the lobby number was hard to find at the room, the bathroom got easily wet, and there were problems with the key card. For the hospitality, I found one of the omelette maker (the senior one) almost never smiled at us! She even showed us some angry mood, I miss that more junior one with glasses (I didn't know the name) who seemed nice.

For the lift problem, I didn't experience the problem much. But I have to admit that it has a super tiny lobby. The TV channel was very good and I enjoyed the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

location is very near to the main shopping complexes like ciputra and central park malls, after giving clear instructions to the reception staff they were able to fix the beds and give 3 single beds instead of a double and single. The facilities like kitchen, kettle, air con and bathroom were clean and maintained well, the buffet style breakfast was good with hours extended till 10 am. there was mostly a queue for the lifts so if staying on the top floors can be time consuming. Wifi was only in the lobby areas and restaurant and for some reason on the 5th floor but not on any of the other rooms on other floors. to book excursions its best to go to a tourist info centre as the staff did not know much about excursion activities; but were very helpful for places to go around the city. service was top quality and the staff were helpful, i would recommend staying here for the comfort of your own apartment on a budget.

Room Tip: if you want wifi in your room then try for an apartment on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamal788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

easy access from airport and and you can also easily towards urban areas and shopping ....you can easily to Ancol and enjoy all the entertainment facilities and make your family happy....scenery around the hotel is very refreshing, amazing and fun.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subu0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Grogol Petamburan
Hotel Ciputra Jakarta
Hotel Ciputra Jakarta
#89 of 468 in Jakarta
432 reviews
B Fashion Executive Hotel
#317 of 468 in Jakarta
30 reviews
Hotel Menara Peninsula
#105 of 468 in Jakarta
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grogol Petamburan
Grand Tjokro Jakarta
Grand Tjokro Jakarta
#110 of 468 in Jakarta
145 reviews
Grogol Petamburan
Pullman Jakarta Central Park
The Bellezza Suites
#120 of 468 in Jakarta
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Tropic Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Tropic Suites Hotel

Address: Jl. Letjend S. Parman Kav. 3 | PO Box 1421, Jakarta 11014, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Grogol Petamburan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $52 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Tropic Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Tropic Suites' Hotel "Where the business and leisure blend in a Harmony", is an unique services apartment which operated as a hotel to make sure every stay us pleasant and an extraordinary experience.188 rooms combine the comfort of home with all the benefits of hotel hospitality. We offers the choice of venue for events with excellent service. 8 luxurious meeting rooms are the perfect venue for wedding, seminars, meetings or other functions. Our landscape garden is also available to cater your outdoor party or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Tropic Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Tropic Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing