We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, needs improvement on service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Grand Citra
Ranked #254 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location, needs improvement on service”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The location of Somerset Grand Citra is good. It is in the CBD of Jakarta. The size of the rooms are good. I booked a one bedroom and since there was no availability, I got a 3 bedroom for the price of the 1 bedroom. The building has a 24 hour reception, pool, gym, and breakfast lounge. The cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. The internet is slow and not reliable at all times, but this seems to be a problem in Indonesia in general. The staff tries to help but you have to ask a lot of people a lot of times before you can get an answer to a question. Try to pay by cash or wire transfer rather than by credit card because the exchange rate they use is very unfavorable to the credit card holder and you can end up paying US$300 for a one month stay if you use your credit card to pay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    42
    31
    19
    17
See reviews for
50
7
3
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. Very poor service, the whole place needs maintenance and upgrades. The worst breakfast service we have ever had. Paid in full upon check in but during check out the front office asked for receipts if we paid even though they made copies during check in. Ordered metered taxi but been given an exclusive one. Noisy due to construction and yes they work 24/7. First and final stay at this Somerset property. Its cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

hanoi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed in Somerset Grand Citra for 5 days at the beginning of the month.

The place is badly in need of renovation, and the breakfast is one of the worst I have seen (somehow it reminds me of the YWCA in Bombay!)

The price quoted and confirmed was 110 US$ per night. When I went to pay I was told credit card payment should be in Indonesian Rupiahs. No problem, I have an Indonesian card.
But then I realized that the amount debited was high. I was told that the Somerset rate was 9.900 INR / $. When you know that the real exchange rate is 9.200 INR / $, it just means that they are in fact charging about 8 % more that the agreed price. Easy!

Last but not least, without telling me I was debited in my credit card upon check-in of an amount higher than the total bill. This was not cancelled when I settled my bill. As of now, the problem is not solve, so I have been debited for approximately 1.250 $ when the real cost as agreed should have been 550 $

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanoiPhiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights in May on an extended business trip. There is a very depressing air about the place. I get the impression that at one point (like the early nineties) it was an impressive place but it feels very much like its had it's day. I got a 2 bedroom apartment (which was a surprise as I was only expecting 1). On the plus side the apartments are VERY spacious. The downside is that it didn't that feel quite as clean as you'd like it.The whole place had an unpleasant stale smell and I had to ask reception to arrange cleaners to come and mop the floors as they were filthy! The apartment is well equipped with everything you need. But everything is a bit shabby or not quite working properly. There is a washer-drier in a maids/utility area at the back, but the drier function didn't work and the machine was a bit smelly. The lounge furniture is a bit beaten up and again, smelling stale and greasy/sweaty. It wasn't very nice to sit on and watch tv. The restaurant is very a very bizarre place - its in a function room where breakfast is served. It's so bad I only went twice. The room doesn't hold enough people so you have to sit outside where it is very noisy with traffic and construction activity nearby. Again there are still not enough tables so once I had to eat cereal standing at a dirty cocktail table. Overall the place is a bit of a disappointment. It has everything you need but none of it is done very well and I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank marshallh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

As there was construction of a flyover just next to the hotel which incidentally sit next to a large IT mall, the ITC Kuningan, this is really not a conducive place to sleep in. But I guess one night was ok. Especially since I got an upgrade from my 2 rm exec to 2 rm deluxe. It was also surprising that their 2rm is way cheaper than their one roomer especially if you are a Somerset member and you book via their website. All in all the room and maintenance is expected of a Somerset.

Room Tip: Try getting a roon that doesnt face the road and ITC Kuningan. You might get a better nights rest aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fistri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I know well Somerset chain and I'm very surprise that this Hotel is called Somerset as well...it has nothing to do with Somerset quality and reputation... Room (mine was 1927) needs a total renovation, sofa has several cigarettes holes (in a non smoking room!!), carpets are very stinky, room indeed is stinky, bathroom is old and dirty, aircon is noisy (in addition to outside heavy construction sites all around)... Last but non least Staff was quite impolite, the first day they forgot to clean the room, it took 5 hours to install the wireless modem (I paid extra 10 USD for 2 days...)... Breakfast also not good, little choices.... The pool is not bad, but all the rest is really terrible... Price is quite affordable, but i would never come back again

Room Tip: High floor mandatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captbrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I had recently been on a business visit for around 3 weeks and stayed at Somerset Grand Citra Jakarta.
Some experiences to share:
- The first day I had mosquitoes in my room and it was hard to sleep.
- The kitchen has foul odour which the housekeeping did not care to fix. They just gave me some freshners.
- The reception/housekeeping do not respond when called
- The water is not clean - you actually need to buy mineral water even to brush your teeth.
- All the fittings are old.

Few Plus points:
- Mal Ambasaddor is close by, so shopping groceries is minutes away.
- Rooms are spacious

I will definitely not prefer this property in my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chalte_chalte_989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascott Kuningan Jakarta
Ascott Kuningan Jakarta
#73 of 464 in Jakarta
154 reviews
3.0 mi away
Somerset Berlian Jakarta
Somerset Berlian Jakarta
#69 of 464 in Jakarta
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mayflower, Jakarta - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
GP Hotel Mega Kuningan
GP Hotel Mega Kuningan
#232 of 464 in Jakarta
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Cozmo Jakarta
2.1 mi away
Ascott Jakarta
Ascott Jakarta
#37 of 464 in Jakarta
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Grand Citra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Citra

Property: Somerset Grand Citra
Address: Kav. 1, Kuningan Jln. Prof.Dr Satrio, Jakarta 12940, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Grand Citra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Grand Citra is located in Central Business District and conveniently close to the Convention Center, Embassies, Shopping Centres, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation. A welcome and refreshing alternative to the hotel, Somerset Grand Citra offers the opportunity to enjoy the dynamic city life while living in the spacious comfort of a private residential apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Grand Citra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Citra Hotel Jakarta
Somerset Grand Citra Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing