We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the hands of criminals - we escaped to another Hotel”
Review of HARRIS Hotel Tebet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HARRIS Hotel Tebet
Ranked #93 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“in the hands of criminals - we escaped to another Hotel”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We had booked for 8 days via booking.com.
The manager ignored the booking conditions.
Our conditions said: No prepayment. But we were forced to prepay. They said that bthey will only block a certain reservation budget, but not take the money off the credit card.
Wrong...a lie ! they pulled the first night off upfront.
Then I thought we ´were safe with the rest of the confirmed booking conditions.
Wrong ! next day I had to fight for the rest of my reservation time. Possibly a higher price was the reason why they did not want to accept the rest of 7 days which I booked.
I insisted on the confirmed booking period.
They let us pay every single little thing and were really insulting to us.
My wife left breakfast table, where we both sat, for women´s toilet. she was stopped at exit of breakfast room and was forced to pay breakfast in cash before she could goto toilet.
The people are criminals. And booking.com is supporting that, coz they did n o t h i n g to that Hotel. I could provide all my credit card details to prove what happened, but they accepted the Hotel Manager´s statement that it is us who lies !!!
We still can prove all with bills and credit card invoices... but booking.com decided that the stupid business they can get with these criminals has a higher value than the truth or our honor...coz we told the truth..
The Hotel reinforced the rude treatment to make us leave the Hotel, coz our rate at time of booking was quite competitive, but the rate at time of arrival was much higher.
Their motivation was to get us out of the Hotel for getting a better rate for our room.
My wife is indonesian...I am German... when the hotel staff did not yet know, who my wife was, they talked bad about bule (caucasian men), what my wife clearly understood.
She complained to the staff not to talk so rude behind a guest´s back, she was kept for a prostitute who was waiting for a Hotel Guest... and the staff threatened her to trow her out of the Lobby.
How many stars you can take away from Harris Hotel to justify these impertinences ???
We were happy to escape that night mare.
It was quite disappointing, how booking.com performed... their investigation was reduced to a call with the same man who was responsible for all...and really... who was surprized that this silly evaluation endet up in the statement "No...the guest lies".
But after having all visa card details in hands...booking.com should know what the truth was qnd eliminate that hotel out of their program...but you still can book at Hotel Nightmare !

I only can w a r n !!! all people...especially from western countries.

Room Tip: stay away from this HOTEL HORROR
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TikusMatabiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at HARRIS Hotel Tebet, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and for our service that did not meet your expectations.

Thanks again for your comments and be assured that every point is taken seriously to help us improve our services.

Friendly regards,
Martha W Thomas Meyer
Marketing Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    123
    54
    7
    7
See reviews for
48
26
25
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

A group of us 2 families & 1 couple stayed 2 nights (3 rooms) at this hotel. Upon arrival, we were impressed with the colourful outlook, brand new feelings, rooms were comfortable. Hotel is linked to large shopping mall making it very convenient w/o the need of travelling elsewhere for shopping or food and getting stuck in the never ending traffic jam of jakarta. However, we had a shocking encounter on the level of service provided by the staff. As we were there to attend a friend's wedding, I borrowed an iron from housekeeping to do some light pressing on our clothes before heading for the dinner. The iron was subsequently passed to friends in the next room. The next morning, the phone in my room rang at 6.00 a.m. - from the hotel staff requesting for the iron! During breakfast, I discovered from our friends that they too receive calls to their room at the same time. Any good hotel staff with some decent training would have enough common sense not to call guest up at that hour. Upon checkout, my husband spoke with the hotel manager and he promise to investigate and get back to us. It has been more than two weeks and we have heard nothing from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARENISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at HARRIS Hotel Tebet, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and for our service that did not meet your expectations.

Thanks again for your comments and be assured that every point is taken seriously to help us improve our services.

Friendly regards,
Martha W Thomas Meyer
Marketing Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This is a very good hotel, the design is vibrant, the staffs are friendly as in their motto.. The food is great ! I stayed in the hotel several times as it is my previous office's fave hotel. The deal was great ! Worth value. It provides a moderate free internet access in meeting room and guest rooms. The meeting room is also fine, just sometimes the staff is not really quick handling the compains on sound or mic...
The other weakness of this hotel is the location. It's a well known bad traffic on earth... Good food except the restaurant is not walking distance. So if you stay in this hotel, just enjoy the vibrant environtment ! Getting out is not really a good idea...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanscoulottes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at HARRIS Hotel Tebet, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta!

Thank you for your precious feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to always offer great services and your message is the best reward for our team.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in a near future.

Friendly regards,
Martha W Thomas Meyer
Marketing Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Wanted to try out this hotel as it promised to be Simple - Unique - Friendly.

A tad bit (Tebet) out of the Center of the Capital, it delivered what it promised.

Was picked up in an Orange (mini van) where the driver offered a cold towel to freshen up and a bottle of water. So necessary when leaving the dry confines of the aircraft and dirty confines of an airport.

Lobby was white with loud touches of orange and green - airy and full of light. Welcome drink was a short pour of the house mocktail made with guess what - orange and green apple. Friendly efficient check in by staff dressed in smart casual uniforms.

Quickly taken up to my room and introduced to it. Simple layout with a large bed and a third that can host an extra adult. Bathroom functional with standard amenities. What caught my attention were orange feet (the funky room slippers that I could not resist taking back home). A perfume oil burner in the room to relax your senses, flowers placed at right places and a fruit platter did the trick of making me feel wanted.

Has a single eatery that has 70% local cuisine on the menu. tastes good too at a reasonable price point. Juices are a hot thing with this hotel chain and the Juices are just too good to resist.

I was out on business and returned late night. Had a good night's sleep. Shower was good and powerful. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at HARRIS Hotel Tebet, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta!

Thank you for your precious feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to always offer great services and your message is the best reward for our team.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in a near future.

Friendly regards,
Martha W Thomas Meyer
Marketing Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2009

my office is 20 mins from this hotel and i thought it will be a great idea to nego a deal to put all my guests there. rang up and guess what was the answer, we dont do corporate pricing unless xxx company has already put in 10 guests first.
we put in the first guest booking, guest turn up and guess what, the front desk dont have his details.
Harris is a great hotel, but they need to get in some committed and better sales team

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wise_traveller065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at HARRIS Hotel Tebet, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and for our service that did not meet your expectations.

Thanks again for your comments and be assured that every point is taken seriously to help us improve our services.

Friendly regards,
Martha W Thomas Meyer
Marketing Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

This was a very nice hotel contemporary and modern. The staff are very friendly, helpful and wear a modern causal orange uniform that adds a laid back atmosphere to the place.

They offer a reflexology service and a gym that are strongly reccomended.
Wifi internet if Free, and the food is not ala carte but rather quality fresh local food.
The only draw back is probably the location, its situated near the freeway and fly over, and their are no shops in the local vicinity. However taxis are accessable from the roadside.

All in all a good hotel that has a futeristic and contemporary feel.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muslim101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at HARRIS Hotel Tebet, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta!

Thank you for your precious feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to always offer great services and your message is the best reward for our team.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in a near future.

Friendly regards,
Martha W Thomas Meyer
Marketing Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

'Average' is the best way to describe this place.

You prettty much get what you expect with no surprises although the we found the staff fairly brusque and not particularly well versed in customer service.

Rooms seemed to be fairly ordinary and of the Low-Mid range type with a few touches of bright orange. We stayed on the front of the hotel and experienced quite a lot of road noise - best to ask for a room at the back. I would describe the hotel as 80's in design with a few modern touches stuck on as an update. In room WiFi was useful.

The location isn't great for walking but a taxi can get you to decent restaurants fairly quickly.

We tried room service food but the two beef dishes we ordered were fairly inedible as the meat verged on shoe leather or beef jerky.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locomota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at HARRIS Hotel Tebet, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta!

Thank you for your valuable feedback and time to write a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.com.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and for our service that did not meet your expectations.

Thanks again for your comments and be assured that every point is taken seriously to help us improve our services.

Friendly regards,
Martha W Thomas Meyer
Marketing Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tebet
POP! Hotel Tebet Jakarta
POP! Hotel Tebet Jakarta
#89 of 464 in Jakarta
249 reviews
Amaris Hotel Tebet
#271 of 464 in Jakarta
38 reviews
Aston Rasuna
#86 of 464 in Jakarta
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ayaka Suites
#63 of 464 in Jakarta
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HARRIS Hotel Tebet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Hotel Tebet

Property: HARRIS Hotel Tebet
Address: Jl. Dr. Saharjo no. 191, Jakarta 12960, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Hotel Tebet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only minutes away from the Kota Kasablanka Mall, Mega Kuningan, and SCBD areas. HARRIS Hotel Tebet Jakarta placed in the area of Jakarta Business District. Right choice to organize seminars, meetings, or simply to relax and to shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your HARRIS Hotel Tebet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing