We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel, showing it's age, but still good”
Review of Kemang Icon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kemang Icon Hotel
Ranked #154 of 470 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here on last minute emergency (regular hotel was booked out) on business. Extremely hard to find in the dark - the entrance is more like a small business/commercial complex rather then a hotel. Look out for the photography store at the front on the ground level - your best land,ark to use for finding the building.

The rooms are huge and very tastefully done. Great internet set up (a dedicated Apple Airport in every room), impressive modern bed and very spacious bathroom. Some furniture and fittings are really good others a cheap mistake - low quality cupboards, toilet, shower detract from what could have been an amazing experience.

As a boutique hotel it really does struggle to accommodate the normal hotel services like room service, porters, a bar etc so if you need these kind of attentions you may be disappointed. Strangely, the hotel itself is not airconditioned - only the rooms. I had to ask the boys in the breakfast area to turn on the aircon for me otherwise I would have been sweating in my work attire.

That said, the overall experience of Icon is pretty good. The rooms really are a sanctuary from the madness of the Kemang and Jakarta outside.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank crouchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carter C, General Manager at Kemang Icon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Crouchie,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Kemang Icon. Having noticed that you stayed in April 2012 I feel I need to apologize for the renovation going on in our rooftop area. This was being done for the betterment of the guest experience here and is now complete! I would love to have you back so that you can experience our new look and new menu. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly next time you are in the Kemang area.

Best,
Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 187 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

We used Kemang Icon as both our temporary residence and creative space for two co-creation sessions. For these sessions, we set high requirements in terms of design, comfort, affordability, inspirational surroundings, light, privacy, and service - and Kemang Icon includes all of these factors in both their hotel rooms as in their conference facility. The helpful (although sometimes somewhat slow) staff will do anything to make your stay as comfortable and successful as possible. Big like!

Room Tip: The Edge Suite is like a dream come true...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joost_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Very nicely designed hotel! Restaurant food quality is very good and
it's view from roof terrace is amazing! Service has been very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tibet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I travel to Jakarta (from Singapore) regularly (once or twice a month) so have had a chance to try out a number of the business hotels there .. and the Kemang Icon is by far and away the best.

Pros
Boutique hotel
Interesting "designer" interior design - each room is different and interesting
Intimate feel
Very very warm welcome and service ( The "welcome home Mr McKee" as I arrive is a wonderful touch)
Free Internet in the room (and restaurant)
Decent pricing
Great location
Lovely view from the rooftop bar/restaurant
Great "Bose" sound system in every room
Provide an iPod stacked with cool music in every room

Cons:
The restaurant has dipped in standard in the recent past (but I understand they are soon to renovate and upgrade the menu)
What I call (and enjoy) as intimate, some people may call dark - its a personal preference.
Not a "family" hotel

Conclusion.

If you want a vanilla ( you could be anywhere in the world) standardized product - go book a Hyatt/Shang etc

But if you want a delightful, memorable, remarkable stay (for business or as a couple) I would 100% recommend the Icon - mainly for the look and feel/interior design of the place/rooms, the warmth of the welcome and service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and great - I ask them to put me in a different room each time so each s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian_mckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I used Kemang Icon as a conference facility.

Top floor, above the restaurant is a stylish, well designed, trendy room for up to 30 people. oozing class and top notch décor, I was impressed by their hands on assistance throughout the catering, set up and even the facilitated drinks afterwards.

I am a Jakarta resident, so was unable to stay, however I have seen the rooms and one day it will be my pleasure to try them out for myself.

Room Tip: There are only 12 bedroom suites in this place, so each is lovingly designed to be unique, spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Booked in for a 5 night stay but left after one night, to be honest this hotel is different and won't be to everyones taste, for example I was there on business and found the room too dark to work, but if your there to relax and don't like branded hotels then this maybe your cup of tea.

I left due to a series of problems and errors, which I won't mention here, but I have to say the hotel did they only thing they could and offered me a free night, so the way they handled my problem i couldn't complain about.

If you want to be in Kemang and want something different , give it a go.............

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelalot064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed at Kemang Icon for a change of atmosphere without having to go out of the city. The place is diferent from ordinary hotels, although not so amazing as we expected. There are some other hotels in the area of Kemang, but Kemang Icon is different. It's all suites with modern interior design. With its condition, this hotel is mostly occupied by expatriates. Local people are not likely to stay there, and it's definitely not a family hotel. The breakfast was served a la carte.

The building is small with 5 floors. The suites are on 2 floors, the roof top is the restaurant and swimming pool. The rest are offices, probably galleries, and a photography store on the ground floor.

We asked for toothbrushes as we didn't see any in the room. Someone came with toothbrushes, but unexpectedly they were the ones you can buy at the supermarket, with no toothpaste. They have toiletries such as shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, and body milk with 'Alila Living' printed on them, but apperently don't provide any toothbrush set.

Overall, this hotel is not amazing as we expected, but nice for being different.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemang_Icon, Public Relations Manager at Kemang Icon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Dear Zags,

Thank you very much for taking the time for the review. We would like to apologize for the service that was not according to your standard, especially regarding the toiletries facilities. We are taking this feedback seriously to strive for an improvement that hopefully you will be able to experience on your next visit with us. In the meantime, please let us know if you have any other feedback as how to improve guests experience in Kemang Icon by Alila. Do drop us a line at pr at kemangicon.com We would be happy to hear from you.

Warm Regards,

Winny
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
grandkemang Hotel
#89 of 470 in Jakarta
541 reviews
The Gunawarman
#57 of 470 in Jakarta
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#19 of 470 in Jakarta
567 reviews
Kebayoran Baru
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
#14 of 470 in Jakarta
423 reviews
Menteng
Morrissey Hotel Residences
Morrissey Hotel Residences
#61 of 470 in Jakarta
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemang Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemang Icon Hotel

Address: Jl. Kemang Raya 1, Jakarta 12730, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#22 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#77 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#89 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: $92 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kemang Icon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SET IN ONE OF JAKARTA’S MOST UPSCALE AND TRENDSETTING NEIGHBOURHOODS Named in Conde Nast Traveler US Hot List as one of the scene stealing hotels in Indonesia... Kemang Icon Hotel transforms the travel experience with a truly innovative and dynamic urban living environment, set in one of Jakarta'€™s most upscale and trend setting neighborhoods. Artistry fused with hi-tech functionality and exceptional comfort creates a hip retreat within the city. Ultra modern. Avant-garde. Chic yet cozy. A multi-sensory experience is infused with the warmth and attentiveness of unsurpassed personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kemang Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemang Icon By Alila Hotel Jakarta
Kemang Icon By Alila Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing